9/29 Olive PMPS 540 :(

OlivesMom

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ich-is-better-tr-or-slgs.236049/#post-2646215

Decided it was time to try Olive on a higher dose of insulin so we bumped it up a bit. We didn't want to switch the caliper calibrations just yet in case we need to go back to the 0.50 so we eyeballed it. Between the both of us we were shaking our heads if she'd gotten a FAT 0.50 or a SKINNY 0.75. It was too close. But whatever the amount, we are sticking with it for the next week unless her numbers dictate otherwise.

Olive's been doing great this morning. Vocalizing like crazy as she gets this burst of energy that causes her to fly through the house like her tails on fire as she's doing it. It's a beautiful sight!:) We haven't seen her run like this in YEARS! First thing she did while I was prepping her food was scent mark everything.
 
She went from 206+2 to 77+3. I always feed her at +3 so fed her the usual FHC mix but I also added 1/4 tsp of pumpkin for a little added carbs since her FHC mix is only a 50/50 ratio of Raw to DM. She hasn't been this low on a long time so I thought a little extra carbs at this point knowing she's a long ways from the nadir still was warranted. Will watch her closely. Any suggestions at this point?
 
I would grab a +4 if you can to see if she has steadied out a bit. Those zoomies give her exercise points and use up some sugar :p
 
Also, if you are SLGS, this is an earned reduction. It does take a few days for the new food mixtures to show results. Also looks like a bounce breaking to me.
 
I would grab a +4 if you can to see if she has steadied out a bit. Those zoomies give her exercise points and use up some sugar :p
I just grabbed a +3.5 too. I know, I always overkill on testing, but it makes me feel better knowing where she's at when she gets lower than normal. She's 72 after eating +3. I didn't even think about those zoomies using up some sugar. Thank you!
Also, if you are SLGS, this is an earned reduction
She's SLGS. Do you mean if she was on TR it would be an earned reduction? This is only her 2nd cycle on the new insulin bump. She's been on this food ratio for I'm thinking over a week now. I wrote it down in my remarks. She was at a higher amount of the DM for weeks, but we wanted to walk her slowly off it and find a raw equivalent. The turkey she's on is only 0.04% carbs. We want to keep her on the turkey but also want to remove the DM from her diet and get her on raw duck in the DM's place because it contains the same amount of carbs but is so much healthier for her than bi-products/soy/ect. So she'd be on the same FHC/LHC mix, just with duck in place of the DM.

I just looked. I started the new ratio on the 26th. Seemed like so much longer ago. lol.
 
Last edited:
On SLGS, anything under 90 is an automatic .25 reduction.

The drop is a little slower, but you could feed just some DM to raise her up a bit and give a little more carbs for later in the cycle? I’m not sure of the DM carb %. The food change was only a few days ago, so you may be seeing the results from it today.
 
TR reduction is under 50 for new diabetics and a little different for long term diabetics. Hence, a more aggressive method wanting more greens and more testing.
 
On SLGS, anything under 90 is an automatic .25 reduction.
Oh, ok. I think I've got too much information floating around in my head now and I'm mixing things up. Ha! So she goes right back to the 0.50 for the PM shot then, right?
I’m not sure of the DM carb %. The food change was only a few days ago, so you may be seeing the results from it today.
That's one thing I'm trying to get accustomed to is how something that happened 3 days ago is just now catching up. When I called the Purina Vet Line (1-800-879-1266) for anyone who wants the phone number, they said the Purina DM was 7.14% carbs in an entire 5.5ounce can. Olive only eats about half a can in 24 hours since it's mixed with raw. Duck is 2.8% carbs for 3-4 nuggets so it should be just the right amount once we make the total switch. The good news is the duck I ordered came in today so I'll begin adding a pinch here and there just to make certain she gets transitioned with no issues. So she'll be on the DM a little while more.
I need to take a nap as I am doing an overnight shift tonight. I’ve tagged a few people to see if they can keep an eye out for you
Thank you for the help. Have a good nap!
 
I see your +4. Did you feed a little?

I’ll wait till someone arrives :)

Do you happen to have any higher carb food? Medium carb is between 10-16% and high carb is usually over 20% with some gravy. Also, in case you might need it later, and for information, do you have Karo syrup or honey on hand?
 
Last edited:
Hi. Please start adding your test results to the title. I’m going to look at your spreadsheet and get caught up on this and your previous condo
 
Olive is letting you know she needs smaller increases. She’s earned a reduction according to SLGS. As long as she stays over 50 this will still be a nice cycle for her. I always switched the calipers. You can fill a syringe with the old dose so you can measure easily if you need to return to the old dose.
 
I see your +4. Did you feed a little?

I’ll wait till someone arrives :)

Do you happen to have any higher carb food? Medium carb is between 10-16% and high carb is usually over 20% with some gravy. Also, in case you might need it later, and for information, do you have Karo syrup or honey on hand?
You need to get some sleep in before work. I'll be okay. I feel bad that you're missing out on sleep. She ate a tsp FHC mix +4 and retested + 4.5 and she's 71. So she's holding pretty steady. I fed her 3tsp of the FHC mix and she ate it with gusto. I always know she's ready for food when she follows me to the fridge.
Do you happen to have any higher carb food? Medium carb is between 10-16% and high carb is usually over 20% with some gravy. Also, in case you might need it later, and for information, do you have Karo syrup or honey on hand?
I have bottles of honey in various rooms. Lol. Karo syrup in cupboard. No medium carb food that I'm giving that I'm aware of. The analysis is confusing. But I do have Friskies packets in gravy for my HC food.
Olive is letting you know she needs smaller increases. She’s earned a reduction according to SLGS. As long as she stays over 50 this will still be a nice cycle for her. I always switched the calipers. You can fill a syringe with the old dose so you can measure easily if you need to return to the old dose.
And a smaller increase it shall be. I'm loving that she's holding steady right now. As long as she's high enough to shoot safely later (6 hours from now). The lowest I've shot is 130 and she did well. That's a great idea about filling the syringe with the old dose. I just pushed the plunger up to the mark I'd filled it to and then put it in a baggie and wrote down the date and IU amount on it.
 
Don't panic and overdo the feeding. Just tsp of normal food. The longer in the greens the more they get use to it. Am I understanding from post above this is +6 hrs from shot?
 
Don't panic and overdo the feeding. Just tsp of normal food. The longer in the greens the more they get use to it. Am I understanding from post above this is +6 hrs from shot?
I can’t tell as last test on ss was +3.5. Are you able to stay with Robyn?
 
Don't panic and overdo the feeding. Just tsp of normal food. The longer in the greens the more they get use to it. Am I understanding from post above this is +6 hrs from shot?
Yes, she's +6 hours from shot time.I just retested and she's now 91. I wanted to feed her one more time at the FHC ratio so that's why I fed her at +5.5. I'll feed her the LHC mix from here on out. Would be nice to get her used to the greens but looks like she's beginning to rise. I'm trying to get weight on her so she eats 3tsp at a time regardless as she eats about every 2-3 hours depending, just to get enough food in by days end.
Please add tests as you get them to your title.
I'm updating that as I go along.
I just realized I had placed +4 into the +3 slot so I corrected that. Sorry.
Olive is on the rise so you guys can help other people. Thank you for being there!
 
I'm updating that as I go along.
Hi Olives Mom - Elise means update your post title (and your SS). This way it's super easy for the helpers to scan your title on the forum without opening your SS, especially when if they are helping more than one kitty. So your title would look like this: "9/29 Olive AMPS 329,+2 206,+3 77,+3.5 72,+4 73,+4.5 71,+5 91" - when you get to PMPS, you erase your daytime data and start with PMPS. If you have a question, you can erase all of your data (I cut and paste mine to notes on my mac) and put up your question; when your question is answered, take it down and put your data back up :) Just wanted to attempt an explanation now that you are on the other side of that lagoon trip :) Hope that helps :bighug:There's a bit of info here on posts format (incase you don't have enough reading material ;)).

Congrats on the safe lagoon trip :D
 
Yes only lc until next shot. Changing calipers is easy. If you write down the setting for each dose you just have to zero out old and set the number.

0.5 = ?
0.75 = ?
1 unit= ?
1.5 unit = ?

My list goes from 0.25 to 9 units (her highest dose) and some micro mini doses in between. So I could just look and set to dose at the time, took 2 seconds.
 
Just wanted to attempt an explanation now that you are on the other side of that lagoon trip :) Hope that helps
Oh, I see. I changed the title. It'll take me a little why to get accustomed to changing the way I do things. Makes a lot of sense though.
Changing calipers is easy. If you write down the setting for each dose you just have to zero out old and set the number
Normally I'd agree with you, it should be as easy as closing it, zeroing it out, and we'd be off and running, but the first caliper we bought was a total dud which is what messed Olive up to begin with. So we'd rather buy another caliper and set that one to this good one's setting of 0.05 and once we know both calipers are on the same page, then we can increase on the new one to the new insulin amount. With the original caliper it would say it was a half unit when it clearly was over a unit and so forth and so forth. It was as inaccurate as it gets. Then it would say we were at a half dose when the caliper arm hadn't even opened up enough to slide 2 pieces of paper between it. So when it said she was at 0.01 we thought it was. Only to find out that was actually closer to the 0.50 mark once we got the new caliper that actually worked.
Congrats on the safe lagoon trip :D
Thanks so much. Hopefully she'll get lost on that island again soon.;)
 
Hang in there :bighug: Olive had a great day and you did excellent guiding her in those healing numbers! That extended run in the lagoon was new! Hoping she clears the bounce quickly but it can take up to 6 cycles...and, of course, hoping it takes less :bighug:
 
Back
Top