9-3 Gizmo AMPS=307; +5=62; +6=68; +7=62; +9=62; +9.5=105; 10=108; +11=113; PMPS=140; +3=210

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Member Since 2017
Condo - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-2-gizmo-amps-134-3-95-6-73-7-90-10-103-pmps-95.183321/

PMPS = 95
+3.75 = 115

AMPS = 307 :arghh:

Ok, so I was waiting for the bounce, but I was actually starting to believe that it might not happen. I'm wondering if it is from the 73 during yesterday's am cycle or if he dropped low last night. I debated getting up with him, but he was surfing nicely the past few cycles, so I decided against it. :banghead:

What makes it even worse is the vet wanted a curve done in the next few days and today is really the only day I'll be able to do one until next weekend.
 
Gizmo rarely comes down by +2. So hopefully that is a good sign that he will get back into better numbers soon. He is still acting like he is in lower numbers (personality wise) so that's another good sign.
 
Gizmo will clear that bounce in no time:bighug:
Uuugh on the curve!! That's frustrating...I'm sorry but hang in there.
 
ok I'm not a expert but if it were me I would give a smidge more MC and re-test in 15-20 again. 71 is too close to 68 for me so I would like to see Giz closer to the 80's.

Are you home today to keep an eye on him? We're still early in the cycle
 
:) Well done. A reducie!!
happy crazy cat.jpg
 
Ok, Gizmo wasn't done proving his point ... back to 68 at +6. Gave another tsp of MC. Up to 75 at +6.5. I'm home all day with him, so monitoring isn't a problem.

Debating between reducing to 8 units (what vet thinks he is currently on) or 8.5? I'm abandoning the curve for today because I know they will say he needs to be reduced, which I'm already aware of. Wondering if the switch to lower low carb food has anything to do with his lowering numbers?
 
Yes, switching to lower carb food would absolutely impact the numbers to go down.
We went from friskies (5% carbs) to soulistic (3% carbs). The good numbers started when we increased back to 9 units, but that was also about the time he was 50-50 on the food switch. Last night we increased to 75% soulistic and 25% Friskies and then he gets the reducie today. This is also the first time ever that I've had a difficult time getting him to stay up. The carbs don't seem like that much of a difference, but ... I can't help but wonder with the drastic difference in his numbers lately.
 
We went from friskies (5% carbs) to soulistic (3% carbs). The good numbers started when we increased back to 9 units, but that was also about the time he was 50-50 on the food switch. Last night we increased to 75% soulistic and 25% Friskies and then he gets the reducie today. This is also the first time ever that I've had a difficult time getting him to stay up. The carbs don't seem like that much of a difference, but ... I can't help but wonder with the drastic difference in his numbers lately.
He could be very carb sensitive. I know Bubba is.
 
Good to know.
Now ... should I be doing anything differently?
+9 = 62 again
Gave 2 tsp of MC gravy And 1 tsp of the meat ... he is hungry.
He really wants the reducie, so glad you are home today to monitor. Test again in 30 minutes. It's a delicate balance at this point in the cycle to boost but not sending him to the moon on a carb load.

The change in food and the depot being filled from going back up was a winning combo!
 
Recap of cycle:

AMPS = 307
+2 = 251
+3.75 = 103 (1/8 LC)
+5 = 62 (1 tsp MC)
+5.25 = 71
+5.5 = 81
+6 = 68 (1 tsp MC)
+6.5 = 75
+7 = 62 (2 tsp MC)
+7.25 = 90
+7.75 = 80
+8.25 = 89
+9 = 62 (2 tsp MC gravy + 1 tsp MC meat) - might have overdone that a bit, but he is really hungry and getting sick of me bothering him
 
He really wants the reducie, so glad you are home today to monitor. Test again in 30 minutes. It's a delicate balance at this point in the cycle to boost but not sending him to the moon on a carb load. The change in food and the depot being filled from going back up was a winning combo!
Yes, he definitely wants the reducie and he is getting it. Geesh, I've told him that already! :rolleyes::p
I probably did send him to the moon on this last feeding, but ...
 
Stubborn little guy! :eek: Looks like the depot is really full. Unless he's really bouncing by PMPS, you might want to take a. half or two thirds BCS tonight to help,drain the depot.

For future reference, you might want to start with HC if he goes low early in the cycle when the insulin action is strongest. Then taper back to MC or high LC as you get towards the end of the cycle and not as many carbs are needed to bring him up.
 
Stubborn little guy! :eek: Looks like the depot is really full. Unless he's really bouncing by PMPS, you might want to take a. half or two thirds BCS tonight to help,drain the depot.
that sounds like a plan. I'll post for advice when we get closer, but will know that is an option if no one is around.

For future reference, you might want to start with HC if he goes low early in the cycle when the insulin action is strongest. Then taper back to MC or high LC as you get towards the end of the cycle and not as many carbs are needed to bring him up.
Good to know. I didn't want to over do it, but I probably just did when I have him 3 tsp of MC at +9. He always responded so well before to just LC food.
 
+11 = 113
I think we may finally be ok. Looking like a BCS tonight to drain the depot. @Wendy&Neko said to shot 1/2 - 2/3 dose. At 9 units, that would be 4.5 units - 6 units. Thoughts on a good dose for tonight?

Planning on reducing to 8 units in the morning so that I am able to get the curve that the vet wants for when he is on 8 units. Plus with the holiday it will be harder to monitor him tomorrow.
 
Nice job today! He came right back down from that bounce :D. Exciting to see what he will do next.


Be careful, he will pull something on ya just for saying that :smuggrin::p.
Yes, he did come down quickly. I was a bit shocked, but had a feeling. It is exciting, but I'm hoping for a break tonight at least. He's a little mad at me right now.:oops: Won't even come for treats, but I am still able to get him and test as needed. He's just not as tolerant as usual. Not sure I blame him.
 
Glad you went with 6 units. I would still keep an eye on him tonight.

BTW, the depot drainer/lows today/leftover 9.0 unit depot, likely means a curve to tomorrow will not be representative of what 8.0 units can do.
 
Glad you went with 6 units. I would still keep an eye on him tonight.

BTW, the depot drainer/lows today/leftover 9.0 unit depot, likely means a curve to tomorrow will not be representative of what 8.0 units can do.
I figured that. It will be hard to do a curve tomorrow anyways, but we were going to try. Then I realized my husband is home Tuesday, so he gets the job of getting the curve. So hopefully things will have settled down by then.

Do you think I need to get a reading before +3? He seems to be heading up, but I wasn't sure.
 
Well geez, I poked my nose in this morning and saw your AMPS. I see I missed some excitement all day thereafter :woot:, nice work steering him along, hope tonight is a bit more calm surfing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top