9/3 Skipper is AMPS+14 = 73. Haven't Fed. What do I do?

Kathy4Skipper

Member Since 2021
I'm new to using Lantus. Skipper has been hovering in the 70's for three hours. I haven't fed him, hoping he will start to go up.

What do I do? Keep waiting? And as soon as he starts going up, feed him and give him his regular, full dose shot?
 
I'm new to using Lantus. Skipper has been hovering in the 70's for three hours. I haven't fed him, hoping he will start to go up.

What do I do? Keep waiting? And as soon as he starts going up, feed him and give him his regular, full dose shot?
Do you know how to put a ? In front of your post?
 
Your SS says you are following SLGS? If yes, below 90 is a no shot. He has also earned a reduction. I would go back down to 1.25U from tomorrow.
If possible, you want to get some tests at night - a test before bed, say. You are getting only half the picture by testing only in the day. Many cats go lower at night and bounce in the day.
 
Your SS says you are following SLGS?
I honestly don't know what I'm doing. I thought I was doing the tight regulation, but I don't know.
He could stay in the 70's for hours longer. It took me a long time to get him into the greens so I don't want to skip.
 
I honestly don't know what I'm doing. I thought I was doing the tight regulation, but I don't know.
He could stay in the 70's for hours longer. It took me a long time to get him into the greens so I don't want to skip.
You are already over 2 hours late for the PM shot. Can you schedule accommodate the delay if you shoot now? Future shots will also be delayed. (You make up the delay by 30 mins per day).
If you shoot, can you stay up and get some tests?

With TR you need to get at least 2 tests per cycle - 1 preshot and 1 mid-cycle. More if his numbers are dropping. TR will help you keep him at a dose where he sees healign greens, but it also requires more tests than SLGS.

I would stay with 1.25U (he was increased to 1.375U without any PM tests and it's possible he did see greens at night on it).
 
You are already over 2 hours late for the PM shot. Can you schedule accommodate the delay if you shoot now? Future shots will also be delayed. (You make up the delay by 30 mins per day).
If you shoot, can you stay up and get some tests?

With TR you need to get at least 2 tests per cycle - 1 preshot and 1 mid-cycle. More if his numbers are dropping. TR will help you keep him at a dose where he sees healign greens, but it also requires more tests than SLGS.

I would stay with 1.25U (he was increased to 1.375U without any PM tests and it's possible he did see greens at night on it).
I went to 1.375U because I needed him out of the 300-399 range. Three days is his standard behavior for whether he's going to budge or not.
I can accommodate the delay, but I can't stay up much longer because I have to work this weekend.
 
I went to 1.375U because I needed him out of the 300-399 range. Three days is his standard behavior for whether he's going to budge or not.
You are not seeing the full picture without tests at night. Without enough tests to see how low a dose is taking him, too much insulin can actually look like too little insulin. The blacks you saw a few days back could be him bouncing from lows you did not catch.
 
You are not seeing the full picture without tests at night. Without enough tests to see how low a dose is taking him, too much insulin can actually look like too little insulin. The blacks you saw a few days back could be him bouncing from lows you did not catch.
The blacks are because he learned how to get his brother's carb food.
 
The blacks are because he learned how to get his brother's carb food.
If it were my cat & your already 3hrs past shot time & you can't stay up to much longer I would skip. With TR you have to be able to get more PM tests. Even if it's going to bed & setting an alarm to test & make sure he's safe.
 
If it were my cat & your already 3hrs past shot time & you can't stay up to much longer I would skip. With TR you have to be able to get more PM tests. Even if it's going to bed & setting an alarm to test & make sure he's safe.
Ok. I guess I won't be able to do the TR then because I can't do tests in the middle of the night.
Signing off for now.
Thank you,
Kathy & Skipper
 
Ok. I guess I won't be able to do the TR then because I can't do tests in the middle of the night.
You need not test in the middle of the night every night. A before bed test (if it is at least 2 hours after the shot) will tell you if there is a threat of him dropping low and you need to set an alarm for later or whether he is bouncing and you don't need any more tests.
 
Back
Top