9/3 Garland AMPS 304 +6 243 PMPS 242 +3 192 +5 159

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Garland

Member Since 2011
YESTERDAY

Last night was the first night I decided to skip the middle of the night feedings. I fed her around midnight, and again at 730. She did great with that. I left some food out for her in case she wanted to graze a little.

I tried blending the food to see if that would help her eat it better, it didnt work. She really likes it best, fresh, right out of the can. One its been sitting (or even in the fridge, she doesnt seem as interested) Ive been trying different foods to see if that helps (right now Im trying some Friskies Pate) But she really likes the gravy sliced ones (thats what she liked a lot before getting diagnosed) But she ate the FF for months now without problems. So Im not sure if the hesitation is because shes still not ready for much self feeding since getting sick, or if her taste buds have changed?

She had a great night last night and this morning is happy and purring ;) Connick is still hissing at her. I really hope this isnt a permanent thing... What if its been so long, that he forgets her forever? Once the tube comes out I want to give them both really good baths, and hopefully that will fix this... but that could still be a month from now. I hope he remembers his BFF soon....

Wow.. these numbers are getting higher and higher recently...
 
Re: 9/3 Garland AMPS 304

Is Connick jealous? I know you already have your hands full, but I try to remember to play with my civvie Ginger, as she often gives me the eye and stays in a corner like she is just the forgotten and neglected "red-headed-step-child" and she plays the sad face very well :roll:
 
Re: 9/3 Garland AMPS 304

Hes been hissing at her since the minute we brought her home from the ER. And the first 2 weeks home, I had them completely separated for the most part, so he didnt really see me giving her more attention. Its bc she smells different( bc of the vet and her meds) and her bandages have a smell too. Thats why I cant wait to scrub them both down with some kitty shampoo. That way they both smell the same and they can start to remember each other again (hopefully)
 
Re: 9/3 Garland AMPS 304

Hi Violet & Garland (and Connick, too),
It sounds like things are going pretty well despite the higher numbers. It's great that Garland is eating, even if she is picky about her food!
Have a good weekend and remember the old adage: "Every day in every way, better and better".

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: from
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/3 Garland AMPS 304

It's soooo good to see him self feeding at least some. I have one cat that will eat out of the can at any moment in time and another that, like Garland, will only eat the "fresh stuff". The picky one was also just going for gravy, but after a few meals of "no choice", he changed his tune. He's not a diabetic of sick kitty, so we didn't have anything there to contend with.

I hope those numbers stay down for you in the next few days!
 
Re: 9/3 Garland AMPS 304

If there's no appreciable change in Garland's numbers this cycle, I think it's time to increase her dose. Could you also get a ketone test today?

One thing to do before you bathe the kitties is to take a sock and rub it all over Garland. Use that sock and rub it all over Connick and then do the same thing with Garland. It's a way to transfer each of their smells to the other cat.
 
Re: 9/3 Garland AMPS 304

Because she is recovering from DKA, Garland is different than a cat just recovering from FHL. I found out yesterday that you still have to keep her calorie count up above just maintaining her weight. So don't cut back too much. Maverick loved the special kitty food over fancy feast.
 
Re: 9/3 Garland AMPS 304

Good Morning ~O)
The video of Garland was precious! I like how she was giving you some lip! As others have said, it's a smell thing with kitties. If one of my civies has been to the vet, there is always hissing from the other one.
Regarding Garlands dose, I agree with Sienne.
If todays AM cycle is anything like yesterdays cycles, I recommend you increase the dose starting with todays PM cycle.
Provided there are no problems with feeding/eating/keeping food down and you have plenty of strips and HC,increase back to 2.50u 2.75u.
Time for a BG Beat Down!
 
Re: 9/3 Garland AMPS 304

Wow, I have been gone all morning. A quick shoe shopping trip for the kids up to the outlet mall turned into a 5 hour ordeal. Its only an hour away, so we thought we would only be gone 3 hours at most, and ended up stuck in 2 hours of construction traffic UGH


Karrie and Maverick said:
Because she is recovering from DKA, Garland is different than a cat just recovering from FHL. I found out yesterday that you still have to keep her calorie count up above just maintaining her weight. So don't cut back too much. Maverick loved the special kitty food over fancy feast.

I only took out one feeding, and I upped her CC amounts of the other feeds, so shes still getting the same amount of calories per day as shes been getting. About 1.5-2 cans. Ive been looking at the Binky chart and Im a bit confused. Are all these foods low carb? Or is it just listing all foods and I pick and choose? Is there a shorter list that just has the top picks for each brand?


Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Good Morning ~O)
The video of Garland was precious! I like how she was giving you some lip! As others have said, it's a smell thing with kitties. If one of my civies has been to the vet, there is always hissing from the other one.
Regarding Garlands dose, I agree with Sienne.
If todays AM cycle is anything like yesterdays cycles, I recommend you increase the dose starting with todays PM cycle.
Provided there are no problems with feeding/eating/keeping food down and you have plenty of strips and HC,increase back to 2.50u 2.75u.
Time for a BG Beat Down!

Okay, so back to the 2.75 tonight?

Sienne and Gabby said:
If there's no appreciable change in Garland's numbers this cycle, I think it's time to increase her dose. Could you also get a ketone test today?

One thing to do before you bathe the kitties is to take a sock and rub it all over Garland. Use that sock and rub it all over Connick and then do the same thing with Garland. It's a way to transfer each of their smells to the other cat.

I can get the ketone test in a few. Ill have to try the sock trick. I feel so bad that he keeps hissing at her. He doesnt even get close enough to smell her, its a on sight thing now. I just hope its not forever...
 
Re: 9/3 Garland AMPS 304 +6 243

Violet:

great report today....and I was going to suggest the same thing Sienne did. Also...I wonder when you reintro them if a Feliway plug-in might help??

Janet and Binky's list is composed of alot of the common foods and it has the % calories from carbs so you have to pick and choose. It's great because you can pick the low carb ones for every day feeding and the med/higher carb ones for food management of the curve.

Hope you all have a great day and big hugs for you and Garland!
 
Re: 9/3 Garland AMPS 304 +6 243

Great report on Garland!! I hope the numbers come down for you but the eating is very encouraging. Have a great day!
 
Re: 9/3 Garland AMPS 304 +6 243

So when Im looking at the ones good for the everyday feedings what is the carb number I want?

Ketones negative
 
Re: 9/3 Garland AMPS 304 +6 243

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Violet:

great report today....and I was going to suggest the same thing Sienne did. Also...I wonder when you reintro them if a Feliway plug-in might help??

Janet and Binky's list is composed of alot of the common foods and it has the % calories from carbs so you have to pick and choose. It's great because you can pick the low carb ones for every day feeding and the med/higher carb ones for food management of the curve.

Hope you all have a great day and big hugs for you and Garland!

Feliway plug in?? confused_cat
 
Re: 9/3 Garland AMPS 304 +6 243

I'd aim for 5% or less carbs from the food on Binky's list. Binky's lists varying ranges of carbs so we can bring our cats up if they go low (med and high carb also).
 
Re: 9/3 Garland AMPS 304 +6 243 PMPS 242

Hello!
just stopping in to see how things are going.
Like Karrie said, for regular meals aim for 5% or under.
You'll want to make sure that the HC you select is 18% or higher. I used to use a sharpie and write "HC 18% carbs" on the top of BKs HC cans. It made it easier to find quickly and know exactly what I was feeding him.
If you see a 43 at +2 some day, you want to get your hands on the right stuff quick.

Regarding the Feliway plug in - it's like those plug in scent infusers for the home, except the solution it infuses is a synthetic kitty marking pheromone. That's supposed to keep kitties calm.
I got a couple a few months back. I have 2 civies, a male and a female, both former strays. The male is a sprayer. I believe it is helping him not spray as well as keeping things more peaceful between the two of them.
The refills are wicked expensive though.
 
Re: 9/3 Garland AMPS 304 +6 243 PMPS 242

Glad to hear the feeding schedule change has worked... now just to find a canned food she likes! Willie loves special kitty too.

We've had luck with feliway diffusers for mood as well. Right now, there is a $10 off coupon here. You can also find them online. It looks like a plug-in air freshner, but it actually releases pheremones that help to affect mood.

Hope you guys are having a great holiday weekend!
 
Re: 9/3 Garland AMPS 304 +6 243 PMPS 242

Christie & Willie said:
Glad to hear the feeding schedule change has worked... now just to find a canned food she likes! Willie loves special kitty too.

We've had luck with feliway diffusers for mood as well. Right now, there is a $10 off coupon here. You can also find them online. It looks like a plug-in air freshner, but it actually releases pheremones that help to affect mood.

Hope you guys are having a great holiday weekend!
Thank you for the coupon and kind words!!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/3 Garland AMPS 304 +6 243 PMPS 242

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Hello!
just stopping in to see how things are going.
Like Karrie said, for regular meals aim for 5% or under.
You'll want to make sure that the HC you select is 18% or higher. I used to use a sharpie and write "HC 18% carbs" on the top of BKs HC cans. It made it easier to find quickly and know exactly what I was feeding him.
If you see a 43 at +2 some day, you want to get your hands on the right stuff quick.

Regarding the Feliway plug in - it's like those plug in scent infusers for the home, except the solution it infuses is a synthetic kitty marking pheromone. That's supposed to keep kitties calm.
I got a couple a few months back. I have 2 civies, a male and a female, both former strays. The male is a sprayer. I believe it is helping him not spray as well as keeping things more peaceful between the two of them.
The refills are wicked expensive though.

Thanks for the advice with the food and plug ins!! I think I may need to get one of those... Im sad they dont get along anymore. They have been cuddle buddy BFF for 12 years.
 
That is an amazing price! Up in canada they are almost $40 plus 13% tax darnit. It helped a lot when I adopted the shelter cats.

It may be the etube though and not just the smell but these things can help. The rescue remedy - make sure its the non alcohol one if you go that route. I just put a couple drops on the palm of my hand and rubbed it on his forehead. Others can tell you how they used this.

Maybe I should send Tena a PM and ask if I can share her experience with you. Her two cats were BFF until Curry saw a cat outdoors and for some reason it made Curry upset with Sidney from that point forward.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top