9/29 Bear +1 323 +3 330 +5 288 Can't figure out NADIR

Status
Not open for further replies.

kldanzi

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26215

No new messes in the litterboxes overnight. I was thinking about it and boyfriend bought a couple of fish flavors of food and fed it to them for several meals before I told him to stop so maaaaaaybe that what upset the digestive tracts. Both are very hungry today.
 
Re: 9/29 Bear AMBG 70, shoot?? (Stalling for 15 right now...)

What is your schedule like if you need to stall a bit longer? Will you be home to get a +1 and/or to monitor further? And of course, strips and HC?

I've got to leave in a few minutes. I'm not sure who else is around.
 
Re: 9/29 Bear AMBG 70, shoot?? (Stalling for 15 right now...)

I will be here for the next 3 hours. Lots of strips, HC, and karo.
 
Re: 9/29 Bear AMBG 70, shoot?? (Stalling for 15 right now...)

Question...the n/a for the preshots on your SS means no shot or the BG number is not available..no test that time....??? I always look back on the SS to see what the lowest number that has been shot and without that data, it is hard to know. This might be the lowest preshot you have come across, right?
 
Re: 9/29 Bear AMBG 70, shoot?? (Stalling for 15 right now...)

Definitely the lowest preshot, I stalled 15 and it was up to 75 so I think it was starting to go up and I shot it. They were really hungry this morning so I put out 3 cans of food instead of two.

N/A are when I am not here and boyfriend feeds and shoots without testing. (It's not even like it's hard for him! He just doesn't do it if I'm not around to say "Test his sugar!" Arrrrrgh.)

I'll let you know in a few what number we are at!
 
Re: 9/29 Bear AMBG 70, shoot?? (Stalling for 15 right now...)

Please get a +1 and a +2.

A 70 and a 75 are essentially the same number. This could be exciting (or not). I'll try to check in periodically but I'm at the office and it's dicey if I'm able to peek in.
 
Re: 9/29 Bear AMBG 70 +1 95 +2 96

AMPS 75
+1 95
+2 96

Holding steady but Bear's onset is usually around +3 so we may take a dive. I will be going to work but DBF will be here and I will FORCEFULLY explain how important testing is while I am gone! He knows where the HC and karo are and knows what to do.
 
Re: 9/29 Bear AMBG 70 +1 95 +2 96

Setting up dbf for any emergency situation.... printed out hypo instructions.
Also, I am going to leave him directions on how to post on here which I doubt will happen buuuut if he finds his way here, thanks in advance to anyone who helps him. Be patient, he NEVER uses the computer so he may not be too good at the whole message board thing!
I don't want to write instructions for changing the subject line because if there is too much to do he'll get overloaded and not do it at all so just keep an eye for us moving to the top of the list please after I leave (in one hour.) I'll put some on the subject like "If this is at the top, newbie needs hypo help". Maybe just hypo help, that was a little wordy. Anyone have a suggestion for what I could put there without being too alarming, LOL!
You guys are awesome!
 
Re: 9/29 Bear AMBG 70 +1 95 +2 96 +3 101 +3.5 91

AMPS 75
+1 95
+2 96
+3 101
+3.5 91

And now I have to leave for work. Cross your fingers and paws that DBF doesn't have to deal with a hypo!!
 
Re: 9/29 Bear AMBG 70 +1 95 +2 96 +3 101 +3.5 91

That is a nice surf...hope Bear will keep that going....we will watch for him posting...
fingers crossed! Did you feed Bear after this last test? Maybe some HC would do it...but LC might be ok if DBF will test....
 
Re: 9/29 Bear AMBG 70 +1 95 +2 96 +3 101 +3.5 91

kldanzi said:
I'm so grossed out by the thought of worm eggs on my shoes.
:lol:

Any LB activity yet? Hope they're both feeling better and that whatever it was passed quickly (pun intended).
 
Re: 9/29 Bear PMPS 205

Okay everyone, sing it Beach Boys style.....
Bearcat's goin suuuurfin.... Surfin Blue.S.A!!

What a great day for Bear. I did feed right before I left so that probably accounts for the rise at +4.
AMPS 75
+1 95
+2 96
+3 101
+3.5 91
+4 108
+5 108
+6 138

I asked for a +8 and +10 but since DBF did do such a good job today I'll forgive him. Just fed din.... I think I might feel a bounce coming on after all these blues. For the millionth time, thank you to everyone who kept an eye out for us today! :razz:
 
Re: 9/29 Bear PMPS 205 Can't figure out NADIR

I have a couple questions about the dosing protocol... I understand the terms but I feel like I still don't have enough consistent information to determine Bear's nadir? I definitely think that his onset is around +3 to the point where I don't even worry about checking +1 unless there is a weird situation like today. I know that the number will be higher, and +2 usually is too.

Every time I run a curve though, it seems like the nadir and the peak aren't there!!!! Do I just need to keep gathering information or am I missing something????? :YMSIGH:

If you want, I can post the curves I've run or would it just be easier for people to look at our SS?

Does anyone else think that we are stuck in a perpetual BOUNCE cycle or am I just getting frustrated????
 
One thing to keep in mind, nadir can change.
One day of curves doesn't always mean the nadir is where it is, my suggestion to you is to collect as much as you can, when you can.
As an example, Luna's nadir was early too, but over time he brought it up to +5 and +6.

So your question doesn't get buried, you could post it again in your new condo so others thru the day can review it too.
 
Tough to find nadir when bounce is clearing and/or dose is settling, and as Ronnie says it can change on you. You'll need a little more data. Yesterday was great and an important day to get extra tests in due to the low pre-shot. He bounced through the next cycle and may do so again today but as he gets more of the lower numbers I think the bounces will lessen and shorten in duration (liver training school is in session).

You could try testing every three or four hours to get some additional data - I don't think it's necessary to test every two hours while he's bouncing. Or even +6 just for an idea.

I'm not good at interpreting spreadsheets but some people are real whizes at it. Good idea to ask again in today's condo so this thread doesn't start to surpass it. DBF did do good yesterday!
 
The nadir and peak are the same thing.

I suspect you will need more data in order to figure out where the nadir is. You don't have a ton of mid-cycle data and if you're able to fill in some of the blanks, it will help you to figure out (at least temporarily) where Bear's nadir is. Like Ronnie pointed out, the nadir can change.
 
When Jack isn't on his trampoline, his curve can be so flat that it's just at +3 he drops 100 and then stays there for the next 8-10 hours with a slow up-creep until the next +3. My understanding is that with Lantus the difference between nadir and onset is often far less dramatic than it is with other insulins. Of course, we're still very new to this so I certainly defer to any more experienced lantus folks out there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top