9/29 Lion - dosing advice needed

Lion

Member Since 2021
Hi everyone!

I have finally held Lion steady at 1.5 for a full week. As you can see he bounces all over the place with (generally) the evening curve being lower than the daytime curve.

According to SLGS I would hold the dose.

According to TR – I would increase the dose?

I would very much like to get his highs out of the 400s.

My vet has recommended the next step is to try 1.75 in the morning and hold at 1.50 in the evening. Awhile back someone on this board posted their kitty had cycles similar to this and it worked for them.

Overall, I’d just like some input and feedback. I’m very frustrated that his highs often go so high, but in the past when I tried to increase he would start dropping way too low.

Thank you!
 
Why do vets say to give different doses night and day? Makes no sense. Lantus likes consistency. TR will get you to better numbers faster. If you choose to follow TR I would increase to 1.75 both cycles. The bouncing happens from not being used to more normal numbers. The more time spent under 100 the less bouncing. With SLGS you reduce if under 90. You only had one cycle with nadirs under 150.
 
I got tagged in the Health post so followed you over here. If Lion was my cat, I'd go up to 1.75 both AM and PM and switch to TR.

He was getting much better mid-cycle numbers when he was on the 1.75 dose before and the sooner you can get him into "healing" numbers (50-120 on a human meter which the Libre is), the more likely you are to get him into remission....and even if remission isn't in the picture, you want to keep him in better numbers as much as possible to reduce the strain on his internal organs, especially his kidneys. Pretty much all cats over about 10 have some degree of kidney disease already and it's one of the top reasons that all cats pass away.

Since you are using the Libre and have so much data, there's no reason to leave him in higher numbers. As long as you're testing, YOU are in control of his blood glucose. In all the years I've been here, I've never seen a cat that needed to go to an ER due to hypoglycemia that was being tested often (other than a couple that were accidentally double dosed).

As long as you have all the supplies you need (high carb food, Karo/honey/syrup), there's no reason to be scared. Yes, they can be nerve-wracking at first, but as Elise says, those lovely dark green numbers soon become very addicting. (if you don't believe me, check out China's spreadsheets....LOL)

I also understand you're young so it seems like a lot of responsibility, but I really do think Lion deserves to at least try TR. You can always go back to SLGS if it just doesn't feel right to you. You're never locked in to one or the other.
 
I got tagged in the Health post so followed you over here. If Lion was my cat, I'd go up to 1.75 both AM and PM and switch to TR.

Thank you. We will move over to TR.

Sadly, I'm not young, I'm in my 50s, my brain is just not working well because I am frozen with fear. I can read legal documents for work, but when I try to read TR its like my brain is not absorbing it well!

So: Decrease dose if nadiars 50 (or 100 for the week).
Increase dose if nadiars are 200
Hold x to x ?

I will re-read this after work today. Something is just not gelling in my brain. Thank you.
 
So: Decrease dose if nadiars 50 (or 100 for the week).
Increase dose if nadiars are 200
Hold x to x ?
Decrease by 0.25U if he drops below 50.
Increase the dose to 2U in 3 days (6 cycles) if you don't see nadirs below 200.

Feel free to post here and ask for dosing help at any time. :-)
 
I know! I'm just someone that likes to understand the big picture.

When do we hold the dose? When the nadirs are 51 to 198 ?

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.

When Lion starts to have his nadirs between 100-200 regularly, you will hold it for 4-5 days before increasing. I believe this will get his body used to the lower numbers and less likely to bounce when he gets into the healthy range.

After that 4-5 days in blue numbers, you would increase .25U every 3-4 days until you see green nadirs regularly. You hold the dose when nadirs are regularly in the healthy range: 50-100. That's the dose you hold until his BG tells you it's time to change.
 
I think you will be happy with the switch to art. You aren’t old. Many of us would love to see 50’s again, lol. There’s a lot to absorb. Don’t try and do it all at once. Just start by keeping Lion safe which you will do by reading a little at a time, posting, and asking questions. The stickies at the top of this forum are a great place to start and are organized by topic. We all were overwhelmed at first.

On this forum we start a new post(known as condos) daily. You can read about it here.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/posting-guidelines-please-read.231511/
 
Back
Top