9/30 Hugo - From 249 to 45 to 448 in one day

liz king

Member Since 2020
If anyone has a minute to check Hugo's SS I'd appreciate it. He has been consistently very high, totally un regulated. Vet ran out of options and sent me to an internal medicine specialist. Did an ultrasound that showed thickening of the gastrointestinal tract, and that's it. Next step is an endoscopy to biopsy the GI tract, but at $1000, my unemployed self can't really afford it.

But look at the past 3 days... all of a sudden he's going low. Does this look like he might be finally falling into regulation???
 
Hi! I'm sorry you're having trouble with Hugo :confused: I think we've all felt that way at one point or another (or still do sometimes). For continuity, it helps to link your last post when you make a new one - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hugo-pretty-new-here-amps-400s.233537/

From reading through the old post, looks like the thought was Hugo could be on too much insulin and that people were hoping you could get some evening tests.

I can't speak to dosing but others may chime in there...are you able to get evening tests? a +2 and +3 give some clues to the evening cycle.

You'll also want to determine if you are following Tight Regulation or SLGS - Info here. Your answer will also guide responses from those that can give input on dosing.

You can also add the ? to your title (edit title and pick the ? from the drop-down). This helps get eyes on your condo for people just scanning the forum :)

Hope that helps some - hang in there :bighug:
 
As Susanne said earned a reduction yesterday from 5.0 to 4.5 when he dropped under 50. If following SLGS a reduction is earned with a drop under 90 and with TR it's a drop under 50. Usually we decrease and increase in .25 increments but with him being on 5 units it might be better to take a .50 reduction. I'm going to look at your previous posts and spreadsheet and come back.

I'm not sure why you are increasing and decreasing in whole units but it very well could explain why you are getting wonky numbers. Lantus is dosed based upon how low it takes a cat and not on the preshots.
 
Back
Top