9/29 - Wally - AMPS=240,+2=269,+7=56,+8=65,+9=75,PMPS=137,+2=237,+9=77

Ginger Cat

Member Since 2017
I had upped his insulin from 1.75 to 2 units this a.m. Came back from the vet (with one of my other cats) and Wally was asking for food. Figured I'd check his BG. Down to 56 (on an AlphaTrak)! Fed him LC FF because I want to see if he'll come up without high carbs. He ate well which is good since he really hadn't had much of an appetite this morning.

I almost didn't up his dosage this a.m. because he'd dropped nicely from his PM+6 of 446 to a 240 AMPS, but I figured I'd follow the TR protocol.

This boy keeps me on his toes.
 
Nice nadir though. Hope the other kitty is good.
My other boy, Indiana Jones, 18 years old, has lymphoma and was in for a check-up. His blood work shows that he may be having kidney disease so I have to get a urine sample. The good news is that his mass hasn't grown in size, he's already outlived expectations and gained weight. His creatinine and BUN levels were elevated. He's been on pred for almost 11 months, although we've got him down to a dose every 4 days, along with Cerenia. He's happy and that's what matters.
 
He's up to 75; Hopefully he'll continue to go up or it's going to be a long night.
 
Last edited:
If you can stay up and monitor and have supplies, I would shoot. Sorry about your civvie. It usually moves slower when older. Prednisolone helped one of mine who was only 10 at diagnosis but a careless oncologist didn’t catch a uti. It’s important to treat any infection
 
Okay = He's PMPS=137. So he's getting 1.75 and I'll stay up for another 3+ hours to check and then take it from there.

And he's eating much better tonight so I know he'll have a food reserve in his system.
 
Last edited:
The +2 should give you a clue as to whether it will be a late night.
He's up to 237 +2. Will take another reading in an hour and hopefully it's still going up vs. down so I can get some sleep tonight.

PM +3 = 181 so he's going down....
 
Last edited:
I hope it doesn’t go up any more. It looks like you will be able to sleep though. I’m a little concerned that she started about the same this morning but the nadir was so low. I would leave out food if you go to bed at +3.
 
I hope it doesn’t go up any more. It looks like you will be able to sleep though. I’m a little concerned that she started about the same this morning but the nadir was so low. I would leave out food if you go to bed at +3.
Wally is a boy. :cat:
 
I hope it doesn’t go up any more. It looks like you will be able to sleep though. I’m a little concerned that she started about the same this morning but the nadir was so low. I would leave out food if you go to bed at +3.
And I can't leave food out as my other cats would eat it before he did... If I get up in the middle of the night, I'll retest and offer him more food.
 
Back
Top