? 9/3 Yoshi amps 443 +2 413 pmps 75 help do I dose?

Don't give up hope yet, it's still really really early. Wendy is correct that the second-time-around kitties can be slower to respond to insulin. That happened with my cat, when she came out of remission it was a month, and several increases in dose, before she saw her first green. But she did get there.

It's possible that the higher pre-shot this morning is due to Yoshi going lower last night. I know it's hard, but the more between-shot tests you can get, the better picture you'll have of what the insulin is actually doing. If he did go lower and is bouncing, he may stay high for a day or two.
 
Thank you for your kind words. I’m neurotic with this. I’m back to school today (teacher) and I won’t be home for 8 hours. I do have a timed feeder set for early afternoon and an hour before I get home (I’ve been using this since he went into remission).

I think w Lantus I get so scared that he will hypo because I’ve seen some dramatic drops once the insulin is full.

Is his +2 number decent?

I can’t thank you all enough for your help and support
 
Yes, the +2 number is good-- a very gentle drop and/or just holding steady from the pre-shot.

Having a timed feeder is really really helpful when you have to go to work. That way, you know that food will be available at peak insulin action (most cats will seek out food for themselves if they go low).
 
Please try an be patient...it takes a little while for Lantus to work...it may be that you won't see any dramatic changes initially...take a deep breath and read up on the stickies...lots of great information in there that will help you understand how it all works, which will help you to feel better about the progress you're making. :)
 
Once the depot is full, and you get to that fitting dose, you will see the beauty of Lantus. In the meantime, take your cue from Yoshi. How is he feeling/doing today? As we say here, cats are more than their numbers.

As others have said, it’s a really good habit to get into getting a test just before going to bed, so we can see what might have happened in the night cycle. The depot is starting to build so you could be seeing a little more downward movement now.

Here is the link to your previous post, which we include so people can go back and see the history. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...362-pmps-391-discouraged.218892/#post-2436374

Have fun with all those fresh faces at school today.
 
Sending some encouragement your way! you're doing awesome with Yoshi (love the name!). It's hard, but once the first couple of weeks are under your belt you will have a better feeling for how Yoshi reacts to Lantus! I hope he safely achieves better lower numbers soon :)

Like others have said... patience pants are a must,.... I have worn through soooo many pairs here!
 
Once the depot is full, and you get to that fitting dose, you will see the beauty of Lantus. In the meantime, take your cue from Yoshi. How is he feeling/doing today? As we say here, cats are more than their numbers.

As others have said, it’s a really good habit to get into getting a test just before going to bed, so we can see what might have happened in the night cycle. The depot is starting to build so you could be seeing a little more downward movement now.

Here is the link to your previous post, which we include so people can go back and see the history. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...362-pmps-391-discouraged.218892/#post-2436374

Have fun with all those fresh faces at school today.

Thank you! He was just really hungry this morning. I hope I get a nice reading at PMPS. I will test before bed tonight. I just feel so bad for my little man's ears! He's been through so much this weekend
 
I just feel so bad for my little man's ears! He's been through so much this weekend

There really haven't been that many pokies yet...try to think of it as lifesaving...at first it's difficult and hard to handle - emotionally for you - but you know if you're strong that you're helping him - in a way no one else would - it's the very kindness of testing that you're doing FOR him to help him to feel better...saving his life. I used to tell myself that whenever I had to poke Luci...now look at her SS - that girl endures all this poking like a champ...does it hurt? Maybe, but she sits there and allows me to do it ...many times a day...do I hate it? Yes. Would I hate losing her more? A thousand times YES... I can't bear the thought of not helping my girl. So we do what we must. It's an act of pure love...:bighug:
 
If memory serves me correctly I should stall? How long is that? I feel like the meter is wrong but I think it’s actually right he’s so hungry
 
I see, the 75 was the second, I'm guessing the first one was even lower? In any case, that's a really dramatic drop from earlier, but still safe, even on an AT.

Assuming that the two numbers were both low, I think you'll be skipping tonight, and feeding was a good move.
 
My first pmps was a lot of blood and the alpha track read an error. I inserted a new strip immediately after and it was 75
 
OK, try not to feed him a full meal right now, just in case he drops more and you need to have him eat a bit of high carb to bring him up. Test again in 30mins-1hr. to see if he's started to come up.

He'll likely bounce like a champion from this, it's just a matter of when he gets started.
 
On the assumption that you are following SLGS (and please note which dosing approach you're following in your signature), with a lower than comfortable pre-shot number, you have the following options:
  • Do not feed Yoshi and stall. Wait 15 - 20 min and re-test. If numbers are still below your comfort level, repeat. Once numbers start to rise and your comfortable with the numbers, shoot.
  • Shoot a reduced dose.
  • Skip the shot.
Again, if following SLGS, Yoshi earned a dose reduction-- and please update your spreadsheet.

This isn’t working....
Really?????
 
On the assumption that you are following SLGS (and please note which dosing approach you're following in your signature), with a lower than comfortable pre-shot number, you have the following options:
  • Do not feed Yoshi and stall. Wait 15 - 20 min and re-test. If numbers are still below your comfort level, repeat. Once numbers start to rise and your comfortable with the numbers, shoot.
  • Shoot a reduced dose.
  • Skip the shot.
Again, if following SLGS, Yoshi earned a dose reduction-- and please update your spreadsheet.


Really?????
I felt that way earlier
 
There really haven't been that many pokies yet...try to think of it as lifesaving...at first it's difficult and hard to handle - emotionally for you - but you know if you're strong that you're helping him - in a way no one else would - it's the very kindness of testing that you're doing FOR him to help him to feel better...saving his life. I used to tell myself that whenever I had to poke Luci...now look at her SS - that girl endures all this poking like a champ...does it hurt? Maybe, but she sits there and allows me to do it ...many times a day...do I hate it? Yes. Would I hate losing her more? A thousand times YES... I can't bear the thought of not helping my girl. So we do what we must. It's an act of pure love...:bighug:
That was beautiful, thank you
 
On the assumption that you are following SLGS (and please note which dosing approach you're following in your signature), with a lower than comfortable pre-shot number, you have the following options:
  • Do not feed Yoshi and stall. Wait 15 - 20 min and re-test. If numbers are still below your comfort level, repeat. Once numbers start to rise and your comfortable with the numbers, shoot.
  • Shoot a reduced dose.
  • Skip the shot.
Again, if following SLGS, Yoshi earned a dose reduction-- and please update your spreadsheet.


Really?????
Really what?
 
On the assumption that you are following SLGS (and please note which dosing approach you're following in your signature), with a lower than comfortable pre-shot number, you have the following options:
  • Do not feed Yoshi and stall. Wait 15 - 20 min and re-test. If numbers are still below your comfort level, repeat. Once numbers start to rise and your comfortable with the numbers, shoot.
  • Shoot a reduced dose.
  • Skip the shot.
Again, if following SLGS, Yoshi earned a dose reduction-- and please update your spreadsheet.


Really?????
I’m not sure where your “really” is coming from.
 
I think skipping is the right move for tonight, and I agree that a dose reduction is in order, down to 0.75. Don't be alarmed by high numbers tonight and tomorrow-- as I said, he's likely to bounce from this. Some of the high numbers you've been getting at pre-shot, in particular this morning's, may have been bounces from lows you didn't see overnight. This is telling us that he doesn't need quite so much insulin.

Definitely do get some more tests in tonight in the meantime, though, to make sure he's coming up. We want to make sure he's not done dropping, and that he's safe tonight.

*Please take GA down from your Post title :eek:

Just fyi, we use the GA prefix for a kitty that has passed ("Gone Ahead" or "Guardian Angel")-- so when we see it, we all kind of freak out a bit!
 
I think skipping is the right move for tonight, and I agree that a dose reduction is in order, down to 0.75. Don't be alarmed by high numbers tonight and tomorrow-- as I said, he's likely to bounce from this. Some of the high numbers you've been getting at pre-shot, in particular this morning's, may have been bounces from lows you didn't see overnight. This is telling us that he doesn't need quite so much insulin.

Definitely do get some more tests in tonight in the meantime, though, to make sure he's coming up. We want to make sure he's not done dropping, and that he's safe tonight.



Just fyi, we use the GA prefix for a kitty that has passed ("Gone Ahead" or "Guardian Angel")-- so when we see it, we all kind of freak out a bit!
Ahhh, thanks @Nan & Amber :woot:
 
O
I think skipping is the right move for tonight, and I agree that a dose reduction is in order, down to 0.75. Don't be alarmed by high numbers tonight and tomorrow-- as I said, he's likely to bounce from this. Some of the high numbers you've been getting at pre-shot, in particular this morning's, may have been bounces from lows you didn't see overnight. This is telling us that he doesn't need quite so much insulin.

Definitely do get some more tests in tonight in the meantime, though, to make sure he's coming up. We want to make sure he's not done dropping, and that he's safe tonight.



Just fyi, we use the GA prefix for a kitty that has passed ("Gone Ahead" or "Guardian Angel")-- so when we see it, we all kind of freak out a bit![/QUO
 
Back
Top