9/29 Josie AMPS 148 PMPS 179 A.T

Status
Not open for further replies.

eccentricfuzzyme

Member Since 2011
Josies number is really low this morning, only 148, on the alpha trak metre.
Should I give her a lower dose, or no dose at all.
I can wait a few hours and re check, but i cant push her nightly shot time more than maybe 30 minutes.
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

Hi guys .. I don't want to give out any dosing advice because I don't feel comfortable with that, but if you could change the candle icon over to the question icon that might be better .. generally the candle is used when a kitty has passed ..
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

You shot a 148 at night on 9/22. How long can you be there this morning to test her?

Also....we only use the candle icon for kitties who have crossed the Rainbow Bridge and are no longer with us.
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

no dose advice but also just wanted to mention to remove the candle it freaked me seeing this thinking the worst
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

To change the candle, just click the 'edit' button in your ORIGINAL post and click on the 'Question' instead of the candle. Then hit 'submit'. I have a feeling you were going for the 911 icon...
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

Angela: thanks.....so what you think? If you can be there a few hours to stall, you could test and if she's low, you could leave out HC food.....or will the other cats eat it?
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

i changed the icon. sorry, but it isnt labeled or anything, i had no way to know that is what it is meant for.
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

Angela: on the icon...IT'S OK!!! I just didn't want anyone to think anything had happened.

We're here to help....Julie and I are around. Pls let us know what you are comfortable doing.
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

WEell I can wait about 2 hours to test again, but could only push her nighttime shot by about 1 hour at the most and dont know if that would be too close together.
I can be home oncce more during the day later to test, or in the evening, but I am almost out of my AT strips and am afraid to use them up before I get a new metre and strips, sicne I need to make sure i have enough to always test pre shot at least.
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

So you have a couple options considering the test strips:

1. stall and see if she comes up and then shoot your regular dose
2. shoot a reduced dose now
3. skip

I really don't see option 3 as a good option as you want to keep up her momentum and she will most likely rise as she did on the other skipped shot. Options 1 and 2 will probably have similar results since stalling is like shooting a reduced dose. Option 1 puts you behind schedule. IMHO, I would not stall AND shoot a reduced dose as that is a double whammy on the reduction.

It's your call as to whether you want to shoot a reduced dose now and have a couple of hours to test before you leave and then come back or whether you want to stall; if you do stall, you still need to be able to test. It's important to know that because of carryover, you may very well still see lower numbers for options 1 and 2.....and 3 as well but she won't have any insulin on board so she may stay low for a bit but she won't hypo.
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

I think I would rather give a lower dose now and hope it all evens out by nighttime. Her normal dose is 2, should I give 0.5, or 1 Do you think?
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

You gave her a half dose on 9/22 (normal dose was 3u and you shot 1.5u). I definitely would not give her less than a half dose so in this case, 1u.

Again...it's your comfort level. You know how many strips you have and how much time you have to test. How would you feel about giving her 1.5u? Can you get in a couple tests and then come back and test a little later?
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

If it were me, I'd go with 1.0u. However, if you do not have strips, I am hesitant to suggest anything other than perhaps skipping and using your mid-day break to get a meter that uses less expensive strips than the A.T.
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

i dont have the money to buy a new meter and strips yet. i have 15$ to last til sunday and i need busfare.
I have enough strips left to test 3 times a day until monday. so before each shot and one other time only.
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

Were you able to order a newbie kit? If you will, I'll pay the shipping for you....then it will cost you nothing. We can get Lori to send you one of the meters that has the less costly strips.

Let me know if you want a newbie kit and I'll contact Lori to tell her I'll pay the shipping. Please consider this....it will enable you to test more if the strips are cheaper.
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Were you able to order a newbie kit? If you will, I'll pay the shipping for you....then it will cost you nothing. We can get Lori to send you one of the meters that has the less costly strips.

Let me know if you want a newbie kit and I'll contact Lori to tell her I'll pay the shipping. Please consider this....it will enable you to test more if the strips are cheaper.


I posted a question in that thread, asking how it worked, if they shipped to Canada, etc.
The cheapest strips I can buy here in town are 44 cents each, true track (or something like that) but i dont know if it is compatible with only certain meters or what. they are at costco.

I just dont want to use up one of the newbie kits if I wont be able to get strips for it again, and take it away from someone who could.

I hope to be able to find even cheaper strips online once I know what my meter is on ebay or something.

How much is shipping for the newbie kit? I could pay it, but not til next week, and it would have to be a money order or something since I am in Canada and do not have a credit card.
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

I looked at the newbie kit "store" and it only has the option to ship to America, and you need a paypal account to pay, which I think (not sure?) you need a credit card to have.
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

Oh, and I gave Josie 1 unit, just now, after she ate. So an hour later than normal. I will move her night time shot back 30 minutes to try to even it out.
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

I can have Lori send it to me and I'll mail it to you. I can use paypal to pay for the shipping to me as I have a paypal account.

If you tell me what you can get there, I'll ask her if she has that kind of meter in stock. She also sends about 50 strips I believe.
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I can have Lori send it to me and I'll mail it to you. I can use paypal to pay for the shipping to me as I have a paypal account.

If you tell me what you can get there, I'll ask her if she has that kind of meter in stock. She also sends about 50 strips I believe.


other than the true check ones from costco, the next cheapest available here are 75 cents each, aviva.
But i would feel bad taking a meter from them if i could only use it for a few weeks til those strips run out.


EDIT: seems like those aviva ones are pretty common on ebay.ca
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

I am going to be away from a computer for a few hours but will be back.
I will try to get a number mid day.
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

Hi,

I don't know if this helps, but we buy Freestyle Lite strips from Todd Mayberry, an eBay vendor for $21.50 for 50. That doesn't include shipping, which to our US address is only a few dollars. Plus we usually buy 200 at a time, so he may charge more if you order less. He's been very good for us. His email address is toddmayberry@sbcglobal.net . Good luck!
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

Angela:

We can get you an aviva meter and 100 strips ....sent out this week. Can you please pm me your mailing address including your postal code? We'd like to get it in the mail from a Canadian address today if possible.
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

Just helping Angela out with posting a picture of the most beautiful Josie. Here she is...she is stunning!!!

SAM_0075.jpg
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

Very beautiful! She is most definitely the Princess. Thanks for posting!
Liz
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

What a pretty kitty you are Miss Josie! You tell those boys who's boss- such beautiful eyes!
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 A.T (too low to shoot?)

Her pmps is only 179. Should I give a reduced dose, full dose or none at all?
Do these low numbers suggest her dose is wrong?
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 PMPS 179 A.T DOSE HELP PLEASE

I'm not sure who is around to give advice as I'm prob not the best person. These are actually lovely numbers for Josie. But I can understand your concern about her maybe going too low o/n without you knowing. I think that if I were in this situation, not being able to test and not really knowing how she'll respond, I'd give her the reduced dose again.
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 PMPS 179 A.T DOSE HELP PLEASE

Last time she was below 200 at night i didnt give any dose at all.
And with all three of her numbers being low today, i am wondering what that means. i had to give her a reduced dose this morning. Does that mean her dose isnt right?
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 PMPS 179 A.T DOSE HELP PLEASE

I honestly don't know what to tell you. If you don't have strips, there's no way you can shoot a low number. If you do, you will need to monitor. If you stall, you need to repeatedly test to see when Josie's numbers rise.

In order to follow a tight regulation protocol you must test at least 4 times a day -- pre-shots and at least one spot check each cycle. At times when you get a low number at shot time or if numbers start to drop during the cycle, you have to monitor closely. If you have only a handful of strips, I can't, in good conscience, suggest you do something that your not being able to monitor could result in endangering your cat.
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 PMPS 179 A.T DOSE HELP PLEASE

i am not doing the tight regulation protocol, i am doing the start low go slow protocol.
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 PMPS 179 A.T DOSE HELP PLEASE

It is midnight here, I have to go to bed.
I am not shooting at all tonight.
I gave her food though.
 
Re: 9/29 Josie AMPS 148 PMPS 179 A.T DOSE HELP PLEASE

Could you put that information in your signature?

Even with SLGS, you still need to be able to test. I believe that with that approach, generally you evaluate whether or not to shoot if your pre-shot is under 200 (or under 230 if you're using an AT).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top