9/28 punkin amps 225 +3/209 +6/209 pmps 266 +3/208

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday

good morning Lantus Land! punkin and anya did their little mutual face washing thing this morning. i think it might start out as "let me get that bit of breakfast on your whiskers" but it always evolves into this sweet loving thing. now punkin is crashed on the floor.

he's looking a bit like a homeless kitter. i comb him almost every day with a fine tooth comb but he doesn't want me doing his belly and under his legs - there are the beginnings of mats there. i've gotta sit on him today and just make him let me get them.

i reduced his dose again last night. he was 98 at +12, so i waited til he came up to 120 then shot him one unit less.

does anyone know if it's ok to use a little bit of human shampoo on him?
 
Re: 9/28 punkin amps 225

Hi guys .. love the sweet face washing stories! Sorry to hear punkin is getting mats on his belly .. I don't have any advice on the human shampoo .. but congrats on another dose reduction, how exciting! Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 9/28 punkin amps 225

Hurray on a decrease- now Punkin, you've got to let the bean comb your belly (otherwise you get the bath- :sad: :shock: @-) )
 
Re: 9/28 punkin amps 225 +3/209

Once i used a smelly human shampoo (can't remember the name) on Leo when he had a whoopsies in his carrier and i tell ya he sneezed and sneezed for a week straight and even after the week he still smelled like shampoo. Another time i used Aveda shampoo on him (it was an organic shampoo) and nothing, and he smelled soooooo good! :lol: I guess it just depends on the shampoo.

Congrats on the dose reduction for Punkin.......again! :-D Maybe the treatment is already working????

Have a super fabulous wonderful day Julie and Punkin!
 
Re: 9/28 punkin amps 225 +3/209

Julie:

I went back and read through all your condos since you headed home....it's all so interesting and I'm glad Punkin is doing so well.

No, you can't use human shampoo on him :-D They usually have some hypoallergenic type pet shampoos at PetSmart or PetCo. It's best to use something like that. There are an awful lot of chemicals and fragrance added to human shampoos which kitties should not be exposed to.

Thank you for all your support, prayers, and compassion during our difficult time. It has been truly helpful to us....and I know you have alot going on, too.

Maybe I'll start being on LL late again soon.....hugs, Julie.
 
Re: 9/28 punkin amps 225 +3/209 +6/209 +9/241

Hmm, combing or bathing, uh Punkin you might want to opt for the combing. Do you think he doesn't like the pulling on his fur or just being touched on his belly? Have a wonderful evening.
Liz
 
Re: 9/28 punkin amps 225 +3/209 +6/209 +9/241 pmps 266

thanks everybody - i knew you'd know. i was thinking you couldn't use bean shampoo on kitters, but wasn't positive. never had a cat need it before. i think he doesn't like the pulling, although i'm being very gentle. perhaps it's really more the fussing that he's not liking. i don't know. i have a "rake" that's pretty good for getting out the volume of dead hair but i've been using this rat-tail comb and liking it better. i don't want to shampoo him with the mats in there or they will be impossible to get rid of. i've been combing him with a blunt tip kiddie scissors in hand so i can either cut out or cut through the little mats. none of them are very bad yet, but they're not going to just magically go away.

thanks for the link, lisa - i'll see if i can find that one locally - i really want to get him asap.

anyway, i think he's bouncing from yesterday afternoon so i'm just holding the dose. not going to call it a failed reduction yet.
 
Re: 9/28 punkin amps 225 +3/209 +6/209 +9/241 pmps 266

Julie do you have a de matting comb?? I have one for my long haired civie Kit Kit she gets mats behind her ears works really well without pulling much http://www.amazon.com/Ergonomic-Dematting-Tool-Comb-Blade/dp/tech-data/B000F285SW I could not ever get her matts out until I got one of these and even bought my 87 yr old aunt one to use for her cats and works great for her as well good luck with the grooming on Punkin
 
Re: 9/28 punkin amps 225 +3/209 +6/209 +9/241 pmps 266

Nice to see Punkin holding his own in the yellows today... perhaps some blues on the horizon? Willie used to love to have his belly combed and scritched, but since his pemphigus outbreak, not so much. He has been letting me pet his belly lately at bedtime, but he won't actually roll over for it or anything. I've been using the furminator on him and egads! :shock: It's like having a whole second cat afterwards! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top