9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+4(34);+9(179);PMPS(218)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy-and-Cleo

Member Since 2012
Last Cleo Condo - Dose Increase

Morning and Happy Labor Day!

I started off by accidentally sleeping in (oops). Fortunately, it was just by about half an hour, so while it did mess with Cleo's shot time, it's not the end of the world. Ironically, even with the unintentional "stall", Cleo was pretty darn low for a morning number for her. I went ahead and shot anyhow, based on my last few experiences of shooting her at a low number.

Now we're at +2.5 or so (I know, weird time to test, but she was being elusive at +2...). Anyhow, she's down to 52, so skating the edge of the "worry zone". I will be checking her again at +3 and if she's dropping still I'll be pulling out the HC food, unless one of the mentor-types is advising otherwise. Normally at this time of day she's going to be dropping for another couple hours yet, so I'm sort of anticipating a bit of a wild ride.... I guess the good part is it's a holiday Monday so I'm home with her.
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+2.5(52);+3(39)

Ok, and at +3 we're down to 39.

I gave 1 tsp. HC food with gravy. Going to retest in 20 min.
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+2.5(52);+3(39)

With the drop at +2.5, I would have given some LC. Given the +3, HC is definitely the order of the day. You're doing exactly the right thing.

In case you need them, here are the instructions for handling low numbers. I may be on and off the board so I wanted to make sure you had the info handy.
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+2.5(52);+3(39);+4(34)

Summary:

AMPS: 113
+2.5: 52
+3: 39 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+3.3: 37 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+3.6: 38 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+4: 34 (gave 1 tsp HC)

Continuing to watch closely and test every 20 and giving another 1 tsp of HC each time she remains low. At least she has a good appetite :)

She seems alert and fine, no signs of hypo, just worrying me with the low greens. Guess she's earned that dose reduction.
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+2.5(52);+3(39);+4(34)

I'd add a drop or two of Karo or honey to the HC food. It may not be HC enough. I'd like to see Cleo bumped into the 50s.
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+2.5(52);+3(39);+4(34)

We were thinking on the same page Sienne - I actually gave her a mini marshmallow with her last bit of food. I know it's kind of weird, but she really hates honey/maple syrup/karo - as I found out early on with her. However, she LOVES marshmallows... think it'll be enough or should I have a fight with her to get some syrup in her or some kind?
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+2.5(52);+3(39);+4(34)

AMPS: 113
+2.5: 52
+3: 39 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+3.3: 37 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+3.6: 38 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+4: 34 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+4.3: 36 (gave 1 tsp HC and 1 mini marshmallow)
+4.6: 40 (gave 1 tsp HC)

Updated with latest readings. I think we're past her usual nadir, so we're not fighting the insulin as much now... will try honey/maple syrup pending Sienne reply.
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+2.5(52);+3(39);+4(34)

AMPS: 113
+2.5: 52
+3: 39 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+3.3: 37 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+3.6: 38 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+4: 34 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+4.3: 36 (gave 1 tsp HC and 1 mini marshmallow)
+4.6: 40 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+5: 41 (gave 1 tsp HC and 2 drops honey)
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+2.5(52);+3(39);+4(34)

Kathy

I'd really try to bump her up and give her a couple good tsp of gravy with honey. She's been pretty low for two hours now.....and she isn't at her nadir yet and may wobble back down. She's earned a reduction already to 1.75u so I think it's important you bring her up above 50 as Sienne suggested. I really don't like to see them surfing this low....you have no margin for error.
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+2.5(52);+3(39);+4(34);+5(41)

AMPS: 113
+2.5: 52
+3: 39 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+3.3: 37 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+3.6: 38 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+4: 34 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+4.3: 36 (gave 1 tsp HC and 1 mini marshmallow)
+4.6: 40 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+5: 41 (gave 1 tsp HC and 2 drops honey)
+5.3: 41 (gave 1 tsp HC and 1 tsp ice cream)

At 5.3 I tried giving her 2 tsp HC with honey, as Marjorie suggested to get her up. She turned her nose up at it and wouldn't touch it. Put down a 2nd bowl with just 2 tsp of HC (no honey added) - she ate about half of that. Also put down a third bowl with a spoonful of ice cream in it (she loves ice cream). My kitchen floor looks like a cat smorgasbord. Unfortunately, I think even Cleo-the-bottomless-pit is getting full, as normally she doesn't turn down food at all.
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+2.5(52);+3(39);+4(34);+5(41)

Good idea on the ice cream. I'll be looking for your next number in 30 minutes.

Come up Cleo!!!
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+2.5(52);+3(39);+4(34);+5(41)

Cleo come on up! Eat some sweets and come on up, show us the 50s! What an unusual response to sleeping in a bit. Watching for her next numbers.
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+2.5(52);+3(39);+4(34);+5(41)

Trying to force myself to wait 10 more min to get closer to the +6 mark to give her some time to digest/get some of this into her bloodstream. Will post back with next reading.
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+2.5(52);+3(39);+4(34);+5(41);+6

AMPS: 113
+2.5: 52
+3: 39 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+3.3: 37 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+3.6: 38 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+4: 34 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+4.3: 36 (gave 1 tsp HC and 1 mini marshmallow)
+4.6: 40 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+5: 41 (gave 1 tsp HC and 2 drops honey)
+5.3: 41 (gave 1 tsp HC and 1 tsp ice cream)
+6: 63

HOORAY. I think the honey/ice cream did the trick! She finally came up over 50. I will check her again in 30 min. Right now she's just laying on a pile of towels, looking very cat-like.
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+2.5(52);+3(39);+4(34);+5(41);+6

bravo-7466.gif


I know you know to stay on top of it....she's had alot of HC and she obviously has a very full depot. She might come back down on you even past nadir.
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+2.5(52);+3(39);+4(34);+5(41);+6

Well done! That Cleo sure looks like Charlie's cousin. Sounds like you're taking excellent care of Cleo. We're proud of you.
All the best from us over here in Amsterdam,
Jill
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+2.5(52);+3(39);+4(34);+5(41);+6

Good progress! Hope she stays up, I am watching for her next number. Kathy nice work with the honey/ice cream :smile: .
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+2.5(52);+3(39);+4(34);+6.5(82)

AMPS: 113
+2.5: 52
+3: 39 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+3.3: 37 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+3.6: 38 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+4: 34 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+4.3: 36 (gave 1 tsp HC and 1 mini marshmallow)
+4.6: 40 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+5: 41 (gave 1 tsp HC and 2 drops honey)
+5.3: 41 (gave 1 tsp HC and 1 tsp ice cream)
+6: 63
+6.5: 82

And she's off like a rocket... I will keep checking her and posting back. Going to try to give her ears about an hour this time since we have 2 rising numbers. I'm definitely not getting complacent about her though!

Thanks for all the hand-holding and advice ladies!
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+2.5(52);+3(39);+4(34);+6.5(82)

Great job. Get a test in an hour to make sure the numbers don't meander back down.
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+3(39);+4(34);+6.5(82);+7.5(124)

AMPS: 113
+2.5: 52
+3: 39 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+3.3: 37 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+3.6: 38 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+4: 34 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+4.3: 36 (gave 1 tsp HC and 1 mini marshmallow)
+4.6: 40 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+5: 41 (gave 1 tsp HC and 2 drops honey)
+5.3: 41 (gave 1 tsp HC and 1 tsp ice cream)
+6: 63
+6.5: 82
+7.5: 124

Yeah, she's definitely up now... all that sugar and HC food is really kicking in. I'll probably get the next test at +9 to make sure she's not falling again.
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+3(39);+4(34);+6.5(82);+7.5(124)

Glad Cleo is staying up! Great job bringing her out of the low numbers and keeping a close eye on her as the HC wears off. Have a great uneventful evening!
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+3(39);+4(34);+6.5(82);+9(179)

AMPS: 113
+2.5: 52
+3: 39 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+3.3: 37 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+3.6: 38 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+4: 34 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+4.3: 36 (gave 1 tsp HC and 1 mini marshmallow)
+4.6: 40 (gave 1 tsp HC)
+5: 41 (gave 1 tsp HC and 2 drops honey)
+5.3: 41 (gave 1 tsp HC and 1 tsp ice cream)
+6: 63
+6.5: 82
+7.5: 124
+9: 179

She just keeps on climbing... oh well, at this point I'm much happier to see increasing numbers rather than decreasing!

Thanks Leslie and congrats to you and Jasper on the OTJ :) So great to see!
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+3(39);+4(34);+6.5(82);+9(179)

If Cleo's numbers continue to climb and are in the pinks by PMPS, you can "shoot through the bounce." In other words, shoot your old, 2.0u dose. You can then reduce the dose to 1.75u tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 9/3 - Cleo - AMPS (113);+3(39);+4(34);+6.5(82);+9(179)

Thanks Sienne, I remember last time Cleo earned a dose reduction (ironically that one was from 1.75 back down to 1.5) that was an issue. This time she was only at 218 for PMPS so I went ahead and did the dose reduction for the evening shot, so I only shot 1.75U.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top