9/29 Dante AMPS = 286 :( **PM UPDATE**

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sheri & Spyder (GA)

Member Since 2009
:YMSIGH: hey boy- wrong direction

I'm tempted to up his dose. Won't be able to do another curve til NEXT Sat.
Have to work a band function @ the high school all day and back again in the eve, so can't do any spot checks today at all.
 
Re: 9/29 Dante AMPS = 286 :(

What time will a before bed check be (how long past the pm shot)?

I agree that he most likely needs an increase, but it would be better to see what his nadir is on this dose. Looks like that is probably somewhere between +4 an +7. Still... 1.75u is probably safe. If he were nearer his best dose (getting a few greens here and there) then I would say to definitely wait until you could do a curve.

He is running at least 100 points lower, overall, from when you first got him. That's good.

Also, remember that today is the full moon and that does effect some kitties by either raising or lowering their numbers for a few days.
 
PMPS = 238

I think this isn't too bad, considering he didn't eat alot today AND had eaten just over an hour prior to my testing him. Apparently he had issues with wanting to try and get out today as well, so my son said. Guess he was a bit upset for awhile.

Sheila- I honestly don't know when I'll be home tonite; my daughter's band doesn't perform til 9:30. May have to wait and see what kind of spot checks I can get on him tomorrow.

Also started him on Methyl B12- gave him 1 pill (5000 mcg)
Rescue Remedy came too. Just waiting on the Feliway diffuser.
 
Not too bad.

He is testing his boundaries now! Was he an outdoor cat before - or do you know?

I remember (but only because I went back and checked early posts) that Jeddie was cranky and "mad" about things in the beginning too. I mean, I never forgot that bite, or having to wrestle him into tests, but he did have his bad moods too. He used to "harrumph" when he was exasperated about things. I used to get it a lot when I tested him. It faded away as he got used to the routine of things.

I do think it is important to "stand firm" and let him know who is boss. And to not let bad behavior get reenforced in any way (with extra attention, for example). One of my sister's just took in her sil's cat and one of her two cats is furious over it and goes after the new guy (who is an 8 mos old). My other sister suggested that she put the aggressive cat in a "time out" in either the dog crate or the bathroom every time she does it. Nothing more than a firm "no", scoop her up and "lock" her up for 15 mins or something. And plenty of positive attention when she is ignoring the new guy.

I sure hope Dante settles down "soon". Just know it can take some time and patience. I have a photo of Jeddie challenging Beau at about the 6 week mark, but I honestly can't remember any issues after 2-3 months.
 
Got a +5 on him

287
and he just laid there and didn't even want any chicken :shock:
(actually, he wanted me to rub his face)

We don't know anything about the 1st ~6yrs of his life, except that he belonged to someone (he's declawed) The people that found him and took him in, took him to the vet because he was always hungry and drank large quantities of water. He also apparently did not act aggressively towards them nor their 2 cats. But I did see on one of his vet charts, that they noted he was a bit fractious (at the vets of course) And one thing you can't do if he's getting really pissy, is pick him up. When he's mad, it's best to just get away from him. He's a big (long & tall) cat and very strong (at least his jaws are). He's done quite a bit of damage already- to me and my civvie, who has an abcess on her hind leg from where he did get ahold of her that nite he went after her. He's still pretty thin and now weighs 11-12 lbs. My daughter's boyfriend's mother said he looks so much better already.

I suppose I should give him the benefit of the doubt, after everything he's been through.

Time will tell on that.

Sure wish he'd give me some blues again.....you don't think we passed a good dose, do you?
 
No, I don't think he has passed a best dose yet. Are you going to raise him before next weekend?

Sorry to hear about the aggressiveness. If he wasn't like that before, it may just be the rehoming. Especially if he bonded with the "dad". I hope Rescue Remedy or Feliway helps calm him. I hate to see you and your civvie suffer from his aggression. Please keep the prozac in mind if feliway doesn't work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top