9/29/13 Crushy amps 359 accidental dose decrease :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele M

Member Since 2013
previous: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=105305&p=1118876#p1118876

I think I accidentally decreased his dose in the middle of a bounce ohmygod_smile

I got new syringes and they are NOT the same. (I was using the Wallgreens brand and switched to Terumo) I tested the amounts before I used the Terumo's for the first time because I knew this might be an issue but I must have done it wrong. I tested the amounts again today twice and I was shooting about .25 less for the last two shots. grrr!

Im going back to the old syringes. They werent THAT bad.

So now I feel like I need to hold this dose for a few more days until he A) clears this bounce and B) gets a few more days on the dose I was actually trying to give him.

he seems fine otherwise. No more tummy trouble to speak of so that's good
 
Wow Michele...that's really a significant difference!! I had been thinking of trying the Terumo syringes but had also read where different brands can be off by as much as .5! With China being on a lower dose already, it would really worry me to try them now.

I'm just going to continue with the same syringes for now anyway. I know it's not as important what the actual measurement is (.75 or 1 unit or even 1.25)...it's that it's consistently the same dose so we can see the patterns each dose produces.

Good luck with Crushy, and I hope you're having a nice Caterday!
 
exactly, consistency is the key.

there are also little idiosyncrasies with each syringe you kind of get used to, like how easy it is to push the plunger etc. When you switch syringes you have to start the learning curve all over again.

also when I put the needle in Crushy the plunger on the Tuermo goes in by itself...very weird. I didnt even have to press the plunger to get it to inject. I checked his fur and it was not wet. And no wet spots around the table I shot him on so I assume it went in. That was a little disconcerting though.

hope you have a great Caturday too!
 
I did that too when I switched to the Terumo's. My difference was about a 1/3 of a unit. It took me a few days to realize it and I had to keep increasing to get back where
we were.
The terumo's do have a slicker motion, there is a lot less drag.

If you want better control, you can get some digital calipers.
You will be surprised to find how off the marks are on the syringes. Terumo just does better than others.
Then it doesn't matter what syringes you have.... you just go by the caliper measurement. :-D

EDIT: I didn't say that well. I did not mean you could use one brand and then another....
I meant using whichever brand you choose... and stay with that brand....


dosing with calipers
 
rhiannon and shadow said:
Then it doesn't matter what syringes you have.... you just go by the caliper measurement.
I am not possitive, but I think the type or brand of syringes does make a difference when using the calipers.
The mm measurement that I get for the 0.50 dose using my ReliOn syringes, does not equal the same mm number that other people get using different kinds of syringes. I think the barrel widths may vary, or something like that.
 
Dyana said:
rhiannon and shadow said:
Then it doesn't matter what syringes you have.... you just go by the caliper measurement.
I am not possitive, but I think the type or brand of syringes does make a difference when using the calipers.
The mm measurement that I get for the 0.50 dose using my ReliOn syringes, does not equal the same mm number that other people get using different kinds of syringes. I think the barrel widths may vary, or something like that.


But Caliper measurements should be consistent if you use the same syringes each shot time right? Only when you are switching syringe brands could the barrel size become an issue?

thanks for the link on Calipers Rhiannon! It didnt even occur to me that the markings on the syringes may vary from syringe to syringe in the same brand or box! I figured between brands it would, but if each syringe in a box can have slightly different marks.....ugh!

Ive got my caliper but Im even more confused what his dose should be now though. It makes sense that I may have been off between the first and second time I tested the amount difference between the walgreens brand and Terumos because the Walgreen syringes may have been a little different.

jeez I need better reading glasses too....this is killing my eyes
 
Speaking of syringes, in case you find this handy, Mariko recently told me that after you inject the insulin, keep pushing the plunger, so that no insulin gets drawn back into the syringe, wait a few seconds, and withdraw slowly, so that you don't pull any insulin out.
 
Picknickchick said:
Speaking of syringes, in case you find this handy, Mariko recently told me that after you inject the insulin, keep pushing the plunger, so that no insulin gets drawn back into the syringe, wait a few seconds, and withdraw slowly, so that you don't pull any insulin out.

good tip! thanks

and thanks for the link on the lighted magnifying glass Dyana. Now I just need a stand or a third hand to hold it for me ;-)
 
Since you're going back to the original syringes, and continuing to give him the current dose, you'll be helping to put the shed back in its place, and Crushy will tell you what to do next. You're both doing a wonderful job!

I get the Relion syringes from Walmart, and each one has its own fault with the stopper. I've learned to read them, and measure them accordingly.
 
thanks for catching that, everyone. :oops:
I meant by using the same brand.

You do not want to switch brands using the same caliper measurements. Some syringes ( like terumo) are more slender.
Stay with one brand. Al syringes are not equal.... not even in the same box these days.

I edited my orginal post.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top