9/3 Penny: AMPS 83 -skipped dose ( no insulin in over 24 hours)

Usually, even if you skip a shot the Lantus depot is at play. But considering the number of skipped shots in Penny's case, it is unlikely. There are cats here who test in the 40s even without insulin. Look at Simon's SS. He recently went into remission.

Give it 20-30 min after food to test again. It takes that long for the food to hit the blood stream.
 
You are fine to give her a bit more food after that next test. She should be OK. Looks like Penny's pancreas is definitely sputtering! :D Remember, the take action shot on the Relion is below 50.

Sorry I can't stay later, it's pillow time for me.
 
Ooof. Hairball induced full breakfast evacuation. I’m glad I skipped now. She won’t eat anything for a bit until her tummy settles.
 
Penny was at 83 for AMPS just now. Looks like another skip this morning. I slept through my alarm and past my normal shot time anyway after being up with her over night. Oops. Hopefully she can stay in the greens herself today. Go pancreas go!

Is there a reason you are following SLGS and not TR? Sorry, I didn't get around to reading your previous threads.

You test enough for TR and with TR you can shoot any number above 50. Give Penny a greater chance at remission. Though she looks like she is determined to get there one way or another! :smuggrin:
 
Is there a reason you are following SLGS and not TR? Sorry, I didn't get around to reading your previous threads.

I'm not doing TR because I am pretty new and still don't really know what I'm doing. I was expecting that she would be in the red/pink range for quite some time while I got comfortable with everything. Also, I was afraid that I wouldn't be able to test as frequently as I would need to.

I had figured I would go at it with SLGS for a month and then if that wasn't working I would consider switching to TR. I work at a university so even though I'm working remotely right now, I'm often in video meetings or calls with students and or faculty and not always able to test on the fly. I could certainly make it work during the day, but my main issue is nighttime. I had a pretty bad sleep disorder in the past that spiraled and caused all sorts of other medical issues so I try and prioritize sleep as much as I can which means it's often hard for me to commit to testing frequently over night.

However, since I'm already in the green at the end of my second week, I'm feeling pretty good about what I'm doing so far. The next time she's over 90 (or high enough for me to feel comfortable) I'll probably try shooting so that I can try and get her numbers down a bit more. With all of the reductions she's due for just .25 of a unit.
 
I've seen cats go into remission just by stopping ALL dry food ;) Fingers crossed! Time will tell.

Best of luck to you & Penny!
upload_2020-9-3_11-9-16.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-9-3_11-9-16.jpeg
    upload_2020-9-3_11-9-16.jpeg
    8.9 KB · Views: 76
Back
Top