9/29 River PMPS:247 +2:173 +4:86

Status
Not open for further replies.

Picknickchick

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Pretty much the same. In good spirits, but tired, and some congestion.
I hope the increase helps.

I only like to share happy things, but
I am afraid of my cat getting ketosis again.
You know how some people say they're going to send prayers for whoever needs them. If possible, I would like to be included at this point.


 
Re: 9/29 River AMPS:479 +2:380

You got them! Sending tons of prayers, positive thoughts, and healing vines for you and River. I hope that this new dose will help to settle the #s down for you both. Try and have a good day. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/29 River AMPS:479 +2:380

((Lara)), I'm sorry you're worried about River getting ketosis again. I hope he isn't.
Sending tons of vines his way!!!

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/29 River AMPS:479 +2:380

Hi Lara,
I hope the increased dose will help and that River will be feeling better. I missed a bunch of condos last week so don't know what is bothering River. Have you seen your vet? If you are worried, a trip to the vet may indeed be in order. Sending lots of healing vines to River.

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/29 River AMPS:479 +2:380

Tons and tons of vines for you and River! ((((Lara)))) Do you have ketostix to check for ketones in the urine? You can use the human version and they are not expensive. They are available at pharmacies in the US. I don't know about Canada.
Liz
 
Re: 9/29 River AMPS:479 +2:380

Yes, I am checking for ketones, and even when I'm not worried about them, I check.
He's not in DKA right now; if he were he'd be back in the emergency hospital.
It just that I want to prevent him from going into DKA ever again if I can possibly help it.
That's why my condos last week kept saying I was worried about his dosing and organ damage.

I am in the process of trying to find a competent vet. So far they've done more harm than good, and had I followed the advice of some of them, my cat wouldn't be here today.
But I've found that the people here are far more knowledgeable, helpful and caring than any vet I have met so far in this city,
so thank you!
 
Re: 9/29 River AMPS:479 +2:380 +4:324

I hear you about DKA. Been there; done that and don't want to do it again, either. Have you been in touch with Randi/Max about vets? She's in Montreal. I can have her stop by if you've not already been in touch with her.

A couple of thoughts and observations. Today, you're seeing a bounce off of last night's numbers. It looks like River is turning those numbers around already which is a good thing! Bounces are frustrating but a part of the process.

Aside from the bouncing and waiting for bounces to clear, I would encourage you to evaluate River's dose every 3 days. You don't want to stick with a dose that's not bringing the nadirs into the range that you want. It is really hard to sort out whether to hold the dose vs. increase when bounces are in the picture. The best info I can give you is to try to avoid increasing when a bounce is breaking. Otherwise, it can be a wild time of testing and trying to steer the curve into safe numbers.
 
Re: 9/29 River AMPS:479 +2:380 +4:324

Thanks, Sienne. I should have reached out to you during the past week as I kept feeling like things weren't right, and I was wondering about the dosage. I don't want to be needy but I'd risk being a PITA to avoid DKA. I'm not yet a good enough judge of what is going on beyond the obvious.

I have heard from Randi. She's lovely, and recommended her vet, who I'm going to take my cat to in a couple of weeks; it was the first appt. I could get.
 
Re: 9/29 River AMPS:479 +2:380 +4:324

(((Lara)))
Sending lots and lots of vines and prayers to River.
I hope the new dose will turn things around for you both.
I'm glad to hear that you found a new vet. :smile:
 
Re: 9/29 River AMPS:479 +2:380 +4:324

sending healing thoughts to River! hope the new dose kicks in and your both better soon ((hugs))
 
Re: 9/29 River AMPS:479 +2:380 +4:324

Oh, Lara, I feel so bad for you and the stress it is causing. I send you comfort. I would hold you and rock you if I could. Try to imagine.

donaleen
 
Re: 9/29 River AMPS:479 +2:380 +4:324 +6:400

Oh ((Lara)),
I am sorry it's not getting easier.
I keep sending very strong vines and positive thoughts.

I just had a thought....
Going back to the basic, how old is your Lantus, and have you checked very closely for any floaties?
I just thought of it because I have had start a new cartridge yesterday. (<-- totally my fault).

The very first cartridge I used during the fist time around in 2011 ended up having some floaties, probably because I used to push excess Lantus back into the it.
I'm sure you don't do such thing now, but since them I check check check! as those floaties were very hard to see.
 
Re: 9/29 River AMPS:479 +2:380 +4:324 +6:400

I read about your Lantus "leftover" yesterday Mariko - poor you!
I think my vial is okay. I started it on September 9. But I'm going to examine it now.
If he doesn't come down this evening, I will get another vial.
 
Re: 9/29 River AMPS:479 +2:380 +4:324 +6:400

Sorry River is still so high. Isn't Lantus available over the counter there and cheap as well? Lucky you.

We are having the leftovers of a typhoon here with lots of rain and wind. We even got water in our basement, which never happens. And the worst is still to come (later today).

Thinking of you.
donaleen
 
Re: 9/29 River AMPS:479 +2:380 +4:324 +6:400

I sort of figured that by running the entire range of colors from black to green yesterday, River would be bouncing today.

On the ketone thing...
Completely understand your fear, Lara. Like others, been there, done that, and never want to go there again. Bob started with that before his first insulin shot, and I was extremely fortunate they never showed up again. I keep going back to the "ketone recipe" though... Usually, but not in every case, it's a combo of
Insufficient insulin
Insufficient food
and some sort of infection

I don't think the insulin is an issue. He's had a couple of bouncy cycles, but looking at the last couple of weeks of the SS, he's had great responses to 2.75u and 3.0u doses.
His appy isn't off, is it? He's still eating well?
Does he seem hydrated? Have you been adding water to his food?
So that leaves "infection". Any indication that he might have something going on in that respect?

As long as you keep testing for ketones, you'll have an "advanced warning system" in place. Keep us and the vet up to date. If you see ketones, don't hesitate at all to get him checked out. Have you done sub-q fluids in the past? It might just take some added fluids and/or some ABs if there's something going on.

You aren't at risk of being a PITA. :smile: Don't be afraid to use your subject line like a magnet to draw people to your condo. Everybody who comes to LL every day is here to help each other out. But due to the vast number of new condos every day, it isn't really easy to see who might need eyes. Your "headline" is a good tool for that.
 
Re: 9/29 River AMPS:479 +2:380 +4:324 +6:400

(((((Lara)))))
Just wanted to send you and River feel better vines and :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/29 River AMPS:479 +2:380 +4:324 +6:400

Hi Lara,
I saw in the River's SS that his PMPS is an yellow number.
That's great, isn't it? It's a good progress.
Praying he'll come down to blue tonight.
Take care of yourself, Lara.
 
Re: 9/29 River PMPS:247 +2:173

Hi Mariko, I didn't want to post that he was doing better too quickly, because this afternoon he dipped below 20 mmol/L for a bit, but then shot up again nailbite_smile so I was being cautious, and not tempting the BG gods.

But his +2 is blue, so I am so relieved.

Thank you everyone for helping. In the last few days, when he went high and stayed there, and was starting to act sick again, the feelings came back of the six months I spent watching him languish and his health drain out of him, helpless to help him. And then the ketones, and then the hypo. I'm still a bit raw from all that, I think. Or hyper-vigilant.


Thank you again.
Angela
Josie
Ella
Liz
Sienne
Mariko
Michele
Donaleen (we will we will rock you)
Carl
Pam
...and Randi contacted me and said she peeked in as well.

And what is it with all the DKA? Poor Donaleen and I have been sick with worry, and there's two 911s about ketosis on the board at the moment.
Every time I see the word ketones my stomach turns over.
 
Re: 9/29 River PMPS:247 +2:173

I was thinking the same thing, Lara.

Those are three of the ugliest letters in our glossary. On the bright side, I picked a good night to be around. There has to be a reason for "been there, done that".
 
Re: 9/29 River PMPS:247 +2:173

I appreciate you explaining why River is probably not in danger of ketones. That helped quite a bit!
Because since the DKA, every time I grab a stick to test him, which is a few times a week, my stomach knots up.
Maybe I can let it go a bit now, fingers crossed!
 
Re: 9/29 River PMPS:247 +2:173

Picknickchick said:
I appreciate you explaining why River is probably not in danger of ketones. That helped quite a bit!
Because since the DKA, every time I grab a stick to test him, which is a few times a week, my stomach knots up.
Maybe I can let it go a bit now, fingers crossed!
Nothing at all bad about being diligent. Just try to not let it make you ill. You're on top of it, Lara.
 
Re: 9/29 River PMPS:247 +2:173

OMG. I used to wish I was Brian May :lol:
My fingers bled learning how to play that solo. Ah youth...
 
Re: 9/29 River PMPS:247 +2:173

Wow. I pick the "then" version, but both are great. Wish I knew how he tuned it to be able to play whole chords with just his thumb.
 
Re: 9/29 River PMPS:247 +2:173

Hi Lara,
I am so glad River's in blue now.
I understand you being caution, Lara.
It's really tiring to be sad, happy, sad and happy and sad, the emotional ups and downs.

Feel better, Lara. :YMHUG:
Maybe play some calming music.... get your heart some rest.
 
Yes, this emotional roller coaster is difficult. But YOU have an 86. Whoopeeeeeee!!! enjoy it. Celebrate it. Be happy about it.

donaleen
 
Thanks so much, Mariko, Carl, Carla and Donaleen!
I hope Ozy is feeling better, and climbing down, and Lucy and Mlle. Furball are doing well.
As for me I'm going to...*zzz*
Sweet dreams, everybody.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top