9/3 Rudy AMPS 141, +4 76, PMPS 183

Rudy got into some hamburger buns a couple days back, I think that's what caused the spike. However, he's still having higher AM/PM PS number than what I want.
 
Rudy got into some hamburger buns a couple days back, I think that's what caused the spike. However, he's still having higher AM/PM PS number than what I want.
Tagging more experienced members about doses
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
Ladies can you look at post #3 also , the Kai wants to know if she should increase the dose
Thank you ladies

@SweetGreyRudy
Can you update your spreadsheet today 9-4 Thanks
 
he's still having higher AM/PM PS number than what I want.
We determine dose based on how low the dose takes the cat, not the preshot numbers. Hence the importance of a second test in each cycle, including the PM cycle. If you are not able to do a second test at night, then you cannot follow TR for dosing. TR is a more aggressive dosing method than SLGS, but it can be done if the safety mechanisms are followed. Getting at least 2 tests per cycle is one of those required safety mechanisms.

Also, the dose should not be increased without knowing how low the dose is taking the cat. Here is a link to a post with an explanation:
On a separate topic, the size of Rudy's dose and the fact that he went after inappropriate food (hamburger buns) means I need to talk to you about the possibility that Rudy has a secondary endocrine condition that is causing him to need a higher dose. The one I'm thinking of is called acromegaly, which is a condition caused by a benign tumour on the pituitary gland, that causes excess growth hormone to be output, which in turn causes the diabetes. Rudy has an unusual appetite but think of teenage boys during growth spurts, they do too. My Neko had acromegaly, and another condition called insulin auto antibodies (IAA). My first clue things weren't right was when we found her removing both foil and plastic wrap from a banana bread and diving into it. Then there was the baguette and the blueberry muffins. :rolleyes: For some reason all foods starting with B.:p

At six units and above, there is a strong likelihood a cat has one of the two conditions. About one quarter of diabetic cats has acromegaly.

You might want to talk to your vet about getting the blood tests done for both acromegaly and IAA. The blood for both tests is sent to Michigan State University. There are a couple reasons to know if he's got either condition. First and foremost, there are treatments that can help. Anything from radiation, surgery, to a daily medication called cabergoline. We've had several cats here go OTJ after starting cabegoline. The second reason for knowing if Rudy has one of these conditions is that it can impact how we deal with dosing. And third reason, there are side effects, at least from acromegaly and the excess growth hormone and knowing to look out for them can help both quality and length of life of the cat. Simple example with Neko, her vet was going to pull a canine tooth because it looked like an infection, but I went to a dental specialist for a second opinion. He found Neko had some excess soft tissue growth in her mouth causing the canine to rub. He fixed the problem, she didn't lose her tooth.
 
We determine dose based on how low the dose takes the cat, not the preshot numbers. Hence the importance of a second test in each cycle, including the PM cycle. If you are not able to do a second test at night, then you cannot follow TR for dosing. TR is a more aggressive dosing method than SLGS, but it can be done if the safety mechanisms are followed. Getting at least 2 tests per cycle is one of those required safety mechanisms.

Also, the dose should not be increased without knowing how low the dose is taking the cat. Here is a link to a post with an explanation:
On a separate topic, the size of Rudy's dose and the fact that he went after inappropriate food (hamburger buns) means I need to talk to you about the possibility that Rudy has a secondary endocrine condition that is causing him to need a higher dose. The one I'm thinking of is called acromegaly, which is a condition caused by a benign tumour on the pituitary gland, that causes excess growth hormone to be output, which in turn causes the diabetes. Rudy has an unusual appetite but think of teenage boys during growth spurts, they do too. My Neko had acromegaly, and another condition called insulin auto antibodies (IAA). My first clue things weren't right was when we found her removing both foil and plastic wrap from a banana bread and diving into it. Then there was the baguette and the blueberry muffins. :rolleyes: For some reason all foods starting with B.:p

At six units and above, there is a strong likelihood a cat has one of the two conditions. About one quarter of diabetic cats has acromegaly.

You might want to talk to your vet about getting the blood tests done for both acromegaly and IAA. The blood for both tests is sent to Michigan State University. There are a couple reasons to know if he's got either condition. First and foremost, there are treatments that can help. Anything from radiation, surgery, to a daily medication called cabergoline. We've had several cats here go OTJ after starting cabegoline. The second reason for knowing if Rudy has one of these conditions is that it can impact how we deal with dosing. And third reason, there are side effects, at least from acromegaly and the excess growth hormone and knowing to look out for them can help both quality and length of life of the cat. Simple example with Neko, her vet was going to pull a canine tooth because it looked like an infection, but I went to a dental specialist for a second opinion. He found Neko had some excess soft tissue growth in her mouth causing the canine to rub. He fixed the problem, she didn't lose her tooth.

This is so helpful, I will call Rudy's vet tomorrow to get the blood tests ordered. And, you are right about getting the before bed test, thanks for holding us accountable on that :) I've been wondering why Rudy seems so interested in carbs. He got into a cookie a few weeks back. Something's definitely up, his PMPS was 258 :(
 
Back
Top