Ginger&Bailey
Member Since 2010
Brand new member here - my kitty Bailey was just diagnosed with diabetes a week ago, but I just started his true glucose monitoring last night. I talked to Dr. Lisa Pierson, who I believe may have very well saved his life.
Bailey's glucose levels at his diagnosis were in the 300's - the vet diagnosed him with diabetes and prescribed 1.5 units of Lantus insulin, twice a day after he eats. Well, getting him to eat on command is practically impossible, not to mention I have 4 other cats (all indoor) - I have always free fed them, so I was panicked when I found out I had to get him to eat enough at a specific time each day, twice a day, 12 hours a part - and under NO circumstance was I was to give him his insulin if he hadn't eaten. You can imagine my dread and panic...especially when I tried to start his treatments, only to have him not eat, so I couldn't give him his insulin. I was convinced he was going to die or I was going to go insane trying to keep him alive.
Then came Dr. Lisa - what a miracle she has been. Granted, I only just spoke to her last night, but I already feel more informed, in control, and feel that this is manageable. I have hope.
First off, Bailey does not have extremely high glucose numbers. His insulin doses were also too high. I would have likely ended up driving him to a hypoglycemic death.
I am appalled that my vet (and that MANY vets) do not require that owners of diabetic cats get a glucometer so they can test at home. I don't know how anyone is expected to treat a diabetic cat without one!!! It is NEGLIGENT! I am just in shock over the fact that it is not as necessary to do home testing as it is to give insulin shots to a diabetic cat.
Anyway - I gave Bailey his 1.5 units of insulin last night after I saw him eat - after talking to Dr. Lisa, I tried to test him, and was able to successfully get his reading (on the third try!) - his blood glucose was 47 at +4 - WAAAY too low!! I had given him too much insulin. So I got him to eat a bit and then tested him again several times over the next couple of hours. He thankfully pulled through. But it could have proven fatal - and had I never learned about home testing and proper insulin dosages for him, I would have likely killed him.
My new regiment is this - if he is over 200 BG, he gets 1 unit. 150 to 200, he gets 1/2 unit. Under 150, none. This morning he was at 266 - I gave him one unit. Unfortunately I had to go to work and was unable to get home for lunch to test him - but got home tonight and he and the kitties ate a little dinner - at +12, I checked his BG and it was 139. No shot.
I am hoping his diabetes is mild and that he will go into remission - in the meantime, I am grateful for Dr. Lisa, this board and all of you - I don't feel so helpless, panicked, and scared anymore.
Thanks everyone!
Ginger (and Bailey
Bailey's glucose levels at his diagnosis were in the 300's - the vet diagnosed him with diabetes and prescribed 1.5 units of Lantus insulin, twice a day after he eats. Well, getting him to eat on command is practically impossible, not to mention I have 4 other cats (all indoor) - I have always free fed them, so I was panicked when I found out I had to get him to eat enough at a specific time each day, twice a day, 12 hours a part - and under NO circumstance was I was to give him his insulin if he hadn't eaten. You can imagine my dread and panic...especially when I tried to start his treatments, only to have him not eat, so I couldn't give him his insulin. I was convinced he was going to die or I was going to go insane trying to keep him alive.
Then came Dr. Lisa - what a miracle she has been. Granted, I only just spoke to her last night, but I already feel more informed, in control, and feel that this is manageable. I have hope.
First off, Bailey does not have extremely high glucose numbers. His insulin doses were also too high. I would have likely ended up driving him to a hypoglycemic death.
I am appalled that my vet (and that MANY vets) do not require that owners of diabetic cats get a glucometer so they can test at home. I don't know how anyone is expected to treat a diabetic cat without one!!! It is NEGLIGENT! I am just in shock over the fact that it is not as necessary to do home testing as it is to give insulin shots to a diabetic cat.
Anyway - I gave Bailey his 1.5 units of insulin last night after I saw him eat - after talking to Dr. Lisa, I tried to test him, and was able to successfully get his reading (on the third try!) - his blood glucose was 47 at +4 - WAAAY too low!! I had given him too much insulin. So I got him to eat a bit and then tested him again several times over the next couple of hours. He thankfully pulled through. But it could have proven fatal - and had I never learned about home testing and proper insulin dosages for him, I would have likely killed him.
My new regiment is this - if he is over 200 BG, he gets 1 unit. 150 to 200, he gets 1/2 unit. Under 150, none. This morning he was at 266 - I gave him one unit. Unfortunately I had to go to work and was unable to get home for lunch to test him - but got home tonight and he and the kitties ate a little dinner - at +12, I checked his BG and it was 139. No shot.
I am hoping his diabetes is mild and that he will go into remission - in the meantime, I am grateful for Dr. Lisa, this board and all of you - I don't feel so helpless, panicked, and scared anymore.
Thanks everyone!
Ginger (and Bailey