9/3 Disco AMBG 30! NS./+1 50/+3 41/+6.5 68/+8.5 101/PMPS 261/+1 343/+2.5 269/+5 343/+9 265

Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

Member Since 2019
Last Condo Tues 9/1:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...5-105-10-75-98-pmps-141-1-5-250-5-316.234476/

@Wendy&Neko
@Sue and Luci
@carfurby
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

I should have been more attentive when Disco's PM +7.75 was 101, but his AMBG this morning floored me again when I got a 30 (retested immediately and got 27). Other than yelling for food a bit more aggressively (which I thought was because I was up early at 5:30am as one of my other cats is dealing with a UTI as of yesterday and I was up to check on her and give her meds). Otherwise he is acting normally.

As he was so low, I didn't wait to feed him and gave him 3 tsp of HC 21% (Weruva Grandma's Chicken Soup) but he vomited that up (he sometimes does vomit shredded food esp w/peas I now remember) when I picked him up to retest him 15-20 min later. I got a 37, and gave him 1/2cc Karo Syrup and am due to test him again in about 5 min.

I put this under 911, hoping for calming direction. I have a 9:15am PT appt and they have a $75 cancellation fee but I can take him with me and retest him in the car if need be...

Update: 50 @ +13
 
I have a 9:15am PT appt and they have a $75 cancellation fee but I can take him with me and retest him in the car if need be...
Obviously there will be no shot this morning but it depends on where he is at and how long your appointment is. Covid makes appointments longer and the depot is still in play.

Thanks, Elise. I whipped through the post quickly because I wanted to respond asap about the karo.
 
Well, my appt took about an hour by the time I got back to the car. I fed him 2 tsp LC right before my appt and again when I got back to the car. I headed home but by the time I retested him it was almost 90 minutes between tests and he was at 41. Fed him HC and retested in 30 min and he came up to 50, fed him again and at +4 he's 79. Will be retesting at +5.
 
Karo wears off faster than even hc food. He really needed that reduction. So now you have learned if you need to leave when he has been this low you need to bring him with you if at all possible. Did you leave food out? It might also be a reason to keep some dry food on hand just in case. I’ve never suggested that but it makes sense to me. Do you have a auto feeder you can set to go iff every half hour. That’s another perhaps better alternative.
 
Disco continues to earn his title of the drama king.:eek::D

Instead of evil dry food, I'd try some frozen ice cube catsicles of wet food/water together. You can do some in HC too.
 
At the 65, knowing how low Disco had gone, and going to be away an hour, I would have fed HC instead of LC. Bit of an ECID thing, but Disco likes to drop low late and sometimes is a bit tricky to get up and stay up. At home I totally would have gone with lower carb that late in the cycle.

I liked having small freezer bags of HC options - in case I needed to be away.
 
At the 65, knowing how low Disco had gone, and going to be away an hour, I would have fed HC instead of LC. Bit of an ECID thing, but Disco likes to drop low late and sometimes is a bit tricky to get up and stay up. At home I totally would have gone with lower carb that late in the cycle.

I liked having small freezer bags of HC options - in case I needed to be away.
I made one ice cube tray of LC, MC and HC today. I was ill prepared today, unlike when I take him to my moms when I go rafting or clean her house etc. I did put Disco at risk today to be sure. I do have 2 timed feeders, a 2 dish and a 5 dish style. Using the 2 dish one today would have been a great idea and for Disco HC does seem to be needed most often when he dips but I have been trying with MC, too.
 
Back
Top