9/28 Rufus PMPS 100, +1 126, +2 122

Status
Not open for further replies.

RuBee

Member Since 2010
Yesterday was pretty nasty, too

Yuck, yuck, yuck. Somehow, I managed to fool myself into thinking this wouldn't be as long-lived as it's turning out to be, but we have the Feliway plugged in, so I'm going to see if that gives us anything other than lack-o-hissing before I go for another increase in his dose. I can't have him this high without doing something about it - even if it's just temporary.

Rufus "beckoned" me downstairs this morning with a high-pitched "MAAAAAAH?" (I swear, you can hear the question mark in his voice). I came down only to get clawed in the legs because he didn't feel like being a happy camper during testing time, and we went about the rest of their routine.

Both boys are eating right now in different rooms (kitchen counter & great room). I've got a doctor's appointment this evening, so I'm hoping I'll be home in good time for dinnershot - I should be, but you never know when doc. is going to be delayed because someone decided to have an emergency. :-|

Need to give Rufus his medicine... but I've got a cuddler on my lap at the moment.

Have a good day, everyone. :-D
 
Re: 9/28 Rufus AMPS 372 - ew

Settle down Rufus. Sounds like you and I have pissy morning kitties.

Hey Rufus...maybe some calming meditation is in order for ya.....ommmmmm, ommmmm. Hope the feliway helps...have never tried it..

Have a great day...and "quick" doc appt.
 
Re: 9/28 Rufus AMPS 372 - ew

Ew indeed, hope Rufus comes down from that number and calms down some. Be a nice kitty Rufus
 
Re: 9/28 Rufus AMPS 372 - ew

Come on Rufus - down you go! Better do it soon, or you're gonna get more juice... Sorry for the hissy kitty. makes me grateful for mine who just takes it all in stride. How's the feliway working?
 
Re: 9/28 Rufus AMPS 372 - ew

Down, indeed, Rufus. I'm going to get a number about now - just for fun, eh? - and we have a 236! This is, I think, directly related to John-Finn's being sent upstairs for a time-out (or chill out might be more accurate. He gets really excited and starts biting and scratching things - and people - if you don't entertain him personally). Rufus had gone upstairs several minutes before to hide in a closet or two, but has since come down for a little social.

As for the feliway - it does appear to be helping! John-Finn is still hissing at Rufus, but they're coming closer and closer to one another without any fuss now. Rufus is spending more time downstairs with us, and is running away/cowering less when John-Finn comes near. Yes, that's right - Rufus, about three times the size of this particular kitten, is afraid of John-Finn. I swear, all he'd have to do is sit on him and that little guy would never bug him again. :lol:

I'm liking the results thus far.

So this is what we have this morning: Rufus, downstairs, enjoying a bit of time to himself, with much improvement in his BGLs. Most P's accounted for - no playing, but that doesn't surprise me, considering how unhappy he is right now. That's about all. :)
 
Re: 9/28 Rufus PMBG 107 - um... help?

I have no idea what to do. Rufus has been John-Finn-free for most of today, so I have a feeling that when we bring him down for dinner, he'll go back up - but I don't want to rely on that assumption for dosing. I'll test again in about ten minutes and see what we have.
 
Re: 9/28 Rufus PMBG 107 - um... help?

Barbara's Tuffy manages to raise his BG whenever one of her strays/ferals comes by for a visit. One suggestion, if you're not already doing this, is to get a cloth or a sock and rub John-Finn with the sock then rub the sock all over Rufus. Then do the reverse. It transfers the scent and may help them to acclimate to each other.

I'll be looking for your update.
 
Re: 9/28 Rufus PMBG 107 - um... help?

I love it when we say "if nothing changes this cycle" and then EVERYTHING changes this cycle. :lol: Watching for your upate...
 
Re: 9/28 Rufus PMBG 107, +15min 93

Fifteen minutes after the PM check he tested 93... and that's with John-Finn down here.

(We are doing the scent exchange thing, too. They're both just being stinkers, really. Just as I was testing John-Finn jumped up onto the testing chair's back and sat there. They co-existed). :roll:

I'm going to test again at 7:20 or so (another 15 minutes past last check).
 
Re: 9/28 Rufus PMBG 107, +15min 93, +30min 101

It looks like Rufus is surfing. Are you comfortable shooting in this range?

Just a thought... It would make it easier to decide whether to shoot if you'd had another test this cycle -- say at +7 or +8. You'd have something to compare the PMPS/PMBG number to.
 
Re: 9/28 Rufus PMBG 107, +15min 93, +30min 101

Oh, I know - I'm currently without my phone (and thus, my alarms). So, I went about my day and next thing I knew - Doctor's appointment.

I'm reeeally not keen on shooting 1.25 right now. Should I split the dose in two? I've never tried that approach, but if it's a good way to go...
 
Re: 9/28 Rufus PMBG 107, +15min 93, +30min 101

I've not used that approach and it's not one that folks here typically do. I'd stall if you're not comfortable shooting this low or shoot a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose -- say 1.0u. It all depends on whether you can manage to be off schedule and if so, by how much.
 
Re: 9/28 Rufus PMBG 107, +15min 93, +30min 101

Yeah, I'm going to go with door No. BCS on this one. I really messed myself up last time I made a delay, and he paid the price, so - no good. We'll see what it does to him in the morning, I guess, but I'll keep an eye on him tonight, too.
 
Re: 9/28 Rufus PMBG 107, +15min 93, +30min 101

Sounds good. Get your actual PMPS and a +1, and you may want to get a +2. The +1 "should" reflect a food spike. If not, it could be an exciting evening.
 
Re: 9/28 Rufus PMPS 100

PMPS is 100 even. Gave 1.00u. Crossing fingers.

(For my own personal reference - +1 will be 8:45pm)
 
Re: 9/28 Rufus PMPS 100

just a little lol here...Rufus has fooled us all, hasn't he. Well, congratulations on shooting your bcs dose! Will be popping in here and there to see how things go for you!
PS....good job Rufus!
 
Re: 9/28 Rufus PMPS 100, +1 126 :)

+1 126. Not much of an update - there was a tussle, but it doesn't appear to have had any stress ramifications. We appear to be good for now.

... and Winnie just peed on a calculator. ohmygod_smile
 
+2 122. Holding steady for now. I'm going to hit the sack and let Mom take over testing. If there's a problem she'll wake me and I'll be up, and ready to play. ~O) ~O) ~O)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top