I just found this website and here's the information on Lantus for those who haven't see it. One thing I read that stood out to me that I've been doing wrong is it says,
"When you dose Lantus, after pushing the plunger down, you should leave the needle in place and slowly count to ten before removing it. When you have removed the syringe, gently apply some pressure to the spot for a few seconds. You should NOT rub the area as that will damage the Lantus molecues." I usually rub the injection area for Olive for a second or two just to get her mind off the sting I know I would feel if it were me. So I'm going to immediately stop doing this. I'm also NOT leaving the needle in for 10 seconds before I pull it out. Also, I wonder even more so now if her insulin needs increased. This is what it says:
Starting Scale for Lantus (After 24-hour Detox):
Imperial BG……….Metric BG………..Dose of insulin
150 – 250…………..8.3 – 13.9……………….0.25u
251 – 400………….14.0 – 22.0………………0.50u
400 +………………..22.2 +……………………0.75u
Dosing Criteria for Lantus:
The dosing criteria to be able to give insulin for Lantus (all criteria need to be in place) :
• A minimum of 10 hours since the last dose of insulin
• A BG of a minimum of 150/8.3
• A BG that is rising if it is between 150/8.3 and around 225/12.5: if the BG is higher than this it is more important that the cat gets the insulin it needs to bring its BGs down to normal numbers and to maintain overlap
It's always the last part of the cycle where she rises rapidly and I'm always thinking to myself at +10 if only I could give her another injection I might ward off the numbers from going so much higher by +12. It's crazy, but it always seems Olive needs a shot at least every 10 hours and not every 12. I've never done that, just to confirm. I know NOTHING about TR either as I've never researched it. The SLGS method just sounded like the best from the moment I did read that one. Would Olive do better on TR than on SLGS? Or is it just that either her diet isn't right or she's not getting enough insulin?
It is important to note that I can't really use the data I collected on Olive's SS before the 2nd cycle on 9-22-20 since I was using a different syringe brand that wasn't maintaining the correct and consistent insulin dose that I now have since switching to the Relion syringes. And I'm now feeding the bulk of her carbs during the first half of the cycle and the lower amount of carbs for the second half.
http://www.diabeticcatinternational.com/knowledge/insulin-information-scales/
Lantus (Glargine)
General Information
Lantus/Glargine is a U100 human insulin that is therefore dosed with U100 syringes. Glargine is the actual name of the insulin; it is sold under the brand name Lantus.
Lantus is available in 10ml vials or 3ml cartridges or pens. Cartridges are not available in the US. If you have Lantus pens you still need U100 syringes (3/10cc-0.3ml U100 syringes with half unit markings). The pen itself only doses 1u increments. You will need to draw the amount of insulin you need to dose from the cartridge that is in the pen. The top of the cartridge (the rubber stopper) is visible when you take the cap of the pen off. That is where you need to insert the syringe to draw insulin.
If you live in a country where cartridges are available that is recommended. The cartridges cost more… but there is less chance of insulin losing potency vs. the vial as there is less insulin contained in a cartridge, so it will be used more quickly. With the small doses we do use with our cats (vs much higher human doses) we do not go through a vial as quickly as people do. There is therefore much less waste with the cartridges (or pens) vs. the vial.
Lantus is available at any pharmacy or chemists and will probably be less expensive there than if you buy via your vet. If you are in North America, purchasing at Wal-Mart or Costco is probably the cheapest option.
The insulin in the vial or cartridge should be clear. If you see crystals developing, you should discard the vial or cartridge and start with a new one.
Lantus is a long lasting insulin: Onset (when the insulin starts working) is usually around +3-+4. Nadir (when it is strongest and the BG lowest) tends to be around +6-+8 for most cats. It starts wearing off around +8-+10.
Ideally when starting TR at least, +10 dosing works best with Lantus: that timing makes the best use of overlap between the two doses of insulin. A +10 schedule is though very difficult to keep up for most people with professional or other obligations. +12 dosing is possible; it may take a little more time for your cat to become regulated. If you are unable to dose +10 on a regular basis, doing so over weekends/days off and using a +12 base during the week/when you are working is also a strategy that some members have used successfully.
Each insulin has its own challenge… the biggest challenge with Lantus is the way it works. When you inject Lantus it creates a depot under the skin. Insulin is then released over time from there.
Because of the strong depot characteristics of Lantus, it takes 3, or for some cats even 4, doses before you see the full effect of any changes to what you are doing or what has happened (scale adjustments, a longer duration between shots, etc). You do not see “instant” results with lantus.. patience is required!
Lantus is a powerful insulin, and small adjustments may make a big difference. Dosing adjustments are therefore usually made by small increments (0.25u, 0.125u – also known as a fat). Depending on your cat’s results, a larger increase may be suggested. Senior Members will help you with what is best for your cat.
When you dose Lantus, after pushing the plunger down, you should leave the needle in place and slowly count to ten before removing it. When you have removed the syringe, gently apply some pressure to the spot for a few seconds. You should NOT rub the area as that will damage the Lantus molecues.
Starting Scale for Lantus (After 24-hour Detox):
Imperial BG……….Metric BG………..Dose of insulin
150 – 250…………..8.3 – 13.9……………….0.25u
251 – 400………….14.0 – 22.0………………0.50u
400 +………………..22.2 +……………………0.75u
Dosing Criteria for Lantus:
The dosing criteria to be able to give insulin for Lantus (all criteria need to be in place) :
• A minimum of 10 hours since the last dose of insulin
• A BG of a minimum of 150/8.3
• A BG that is rising if it is between 150/8.3 and around 225/12.5: if the BG is higher than this it is more important that the cat gets the insulin it needs to bring its BGs down to normal numbers and to maintain overlap