9/30 Charlie AMPS 166, +4:30=78, +6=79, +9 95, PMPS 98 Reduction Taken

Julie & Charlie

Member Since 2020
Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-2-98-4-87-10-124-pmps-118-2-112-4-92.236065/

Day 3 of consistent dosing of .25 AM & PM since starting SLGS.

If I understand correctly, I reassess this dose at 7 days. Protocol says to drop dose by .25 if nadir's fall below 90. Can I assume I'm okay leaving it at .25 for now since dosing is only .25? I guess I need to be patient to see what happens through the next 4 days.

I think his ears are pretty sore and he is getting more upset when I poke him so I'd like to cut out a test or two for a little while to give his ears a break and heal a bit. But, I'm having a hard time telling when he typically hits his nadir. If it would be helpful to do a few more tests to see if I can narrow that down to the most likely time, I'm open to suggestions.

Have a wonderful day everyone!
 
Actually with SLGS a reduction has been earned. I think stopping prednisolone is turning Charlie into a diet controlled diabetic. The new dose is a drop. I’ll attach a picture of it.
 
Gosh - he is still in the mid 100's at times on the .25. Will reducing to .01 help him get into remission or is that only possible if I switch to TR and push to keep his BG below 100 all of the time?
 
It can happen with SLGS too. There’s an OTJ party today for Kitten who was on SLGS. You can also switch to TR and not reduce until under 50 or choose a slightly lower number for reductions and continue with .25.
 
Okay, thank you for that information. I'll study Kitten's spreadsheet during my lunch or after I'm off the work clock. Since I've bounced around so much with his prior dosing, I might see what .25 does for a few more days.
 
You have lots of options. Charlie is doing really well. When Kitten went from .01 to the drop dose Kitten made it clear to Jennifer she couldn’t hold it any more. Hopefully the remission will be permanent. Charlie will do the same for you. I’d read through her condos before she started the OTJ trial.
 
Thanks. Starting to go through the condos (seems like it should be convos for conversations?), anyway, a lot to absorb and I will review more tonight when I'm off work. Surprised to see the drop below 80 today, but Yay!
 
Lol. Shows you how I have no life with Covid shut down keeping me home . Too much time on my hands. At least I feel a little productive.
 
Ya, darn Covid. It's been quite the year, but you are a blessing to all of us struggling newbies. I never dreamed of having a diabetic cat, but more than that, I would never have imagined the group of people who give their time, knowledge and the encouragement that I found here.
 
Back
Top