Re: 9/3 Jock AMPS 69 +5 126
Ok...back with more info for you.
The vast majority of the members of this Insulin Support Group are using a dosing protocol that is based in clinical research and that has been published in leading veterinary journals. It is referred to as the Tight Regulation (TR) Protocol (or by Roomp-Rand/University of Queensland Protocol). They are the same. A modified version of the protocol and links to the formal versions are available in the Tight Regulation sticky. This approach will give Jock the best chance of going into remission or keeping his blood glucose numbers in a range that will prevent organ damage.
It is not mandatory that you follow this approach. However, you should be aware that most of us do and it is how we approach dosing decisions. As a result, we are very numbers oriented. It's great that you have already started home testing and we look forward to seeing a Spreadsheet soon.
This protocol was developed by lay people who are members of the German Diabetes-Katzen Forum. It has since been published in the Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery. In other words, there is research to support the use of this dosing protocol. The majority of cats do very well on this protocol; some cats do not. Every cat is different (ECID). Also, results do not occur overnight.
Lantus will teach you patience.
It is more time-consuming than most other protocols but still definitely doable if you work a regular full-time job. Many people here have challenging schedules.
Some important notes which I've modified since you've been at this awhile:
• Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot and +2 and then additional spot checks. More monitoring may be needed if kitty is low.
• Learn the signs of and
How to treat HYPOGLYCEMIA and
prepare a HYPO TOOLBOX.
• Test regularly for ketones and know about
DIABETIC KETOACIDOSIS (DKA).
• Are you using U-100 3/10cc syringes with half units marked on the barrel for fine dosing?
• Are you feeding a high quality low carb canned or raw food diet?
• Are you feeding small meals throughout the day or some other method of feeding?
There is a steep learning curve but we are here to help you. Important information is contained in the Stickys at the top of the Forum and are also quick linked here for you:
New to the Group-provides great, basic information ....a must read first
Tight Regulation Protocol - as discussed above
Proper Handling and Storage of Lantus/Levemir - very important as we store our insulin in the frig, do not shake, roll, warm, prefill syringes, etc.
Insulin Depot - discussion on how lantus/levemir work
Dealing with Low Preshots - very important to have on hand
How to Handle Low Numbers - also very important to have on hand
Unlike other types of insulin, Lantus and Levemir dosing is based on the nadir, or the lowest point of the cycle. Thus, you will need to test enough so you know when the nadir is. (The nadir can change.) In addition, it is important to know when Lantus or Lev “kick in” – their onset as well as how long the insulin is effective for your cat (duration). You can learn this by getting spot checks.
When you get a chance, if you could please do a profile for Jock, it would be very appreciated. We have so many kitties in LL that it helps us to review any special needs, meds, issues, etc with Jock when giving you dosing advice. The profile is quick and easy access for us. Here is the link:
Creating a Profile If you have any problems, please let me know.
You will also find a warm welcome and a community of people who are devoted to their cats and just as interested in yours and who will generously share their knowledge with you.