9/28 Jack AMPS 147 PMPS 93

Status
Not open for further replies.

JacksDads

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo
Yoshi here. Ah!This is confusing confused_cat <<< edit @ 12:38 pm: I answered my own confusion, as yesterday's numbers did earn Jack a reduction :-)

In 20 minutes from +11.6 to +12 Jack level is dropping - As I am used to not shooting below 150, I don't know if I should go ahead and give him 0.5u right now or not. I thought we'd be able to get him on 1u twice a day. But should we be starting at 0.5u????
 
Re: 9/28 Jack AMBG 147

If you want to start (re-start?) at 0.5u, that's absolutely fine. With the 45 last night, that earned Jack a dose reduction. With the food changes, he may not need a lot of insulin.

The goal is to get Jack on a dose that you can shoot twice a day. If it's going to be 0.5u, that's fine. Also, keep in mind that a 147 is pretty much the same as a 150.
 
9/28 Jack AMBG 147 / .5u @ 9:20 am

Alright - so I went ahead and did 'im at 9:20 with 0.5u
Having another missed shot would just 'of kept up the "Multi-colored" cylce - and we're aiming for the blues baby! <<Insert bluesy jazz song here>> The Cat Jack'o Insulin Blues ;-)
 
Re: 9/28 Jack AMBG 147

Here is the link to yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26083
Perhaps you can test at +1 and +2 and give some LC food to keep Jack surfing.. Many people have had success with feeding in the early hours of the cycle. I am not familiar with your feeding schedule there, but if you have to leave, maybe leave food out for him to graze on if he needs it.
 
Re: 9/28 Jack AMBG 147

Hey guy -- can you change the subject line so it reads AMPS? You gave a shot -- AMBG is our shorthand if no shot is given.
 
Diet Considerations

Right now, we're feeding Jack 2 oz. of Primal Raw Food at AMPS and PMPS.
Jose will be around in the afternoon, so he can do spot checks on Jack to make sure he doesn't take a low-green dip. If Jose and I were both not home, then we'd probably give Jack some food to keep him surfing. An adapted daily feeding schedule could be a good solution to even out his curve... One thing we might try is leaving out 1 oz. defrosted cube and 1 oz. frozen cube at AMPS and PMPS. Luckily Sawyer (the civvi-CRF cat) doesn't eat raw, so we don't have to worry about Jack having his lunch stolen.

(I added yesterday's condo to the top, I thought it was there, strange.. and changed the subject from AMBG to AMPS at first, it was AMBG, but I decided to shoot 'im up a lil' later - but thanks for staying on top of me)

And looking back at yesterday's numbers, he did earn a reduction anyway :-)
 
Re: 9/28 Jack AMPS 147 +1/200 +2/155 +3/92

Morning Yoshi - surf Jack, surf. was just peeking at ur SS. you guys been burning some midnight oil. Insulin is a weird deal, isn't it? You give them a ton of it a day, they do terrible. You give them a tiny bit a day and they do so much better. It seems contrary to logic. But look how Jack's numbers are responding. I went thru the same thing with Shadow.

Hope you and Jack have a great day. Aren't orange cats the sweetest? :-D
 
Re: Eyes Please: 9/28 Jack Surfing Greens Not Sure about PM Dose

Silly Jack - surfing the greens ALL Day - doing so good... he's actually doing "too good" right now...
Since we don't have enough consistent data to feel comfortable shooting low - The basic protocol tells us we should either a. token shot b. skip the shot c. give a late shot

We're leaning towards the token shot - but by how much? .25u? He's already at .5u reduction from last night's 1.0u...
Or maybe 0.5u is a small enough dose that we don't have to worry about hypo as long as one of us is monitoring him :?:

~Y & J
 
Re: Eyes Please: 9/28 Jack Surfing Greens Not Sure about PM Dose

couple of questions:

1) your earlier post says you shot this morning at 9:20. If so, his shot isn't due for another hour.
2) are you home tonight to monitor? Do you have high carb wet food on hand and plenty of test strips?
 
Re: Eyes Please: 9/28 Jack Surfing Greens Not Sure about PM Dose

Response to Libby:
1. That's right - he got his AM shot at 9:20 - so we can hold off and see if his numbers start to climb at all until... say... 9:30 pm? (an hour and 10 min from now)... -maybe the best question I can ask right now is how late can Jack get his PM shot, but still be "on schedule" for his 9:00 am?
2. I am at home to monitor - - are there people looking at the boards late night too? and yes, we have HC (and corn syrup) on hand and plenty of testing strips. (::sigh:: I never imagined that my cat would be keepin' me up at night... I thought I at least was gonna be able to wait until we had kids :roll:
 
Re: Eyes Please: 9/28 Jack Surfing Greens Not Sure about PM Dose

ha! The cat is good practice for kids. ;-)

you can check at 9 or 9:15 and see where he is. It shouldn't be hard to get back on schedule because most likely he will bounce at some point and give you a higher preshot (maybe in the morning).

Shooting low is a good thing, when you're safe about it (by testing a lot and having the high carb food handy). Lantus is known for giving flat curves, so the goal is to get a flat curve in the range at which his pancreas can heal. We believe that is under about 120. You can look at my Lucy's spreadsheet to see what can happen when you shoot at low numbers.
 
Re: Eyes Please: 9/28 Jack Surfing Greens Not Sure about PM Dose

9:00 pm check - Jack is at 93 - goin' up! yay.

Libby - I scanned Lucy's SS... On days like 01/05/09 and 01/08/09 - I see your first spot-checks were nadir and not right after the AMPS... were you at worried at all about hypo for the few hours after the shot and before she got the HC? (Is there a better chunk of data to look at to get a better idea.. Or actually - from Jack's chart - it would be awesome to know his curve, and from what I can tell - it looks like he takes his nadir dip within 3 hours in the AM - but at night - it's been more progressive (like on 9/23 and 9/24) - I guess it'll be a few weeks before we start to be able to really understand his trends...

Do trends tend to stay consistent with cats? Or can those randomly change too?
 
Re: 9/28 Jack AMPS 147 PMPS 93@+12/81@+12.4

Ok, so with 93 @ PMPS we waited another 20 min hoping he was starting to trend up more, but we got a reading of 81 at +12.4
I'm so nervous giving him his "full dose" because I'm not used to shooting low... but here goes.. (It's just 0.5u, so he should be fine - I'm telling myself).

+12.7 - He got his full dose of 0.5u... giving doses less than 1.0u is strange. Like, it actually feels physically strange pushing the plunger in, because it already feels like it's completely pushed in all the way. It amazes me that that tiny small bit of liquid is regulating the whole process of enabling Jack to distribute the glucose in his body.
 
those were days I was at work. I had tons of data from the evenings and from other days when I was home, so I knew that even if she went low, she would be ok. That is also maybe not the very best time period to look at, because that is when she was racing toward going off the juice so she was having crazy lows all the time.

If you look earlier on her spreadsheet, the days when I had an opportunity to shoot blue or green were the days when she surfed in those nice numbers for hours. Yes, she bounced, but she held the lower numbers for a while. Gradually she started holding the lower numbers for longer and longer, until one day the pink and red were suddenly gone.

Lucy is kind of an extreme example because she was extra bouncy and hard to regulate, so it took her quite a while to get there.

It's a little hard to see Jack's nadirs because all of the skipped shots (and the resulting high numbers) cloud the picture. Once you have been shooting every 12 hours for a while, things should become more clear.

Nice shooting. :smile: The first step is to get a +1. By testing, you maintain control.
 
Wouldn't it be nice if we could get bonus hours of sleep for the time we put in. :mrgreen:

From earlier tonight said:
giving doses less than 1.0u is strange. Like, it actually feels physically strange pushing the plunger in, because it already feels like it's completely pushed in all the way.
So, um - maybe it was a fur-shot? No dip must mean that he didn't get the insulin, right? Does that happen to anyone else? Not seeing a dip at all after a dose? Could the food have counter acted the shot completely?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top