Stressedcatmom
Member Since 2017
This isn’t working....
Once the depot is full, and you get to that fitting dose, you will see the beauty of Lantus. In the meantime, take your cue from Yoshi. How is he feeling/doing today? As we say here, cats are more than their numbers.
As others have said, it’s a really good habit to get into getting a test just before going to bed, so we can see what might have happened in the night cycle. The depot is starting to build so you could be seeing a little more downward movement now.
Here is the link to your previous post, which we include so people can go back and see the history. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...362-pmps-391-discouraged.218892/#post-2436374
Have fun with all those fresh faces at school today.
I just feel so bad for my little man's ears! He's been through so much this weekend

Did you shoot... skip?skipping tonight, and feeding was a good move.

Really?????This isn’t working....
I’m skipping for now and I fed. My vet said not to shoot under 200Did you shoot... skip?
Have you fed?![]()
![]()
...
![]()
I felt that way earlierOn the assumption that you are following SLGS (and please note which dosing approach you're following in your signature), with a lower than comfortable pre-shot number, you have the following options:
Again, if following SLGS, Yoshi earned a dose reduction-- and please update your spreadsheet.
- Do not feed Yoshi and stall. Wait 15 - 20 min and re-test. If numbers are still below your comfort level, repeat. Once numbers start to rise and your comfortable with the numbers, shoot.
- Shoot a reduced dose.
- Skip the shot.
Really?????
That was beautiful, thank youThere really haven't been that many pokies yet...try to think of it as lifesaving...at first it's difficult and hard to handle - emotionally for you - but you know if you're strong that you're helping him - in a way no one else would - it's the very kindness of testing that you're doing FOR him to help him to feel better...saving his life. I used to tell myself that whenever I had to poke Luci...now look at her SS - that girl endures all this poking like a champ...does it hurt? Maybe, but she sits there and allows me to do it ...many times a day...do I hate it? Yes. Would I hate losing her more? A thousand times YES... I can't bear the thought of not helping my girl. So we do what we must. It's an act of pure love...![]()
Really what?On the assumption that you are following SLGS (and please note which dosing approach you're following in your signature), with a lower than comfortable pre-shot number, you have the following options:
Again, if following SLGS, Yoshi earned a dose reduction-- and please update your spreadsheet.
- Do not feed Yoshi and stall. Wait 15 - 20 min and re-test. If numbers are still below your comfort level, repeat. Once numbers start to rise and your comfortable with the numbers, shoot.
- Shoot a reduced dose.
- Skip the shot.
Really?????
I’m not sure where your “really” is coming from.On the assumption that you are following SLGS (and please note which dosing approach you're following in your signature), with a lower than comfortable pre-shot number, you have the following options:
Again, if following SLGS, Yoshi earned a dose reduction-- and please update your spreadsheet.
- Do not feed Yoshi and stall. Wait 15 - 20 min and re-test. If numbers are still below your comfort level, repeat. Once numbers start to rise and your comfortable with the numbers, shoot.
- Shoot a reduced dose.
- Skip the shot.
Really?????
*Please take GA down from your Post title![]()
Not speaking- answering for @Sienne and Gabby (GA)...I’m not sure where your “really” is coming from.
I did*Please take GA down from your Post title![]()
Ahhh, thanks @Nan & AmberI think skipping is the right move for tonight, and I agree that a dose reduction is in order, down to 0.75. Don't be alarmed by high numbers tonight and tomorrow-- as I said, he's likely to bounce from this. Some of the high numbers you've been getting at pre-shot, in particular this morning's, may have been bounces from lows you didn't see overnight. This is telling us that he doesn't need quite so much insulin.
Definitely do get some more tests in tonight in the meantime, though, to make sure he's coming up. We want to make sure he's not done dropping, and that he's safe tonight.
Just fyi, we use the GA prefix for a kitty that has passed ("Gone Ahead" or "Guardian Angel")-- so when we see it, we all kind of freak out a bit!

Breathe.It’s offensive. Don’t do that to me when im
Done.*Please take GA down from your Post title![]()
I think skipping is the right move for tonight, and I agree that a dose reduction is in order, down to 0.75. Don't be alarmed by high numbers tonight and tomorrow-- as I said, he's likely to bounce from this. Some of the high numbers you've been getting at pre-shot, in particular this morning's, may have been bounces from lows you didn't see overnight. This is telling us that he doesn't need quite so much insulin.
Definitely do get some more tests in tonight in the meantime, though, to make sure he's coming up. We want to make sure he's not done dropping, and that he's safe tonight.
Just fyi, we use the GA prefix for a kitty that has passed ("Gone Ahead" or "Guardian Angel")-- so when we see it, we all kind of freak out a bit![/QUO