Re: kibble - yes, there's two issues with using kibble in hypo situation.
1) it takes longer to affect BG. Honey usually boosts BG within about 10 minutes, wet food within about 20-30 minutes, but kibble is unpredictable and could take an hour or more.
2) it takes longer to wear off. The effects of wet food usually wear off within about 2 hours, but kibble once again is unpredictable - it can last hours. So once youre past that hypo situation, the high carbs are still sticking around and boosting BG even more (which we usually don't want).
The flat yellow last night and today mean a few things:
1) the normal dose was not enough to cut through such a big bounce
2) her body is still bouncing, so this mornings shot also was not enough to cut through that.
I'm guessing she may clear it tomorrow, based on how tonight's numbers look.
Remember that bounces are unpredictable, which is why we always say still shoot your normal dose. They may clear it the next cycle, or it may take up to 3 days. Trying to override a bounce usually makes things worse - you end up with a serious hypo because you gave too much insulin and the bounce broke, and then you get another bounce from that.
I have not heard of the inflammation thing, no. I see the flat yellows after a bounce quite a lot, it tends to affect all cats. But I'm very curious if you have a link or something for me to read about it?
In order to slow the drops, you need to first find when her onset is (when the insulin starts to lower BG). It looks to me that it's by +1 on ProZinc - not quite enough data because of the bouncing, but that's what it looks like. And this is where a lot of trial and error comes in -
Since her onset is so early, I'd probably feed medium carb (around 10-12% carbs) with the shot. Start with that for about a week and see how she does. You have to give it a week because you have to "filter out the bounces" - meaning,.you have to give it enough time to see how it works when she isn't bouncing. If it slows the early drop down, great! But then more than likely you'll probably have to give medium carb again around +2, and you may have to feed equal amounts (instead of the 100g/20g/20g)
Now the trouble with that is ideally you don't want to feed the medium carb while she's bouncing - take last night, this morning, and tonight for example. Feeding the medium carb is only.going to raise BG more, and we don't want that. But again, it's unpredictable. I'm usually pretty good at spotting the patterns and when the bounce will.break,.so I'm hoping after a few more weeks I'll be able to pinpoint her trends.