9/3 Lando AMPS 444, +3 350, +6 313 PMPS 357 (+10)

Lando demando

Member Since 2021
Hello,
today was my first successful curve with Lando! After some medical roadblocks with him, i finally gained my confidence testing him. There was also a chat with the vet today. Landos vet suggested he up his dosage from 2 units to 3 units ( starting monday am). This much of a jump scares me a bit. Does anyone else think so?
Thanks!
 
About how curves are done 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. I forgot if I asked you this, how come you are not testing at night after his shot
You have a lot of no shots and no AMPS numbers
His numbers are still pretty high
You need to be testing a lot more so you can see how the lantus is working for him and how low he's dropping
Also try to shoot the same time everyday
Lantus likes consistency
 
Last edited:
Ah ok, so to complete the curve i would need one more test at 830!
Let me explain
Here's an example
12 hour curve you test every 2 hours
8:00 AM gave insulin
10:00 AM test
12:00 noon test
2:00 PM test
4:00 PM test
6:00 PM test
8:00 PM test

18 hour curve you test every 3 hours
8:00 AM gave insulin
11:00 AM test
2:00 PM test
5:00 PM test
8:00 PM test
11:00 PM test
2:00 AM test


I have always done 12 hour curve
I guess you can get some more tests in tonight every 3 hours
Or do another curve in a few says if you want to , do the 12 hour curve like I said test every 2 hours

I forgot if I asked you this, how come you are not testing at night after his shot
You have a lot of no shots and no AMPS numbers
His numbers are still pretty high
You need to be testing a lot more so you can see how the lantus is working for him and how low he's dropping
Also try to shoot the same time everyday
Lantus likes consistency
Chelsea when you need any advice I would suggest when you post put a ? Need Help With Dose or what ever it may be
@Lando demando
 
Last edited:
There was also a chat with the vet today. Landos vet suggested he up his dosage from 2 units to 3 units ( starting monday am). This much of a jump scares me a bit. Does anyone else think so?
Thanks!
I'm going to tag a few members for you about the dose
@tiffmaxee

@Bandit's Mom

@Chris & China (GA)

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)


This is what I suggested to Chelsea after looking at her SS
I forgot if I asked you this, how come you are not testing at night after his shot
You have a lot of no shots and no AMPS numbers
His numbers are still pretty high
You need to be testing a lot more so you can see how the lantus is working for him and how low he's dropping
Also try to shoot the same time everyday
Lantus likes consistency
Chelsea when you need any advice I would suggest when you post put a ? Need Help With Dose or what ever it may be
 
Chelsea you posted this on Tuesday

Thanks again for the support Diane, Darcy and Smorgasbord! It turns out my vet was able to see Lando ( not vet tech) and his lungs and fever turned out to be normal. He got antibiotics since the vet said we wanted to avoid another round of not eating. Fingers crossed and really want to keep my head better moving forward!
All the replies helped so much.
Here is your thread
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...h-all-these-new-symptoms.252231/#post-2846907

What antibiotics did the vet give him and is he better?
You also said he had trouble breathing is he ok now
 
Last edited:
Chelsea I also see this is the first time you posted on the lantus forum, all the others were on Feline Health
I would suggest you post on the lantus forum every day
Date Lando AMPS then make sure to link your previous days post all the time
 
Hi. You are right not to increase by that much. You need to test before every shot, amps and pmps. You need some night tests beyond the pmps as you only have half the picture. With the numbers you do have I would increase to 2.25 and test at least two tests times every day and night. Get a before bed test. Is that possible?
 
Chelsea you posted this on Tuesday

Thanks again for the support Diane, Darcy and Smorgasbord! It turns out my vet was able to see Lando ( not vet tech) and his lungs and fever turned out to be normal. He got antibiotics since the vet said we wanted to avoid another round of not eating. Fingers crossed and really want to keep my head better moving forward!
All the replies helped so much.
Here is your thread
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...h-all-these-new-symptoms.252231/#post-2846907

What antibiotics did the vet give him and is he better?
You also said he had trouble breathing is he ok now

Hello Diane, yes Lando is MUCH better and his uri has cleared up after his dose of Convenia.

the NS’s were due to the fact that Lando stopped eating for a bit over two days.

not to be too long winded, but this is what has happened since first shot a few weeks ago: began insulin; had a flare up of pancreatitis; treated with fluids, b12 and pain reliever ; stooped eating for a few days ( stopped insulin ); had uti scare ( was negative) ; then got an upper respiratory infection from one of the other household cats.

i absolutely want to give Lando the best care i can, but sadly i have barely been holding on these past few weeks. With three senior cats ( one kidney disease, one hear problems, and lando) i have barely kept it together and not gotten fired from my fast paced job

today was the first success with testing where lando didnt hide from me and i was able to get the blood droplet without too much stress on Lando. I took the day off work to make it happen.

so i completely understand if i dont have enough data for advice on the 1 unit increase suggested by my vet.

thanks all
 
Hi. You are right not to increase by that much. You need to test before every shot, amps and pmps. You need some night tests beyond the pmps as you only have half the picture. With the numbers you do have I would increase to 2.25 and test at least two tests times every day and night. Get a before bed test. Is that possible?
Yes! Now that i FINALLY have the hang of this, a amps and pmps are totally possible! Its the mid day tests that are a big challenge for me
 
Can you get a +2? That will give an idea of how the rest of the cycle might go. When can you test during each cycle?
Well since yesterday and today were the first days since insulin that things seemed to go well, i am hoping i can test more. That is my intent and i hope he gets used to it and stops hiding from me
 
I'm going to tag a few members for you about the dose
@tiffmaxee

@Bandit's Mom

@Chris & China (GA)

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)


This is what I suggested to Chelsea after looking at her SS
I forgot if I asked you this, how come you are not testing at night after his shot
You have a lot of no shots and no AMPS numbers
His numbers are still pretty high
You need to be testing a lot more so you can see how the lantus is working for him and how low he's dropping
Also try to shoot the same time everyday
Lantus likes consistency
Chelsea when you need any advice I would suggest when you post put a ? Need Help With Dose or what ever it may be

also regarding same time everyday. Absolutely that is my intent. The vet delayed his shot ( 730 or 45 is intended time) to 930 so i was slowly inching back
 
Hello Diane, yes Lando is MUCH better and his uri has cleared up after his dose of Convenia.

the NS’s were due to the fact that Lando stopped eating for a bit over two days.

not to be too long winded, but this is what has happened since first shot a few weeks ago: began insulin; had a flare up of pancreatitis; treated with fluids, b12 and pain reliever ; stooped eating for a few days ( stopped insulin ); had uti scare ( was negative) ; then got an upper respiratory infection from one of the other household cats.

i absolutely want to give Lando the best care i can, but sadly i have barely been holding on these past few weeks. With three senior cats ( one kidney disease, one hear problems, and lando) i have barely kept it together and not gotten fired from my fast paced job

today was the first success with testing where lando didnt hide from me and i was able to get the blood droplet without too much stress on Lando. I took the day off work to make it happen.

so i completely understand if i dont have enough data for advice on the 1 unit increase suggested by my vet.

thanks all
I'm so sorry you are dealing with all this, and I completely understand. You have a lot on your plate. I don't want to stress you out even more.Just do the best you can. :cat:
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Lando demando
 
Last edited:
I'm so sorry you are dealing with all this, and I completely understand. You have a lot on your plate. I don't want to stress you out even more.Just do the best you can. :cat:
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Lando demando
Thanks Diane, all the info and kindness you are showing by replying is very helpful. Luckily the last two days i grabbed back a little of my sanity. This disease is a doozy!

thanks again, it is very generous of you to reply and help me.:) ( and ill take all the hugs ha!)
 
Thanks Diane, all the info and kindness you are showing by replying is very helpful. Luckily the last two days i grabbed back a little of my sanity. This disease is a doozy!

thanks again, it is very generous of you to reply and help me.:) ( and ill take all the hugs ha!)
All these diseases suck our kitties get, I lost Tyler's brother to kidney disease in Oct
He was my heart kitty, don't get me wrong I love Tyler like crazy, but Perry and I had a special bond, he loved me like no other cat I had.
Please take care of yourself ok. I'll keep in touch ♥:bighug::bighug:
@Lando demando
 
All these diseases suck our kitties get, I lost Tyler's brother to kidney disease in Oct
He was my heart kitty, don't get me wrong I love Tyler like crazy, but Perry and I had a special bond, he loved me like no other cat I had.
Please take care of yourself ok. I'll keep in touch ♥:bighug::bighug:
@Lando demando
Im sorry for your loss Diane. A special connection with a cat ( or other being) can be powerful. I understand what you mean :) i love all my guys, but some i dont understand at all ha!
 
Back
Top