9/29 Bailey AMPS 266 +12 139

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginger&Bailey

Member Since 2010
Brand new member here - my kitty Bailey was just diagnosed with diabetes a week ago, but I just started his true glucose monitoring last night. I talked to Dr. Lisa Pierson, who I believe may have very well saved his life.

Bailey's glucose levels at his diagnosis were in the 300's - the vet diagnosed him with diabetes and prescribed 1.5 units of Lantus insulin, twice a day after he eats. Well, getting him to eat on command is practically impossible, not to mention I have 4 other cats (all indoor) - I have always free fed them, so I was panicked when I found out I had to get him to eat enough at a specific time each day, twice a day, 12 hours a part - and under NO circumstance was I was to give him his insulin if he hadn't eaten. You can imagine my dread and panic...especially when I tried to start his treatments, only to have him not eat, so I couldn't give him his insulin. I was convinced he was going to die or I was going to go insane trying to keep him alive.

Then came Dr. Lisa - what a miracle she has been. Granted, I only just spoke to her last night, but I already feel more informed, in control, and feel that this is manageable. I have hope.

First off, Bailey does not have extremely high glucose numbers. His insulin doses were also too high. I would have likely ended up driving him to a hypoglycemic death.

I am appalled that my vet (and that MANY vets) do not require that owners of diabetic cats get a glucometer so they can test at home. I don't know how anyone is expected to treat a diabetic cat without one!!! It is NEGLIGENT! I am just in shock over the fact that it is not as necessary to do home testing as it is to give insulin shots to a diabetic cat.

Anyway - I gave Bailey his 1.5 units of insulin last night after I saw him eat - after talking to Dr. Lisa, I tried to test him, and was able to successfully get his reading (on the third try!) - his blood glucose was 47 at +4 - WAAAY too low!! I had given him too much insulin. So I got him to eat a bit and then tested him again several times over the next couple of hours. He thankfully pulled through. But it could have proven fatal - and had I never learned about home testing and proper insulin dosages for him, I would have likely killed him.

My new regiment is this - if he is over 200 BG, he gets 1 unit. 150 to 200, he gets 1/2 unit. Under 150, none. This morning he was at 266 - I gave him one unit. Unfortunately I had to go to work and was unable to get home for lunch to test him - but got home tonight and he and the kitties ate a little dinner - at +12, I checked his BG and it was 139. No shot.

I am hoping his diabetes is mild and that he will go into remission - in the meantime, I am grateful for Dr. Lisa, this board and all of you - I don't feel so helpless, panicked, and scared anymore.

Thanks everyone!

Ginger (and Bailey :)
 
Hi there Bailey so happy you talked to Dr. Lisa and welcome to our LL community you will find so much information here cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
 
welcome to Lantus Land!

I suggest you read our stickies at the top of the forum. Most of us here use a particular dosing protocol that works well for many cats. We find that most cats do better with a consistent dose instead of a sliding scale based on the preshot number. In your case, that would mean choosing one dose that you can shoot every 12 hours. Probably that would mean a little lower dose, like maybe 0.5 unit. Then after a few days we would evaluate that dose and see if it needs to be increased.

What are you feeding now? Have you changed the diet recently?

We love Dr. Lisa, isn't she the best? :mrgreen:
 
Welcome Ginger.

Like Libby mentioned, there is a huge amount of information in the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. There is information about the dosing protocol that we use, the care and handling of Lantus, what you need to do to become data ready to shoot low numbers, how to a curve, our slang, key concepts like the "shed" and pretty much anything that is important in getting you up to speed on feline diabetes.

The protocols that we use encourage a consistent dose of Lantus twice a day. In the beginning, shooting a dose under 150 may not be wise since you don't yet have data to shoot that number. There are alternatives though, to skipping a shot. Like Libby noted, starting at a lower dose so you can shoot twice a day is important -- especially if remission or tight regulation is your goal.

You'll see us constantly referring to Dr. Lisa's website. It's a wonderful resource!

When you have a minute, could you also put together a Profile and attach it to your signature. That will help us to not keep asking you about Bailey's medical history, the kind of meter you're using, what you're feeding, date of diagnosis, etc.
 
Hey kids,

Just so ya'll know, part of my consult includes bringing the client to the Lantus board and showing them the Stickies and also giving them the link to Tilly's page, walking them through the SS link and discussing setting up a Profile. My goal is to get them as high up on the 'knowledge tree' as possible so that you guys don't have to type your fingers to bloody stubs.

I do let them know that they may have to read the Stickies a gazzilion times before the information 'sticks'....and *not* to expect to embrace all the info in one sitting. Lord knows *I* had to read them a lot more than once!

Ginger - the comments made here about the sliding scale are correct. The sliding scale that we discussed was just for this morning. A sliding scale is more appropriate for an insulin like PZI than it is for Lantus.

I will now leave you in the capable hands of LL. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top