9/30 Lu AMPS 56 +2 67 +3 52 +4 106 +6 115 +10 137 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

9/30 Lu AMPS 56 +2 67 +3 52 +4 106 +6 115 +10 137

Lara & Luciole (Lu)

Active Member
Yesterday

This morning I had to refresh myself with the info in "How to Deal with Low Preshot Numbers (the following guidelines apply to those following the Tight Regulation Protocol only):

The short answer is that most kitties can be shot at +12, almost regardless of the number, once you are data ready to do so. The exception is that shooting 30s or 40s is not recommended for most cats, so if a cat is lower then usually the best option is to wait until they are at a shootable number to shoot. What constitutes a shootable number will vary by cat, but we don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 50. While you’re waiting, the depot is draining, so you want to get the insulin in as soon as it makes sense to shoot."
 
Yesterday

This morning I had to refresh myself with the info in "How to Deal with Low Preshot Numbers (the following guidelines apply to those following the Tight Regulation Protocol only):

The short answer is that most kitties can be shot at +12, almost regardless of the number, once you are data ready to do so. The exception is that shooting 30s or 40s is not recommended for most cats, so if a cat is lower then usually the best option is to wait until they are at a shootable number to shoot. What constitutes a shootable number will vary by cat, but we don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 50. While you’re waiting, the depot is draining, so you want to get the insulin in as soon as it makes sense to shoot."
Gulp, that must have been a surprising AMPS, Lara. I hope Lu surfs safely and doesn't bounce. Have a safe surf 😻 🌊 🏄‍♂️ :bighug:
 
Gulp, that must have been a surprising AMPS, Lara. I hope Lu surfs safely and doesn't bounce. Have a safe surf 😻 🌊 🏄‍♂️ :bighug:

Oh heck yes, it sure was, Staci!

I gave her a reduced shot for the AM and am now wondering what the PM dose should be. I think I should be moving her back to 1 unit...I think?

I've been trying to see if her recent higher #s were because of reintroducing Fancy Feast pates. Now that I've switched her back to Nulo, she seems to want to come down. My suspicion is that there's something in FF that triggers her, although she loves them.

Thanks for checking in! I hope you and Ivy are having a lovely day
 
Yesterday

This morning I had to refresh myself with the info in "How to Deal with Low Preshot Numbers (the following guidelines apply to those following the Tight Regulation Protocol only):

The short answer is that most kitties can be shot at +12, almost regardless of the number, once you are data ready to do so. The exception is that shooting 30s or 40s is not recommended for most cats, so if a cat is lower then usually the best option is to wait until they are at a shootable number to shoot. What constitutes a shootable number will vary by cat, but we don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 50. While you’re waiting, the depot is draining, so you want to get the insulin in as soon as it makes sense to shoot."
Hi Lara, firstly, I am not a dosing advisor (not qualified, so take this with a grain of salt)....but since you are following TR, you would not reduce again since Lu didn't go under 50 (or 40, see below) this cycle.
It looks like you reduced after her 47 BG on 9/28. So your current dose is 1.25 units.

Had she gone under 50 again, you could take a reduction, *however, for kitties diagnosed OVER a year, the reduction point is down to 40 (then no shooting under 40).

So it appears you could go back to 1.25 units tonight.

***I would ask a question and get proper advice from someone who is qualified to advise you safely.
I suggest using the question mark prefix and put "DOSING ADVICE NEEDED!" in your title to get some attention, since it's getting late in the day.


I hope this helps!! Safe surfing you 2! ❤️‍🩹 🥰
 
Staci is right, Lu is a long term diabetic. The way to earn a reduction for a long term diabetic following TR is one of three ways. Going under 40, spending a week in all green, or if you think she doesn't hold reductions well, you can go with 3 times between 40 and 49 on different days.

Her dose would be 1.5 units. The reduction down to 1.25 units was not earned. However, if you are not able to get at least two tests per cycle, and I see nothing post PMPS last night, TR might not be the right dosing method for you.
 
Thanks Wendy! This is the second time you've told me that TR might not be right for me.

I didn't get any tests in last night because Lu was high.

Anyway, this is the second time you've given me an answer that comes across as harsh, Wendy. I get the impression you don't like me.

I'm here to get help, just like everybody else.
 
Last edited:
I didn't get any tests in last night because Lu was high.
Some cats go high before they break a bounce and go low. Just because a cat looks higher at preshot, doesn't mean they'll stay that way. As Lu showed you in spades this morning. For me it's about safety of the cat.
I get the impression you don't like me.
I'm sorry you read my post that way, it's not true. As I said above, my concern is for Lu. TR is a more aggressive dosing method, but it can be followed safely as long as you get the prerequisite tests to make sure you know how low the dose is taking your cat. My second concern is that we get a lot of lurkers on this forum, and I don't want them to think it's OK to follow TR and skip those second tests. Unfortunately, I've seen it end badly.
 
Jude had a preshot of 69 the other day, which is low for him. I also had to look at the guidelines because, again, not used to shooting that low of a number. I did shoot him the full dose, and he dove to 48 by +1, and I had to carb him for about four hours to keep him in the 50s. And that drop after the ps was unusual for him--he typically goes up, and now it worries me that he might do it again. There is something really nice to be said for consistency and something really bad to be said about inconsistency :confused: It looks like Lu rebounded from the lower number and had a nice cycle for you.
 
Back
Top