9/28 River AMPS:571 +3:391 PMPS:380 +2:232 +4:101 +5:79

Status
Not open for further replies.

Picknickchick

Member Since 2013
Previous condo

Thank you for the visits and advice. I've put him back to his last good dose of 3u BID.
Although he earned a decrease, he hasn't been doing well at 2.75.
Last few days have been tough.
 
Re: 9/28 River AMPS:571 +3:391

Oh, River, come down. You are driving your bean crazy with worry. Come down, come down, come down.
 
Re: 9/28 River AMPS:571 +3:391

Hi Lara,
Good luck with the dosecrease and these are for you :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/28 River AMPS:571 +3:391

Thanks, gals. I am going to take these suction disks off and come down from the top of the wall.
 
Re: 9/28 River AMPS:571 +3:391

I'm sorry you are having troubles with the high numbers :YMSIGH: River, come down from there, your bean does NOT like this color on you ohmygod_smile ! Good luck with the increased dose, hugs to you! :smile:
 
Re: 9/28 River AMPS:571 +3:391

Thanks, N. Alberta, from Calgary ;-)
I hope he reads his condo today...

He spent 5 days in intensive care in July because of ketones, so I don't want him to ever go there again.
 
Re: 9/28 River AMPS:571 +3:391

That would be so very hard. I can imagine how scared you must feel with that in your recent past. Are there special rules for dosing cats that have had ketosis?

Can anyone help with that?
 
Re: 9/28 River AMPS:571 +3:391

Yes, you needed to increase. Good job, Lara! Now, River, do your part and slide on down from those ugly numbers. Happy Caturday!
Liz
 
Re: 9/28 River AMPS:571 +3:391

Good luck with the dosecrease. I hope it brings River back to some nice numbers. Don't worry about having to increase. With this crazy sugardance, it happens to all of us. One day, you'll hit on the right dose for River and he'll be giving you nice blues and greens.
 
Re: 9/28 River AMPS:571 +3:391

If you look at his SS, from Sept 9 - 15 he was doing great, in with 3 units, all in the blue-green zone. So great that he earned a decrease, but he hasn't done well with it.
So thank you for the kind wishes.

I think the ketosis was because of almost six months of his former vet not knowing too much about testing and dosing, and me taking her advice. This led him to a long decline, where I became very frightened that I would lose him. I would like to believe that we now have a beautiful new chance by being here, and getting the help and support and lovely cheerful good wishes that we do. I'm optimistic, but vigilant about not letting him go into a preventable crisis again.

The labs from his hospitalization are the tab Labs July 21 2013 in his spreadsheet, and there are notes about the ketosis in his SS starting July 21.
 
Re: 9/28 River AMPS:571 +3:391

I've had that happen with Furball. She'll be doing great, earn a reduction and then the reduction doesn't hold and I have to go back up. It may take several tries before River holds the reduction. Sending hugs to you and scritches to River. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: I hope he gets back on track soon.
 
Re: 9/28 River AMPS:571 +3:391

Come on River, we're watching.

Ozy and River have matching numbers now, if you account for meter variance.
 
Re: 9/28 River AMPS:571 +3:391 PMPS:380 +2:232

Thanks, Josie. I hope so. I hope that +2 is the morning's shot talking.
 
Re: 9/28 River AMPS:571 +3:391 PMPS:380 +2:232

I think River might be wanting a little attention tonight. :-D Paws crossed that extra bit of juice gets him back on track again.
 
Re: 9/28 River AMPS:571 +3:391 PMPS:380 +2:232

That +2 looks like a fast drop to me... you may be busy tonight. Get on your jammies, make some coffee.
 
Re: 9/28 River AMPS:571 +3:391 PMPS:380 +2:232

Those numbers are easier on the eyes. ;-)
 
Re: 9/28 River AMPS:571 +3:391 PMPS:380 +2:232 +4:101

Too bad you didn't check this morning at +2 and caught the red number. By the next test tonite, your SS would like like it was done by Crayola :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/28 River AMPS:571 +3:391 PMPS:380 +2:232 +4:101

We'll see if he goes green.

That's just simply nutty, what a difference of one quarter of a unit can do.
Explains so well why for those many months I didn't have a chance with my vet saying not to test him more than once a week, and then adjusting his dosage by the half unit.
 
Re: 9/28 River AMPS:571 +3:391 PMPS:380 +2:232 +4:101

I think it's a combo of the increase and a bounce that finally decided to clear. But yeah, nice day for River. And you. :-)
 
Hi Lara,
Wow, it's like River's going yeppiiiii on a slide in a playland.
I'm glad he's out of high numbers finally.
And I hope he'll do blue/breen cycles safely again!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top