9/30 Klinger AMPS 438; +12 184; PMPS 312

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
at +12 184; I had to work late so told DH not to shoot. He fed him at +12; at +13 (when I got home) he was 312. Giving 3.0 u's since I'll be home with him tomorrow.
 
Ok awesome! I think that is a smart idea. Our data on lower preshots is limited so... it sounds good to me. We saw what 3.5u did (on 306) and it caused a big bounce, so lets see what 3u does. We should adjust the lower end of the scale according to what you see tomorrow.

Also,
Remember that tomorrow 5:45AM is +11. But if he is high enough to shoot comfortably, go for it at +11. If he is a little lower than you are comfortable with, start testing every 15-20 min and I think you will be amazed how fast he comes up. Shoot as soon as you see that he is definitely headed up and he is over ??? low/mid 200's? We really are going to have to come up with a fine tuned low end scale that keeps him safe, soon!

I have a friend who always says remember to look at the forest, not just the individual trees- ...Overall, he's moving down and we are seeing fewer blacks/ hi's - go Klinger!

This weekend be sure to get some mid cycle numbers, so we can intelligently plan a low end scale. We need to see how low he is going now. Im guessing that his nadir may be getting longer and a bit later, but lets see where he is. :cool:

Remember, under 200 is an absolute no shoot, so hubby did good, but retesting in 20-30 min would have been smart, _ boy we need the low scale now it seems!
 
following story quiety marcy but whoo-hoo! that is an all time low for your ps is'nt it?
sooooo happy nancy is on board with this..i was unequiped to handle this one. confused_cat
 
what was that on 7-17-10 if you don't mind my asking...that another of my misunderstanding the chart?
 
I really don't know. 2 possibilities come to mind:
--there was mention of vomiting near there. My vet told me that illness (virus/ bacteria) or xxx-itis can actually use up excess blood glucose which suddenly drops the numbers.
--and if he is an acro cat, the Growth hormone /pituitary output can fluctuate down, and suddenly they aren't as "diabetic" . Supposedly an acrocats pancreas still functions, but the insulin receptor sites are filled up/blocked with growth hormone. Many acro's are constantly fluctuating up and down the dosing scale. always testing.... this summer Cody went from happy at 18.5u down to like 7u in 3 weeks, now he's back to 15.5u. :shock:

but only a blood test would confirm the acro diagnosis- Honestly , I'm confused on that. Some things fit, some don't fit.
 
Again - I'm late here
"So, in your experience, is it unusual for a HD kitty to drop 270 pts on a 3 1/2 u?"

I would say YES. That's what we used to see alot of on the PZI idexx and bcp pzi. it seemed there would be these wierd "patterns" we'd start to see of cats who would one minute do something like that and another time have little to no response to those doses. If you don't mind waiting till tomorrow I will go thru Merlin's old numbers and pull you some examples from the beginning. They are over on the YDC site before we knew he had acro. One time he dropped to 40's and even Dr H said - "there's no way he could have acro - I've never seen an acro cat who could get double digits" .....hmmmmmmm -

I don't want to whine but it was a long day with another of my kitties being at a specialist and now I'm going to WINE! :mrgreen:
But first a little cheer for you Marcie, Klinger and Nancy
:RAHCAT dancing_cat :dizcat
 
He was 515 at +11, so I took your advice and gave him his shot then. 3.6 u's. Will get some spot checks in over the weekend.
Lori, I'm not sure what the 7/17 was really either. At that time I was still following my vets advice and only testing on a Sat or Sun and I wasn't testing PS. Ugh!
Thanks for the cheers, Patti. I would be interested in seeing some of those examples of Merlin's old numbers.

Hope everyone has a great day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top