9/29 Katmandu PMPS 84 +1 90 +2 80 +3 58 +3.5 54 +4 55

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sonia & Tom (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=80014

Mandu wanted out of his room around 5:30 this morning. Wanted to explore. Run. Purr. Feeling well I suppose!
Nice run into the greens last night and this morning. No shot again. Am home all day so may get a few tests just to see where he goes without a shot.

He has been here for a week today. He has had no shot in the morning for the last 4 days. Is that odd that he needs an evening shot only?
 
Re: 9/29 Katmandu AM 70 - no shot & question

Sonia:

I wouldn't say he doesn't "need" an AM shot. I thought you were skipping because you weren't home to test. What I'd suggest is that you lower Mandu's dose to 0.25u so you can shoot twice a day. There are any number of cats who, for whatever reason (usually because of diet) are started on too high of a dose. Once they are on a better diet or there's a more attentive caregiver as in a situation like yours, the numbers start to fall into place. Often, that will mean lower pre-shot numbers and it's not safe to shoot. Given the lack of history with your foster, shooting low when you're not there to monitor would be unwise. IMHO, lowering the dose so you are able to give Mandu's pancreas consistent support will keep him moving in a good direction.
 
Re: 9/29 Katmandu AM 70 - no shot & question

I couldn't agree more with Sienne :smile: Looking at the SS, there's tons of potential. I say try the 0.25u and see if it gets even better.

Good luck! Happy Caturday, Sonia.
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/29 Katmandu AM 70 - no shot + 14.5 102

Sienne and Gabby said:
Sonia:

I wouldn't say he doesn't "need" an AM shot. I thought you were skipping because you weren't home to test. What I'd suggest is that you lower Mandu's dose to 0.25u so you can shoot twice a day. There are any number of cats who, for whatever reason (usually because of diet) are started on too high of a dose. Once they are on a better diet or there's a more attentive caregiver as in a situation like yours, the numbers start to fall into place. Often, that will mean lower pre-shot numbers and it's not safe to shoot. Given the lack of history with your foster, shooting low when you're not there to monitor would be unwise. IMHO, lowering the dose so you are able to give Mandu's pancreas consistent support will keep him moving in a good direction.

I didn't think I should shoot a 70. Certainly did not feel comfortable doing so. Thanks for the advice and support guys. Really appreciate it. Will see where we go today and tomorrow. I am home then too.
 
Re: 9/29 Katmandu AM 70 - no shot + 14.5 102

I agree with Sienne, too, and would try to take advantage of the weekend to see what 0.25 BID will do. I know you already skipped this morning, so let's see what his PM numbers look like. Hopefully, the 0.25 twice a day will work out better for you.
 
Re: 9/29 Katmandu AM 70 - no shot + 14.5 102 +16 112

Sonia - you get a new toy and you BREAK IT? You're so rough with your toys.... ;-) It does look like he's headed that way! I 'third, fourth or fifth' Sienne's suggestion...how you all measure .25 units I don't know.

BIG HUG!!!
 
Re: 9/29 Katmandu AM 70 - no shot + 14.5 102 +16 112

Squeaky and KT said:
Sonia - you get a new toy and you BREAK IT? You're so rough with your toys.... ;-) It does look like he's headed that way! I 'third, fourth or fifth' Sienne's suggestion...how you all measure .25 units I don't know.

BIG HUG!!!

:lol: Thanks!
 
Re: 9/29 Katmandu AM 70 - no shot + 14.5 102 +16 112 +18 90

Somebody has good number, is feeling good and is snooping everywhere around the house.
We have also discovered the back windows where you can see the bird feeder aka the cat entertainment centre :-D
 
Re: 9/29 Katmandu AM 70 - no shot + 14.5 102 +16 112 +18 90

Hmm, numbers seem to be coming down on their own. I think Lyressa's right, the new toy is broken. :lol: Good luck with the new dose tonight.

Thanks for visiting my condo this morning. I hope Katmandu is enjoying the entertainment centre.
 
Re: 9/29 Katmandu PMPS 84! Shoot?!?

Listening to advice and shooting lower dose 0.25 or maybe a little less like 0.08754865

Very nervous about shooting this low. AND my Internet is down and have to use DH's phone.
 
Re: 9/29 Katmandu PMPS 84! Shoot?!?

Well, you'll be shooting a lower dose of 0.25. I think you should go for it, as long as you'll be around to watch him, he's eating fine, and you have plenty of strips, supplys, and HC on hand. How do you feel? It's up to you.
 
Re: 9/29 Katmandu PMPS 84! Shoot?!?

Dyana said:
Well, you'll be shooting a lower dose of 0.25. I think you should go for it, as long as you'll be around to watch him, he's eating fine, and you have plenty of strips, supplys, and HC on hand. How do you feel? It's up to you.

I shot. I'm home, have all the supplies and who needs sleep anyway ? I thought about what all of you said. His pancreas is sputtering but it's working and just needs a little help. Want to do what's best.
 
Re: 9/29 Katmandu PMPS 84! Shoot?!?

NIce shooting! :mrgreen: The TR protocol leads to plenty of practice shooting low numbers, scary at times nailbite_smile but that's how it works. You may see Mandu's numbers flatten out on a sustained steady insulin level vs shooting every other cycle and depleting in between. Hope you both have a great evening!
 
Re: 9/29 Katmandu PMPS 84 +1 90 +2 80

He had a good dinner and got up to eat again after I tested. Will test again in an hour.

DD and I came up with a new nickname for him today, after noticing how heavily he rolls and crashes on the ground when he acts silly:
Crashmandu. :lol:
 
Re: 9/29 Katmandu PMPS 84 +1 90 +2 80 +3 58 feed?

He had some LC 4% with a little MC 12% for dinner. Should I break out something higher?
 
Re: 9/29 Katmandu PMPS 84 +1 90 +2 80 +3 58 feed?

I wouldn't yet. I would feed LC and see he he'll get on a surfboard. Test in 30 min. to see if the numbers have flattened out. If he's still dropping, then give some HC.
 
Re: 9/29 Katmandu PMPS 84 +1 90 +2 80 +3 58 +3.5 54 + 4 55

I didn't feed, he was crashed comfortably on the couch with DH.
Numbers are pretty flat. He just got up after his test to go to his room. Will see if he's eating.

I'll test again in an hour to be sure.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top