9/28 Charlie AM 329 +5 29 +5.25 49 +5.75 76 +6.75 76 +8 104

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
Just fed beef. Going to retest in 15 mins. AGH! I have been giving Charlie this dose all week. Hope this is not what's been happening while I've been at work.

Thank God I worked from home this week. I will lower Charlie's dose to 1 unit tonight.
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 28.8

ARG is right. Did you give him some high carb food? Not a ton, but some.
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 28.8

Yes, dosecrease time, definitely.

What do you mean by "Just fed beef"? What food is that? HC?

Re-test in 15 is a good plan.

DYANA, can you stay on? I'm cooking and everything will burn...

Jane
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 28.8

THANKS, Dyana! I will check in after cooking, k? SHould be about when you have to go :lol:

Thank you!!

Jill, Dyana will hang with you for a bit. Then if no one else is here, I will come back and watch this cycle with you, ok?
You're doing fine.
Breathe :smile:

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 28.8 +5.25 49

Tested again and she's at 49 after the beef (thought it was MC but just looked it up now and realize it's 7.5% carbs). Felix Senior beef in jelly. When I saw her at 49, gave her 50 grams more of this beef plus maple syrup and she's eating it like a chowhound.

This cat is going to give me a heart attack. @-)
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 28.8

Good that she's eating. Don't give her too much (I don't know what 50 grams looks like), as she may come down again, and you may have to keep feeding her for many hours, yet.
I would test again about 20 to 25 minutes after the last test.
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 28.8

Please update the Subject Line in your first post with your latest test, so that anyone coming on or watching knows what the current number is.

You're a good girl Charlie cat_pet_icon you earned a dosecrease :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 29 +5.25 49

You are doing great, Jill! That 49 is better.
Keep surfing on the green Charlie!
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 29 +5.25 49

Oops. Too late. I had fed her 50 grams this morning for breakfast at AMPS. It was time to give her 50 more just when I caught her going low.

We are currently feeding her a strict 200 gram per day diet. Normally we leave out 100 grams when we go to work, we give 20 grams around 5pm, give 30 grams at PMPS, and give the last 50 grams before bed.

Today I gave her 50 grams of carny wet food at AMPS. Then when she went low to 29 BG level, I gave her 50 grams more of the Felix senior beef in Jelly. For some reason, I thought this was MC or HC since it was in a bit of what I thought was gravy. After looking it up online, it seems like it's only 7.5% carbs. So after realizing that, I gave her 50 grams more of that food with a bit of maple syrup on top. She ate it all.

This means she has currently had 150 grams today (to be clear).

To give you an idea, 100 grams is the equivalent of 1 small bag of Felix senior beef in jelly.

I will test again shortly. Thanks for hanging out with me for a few mins.
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 29 +5.25 49

:lol: I'm sorry, I don't know what grams looks like, but it sounds like she just ate a lot and maybe 3/4 of her daily allotment by AM +5.25.. In the 20s, you do want to get them up right away, and out of those 20s pronto. If you see her in the 20s or low 30s again, give her a little bit of food with some karo or syrup, or some high carb gravy.
You're doing fine. She may come down again, in an hour or two, once all that food wears off, but it is getting later in the cycle, so maybe she'll surf, if we're lucky.
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 29 +5.25 49 +5.75 76

You're right. She got 3/4th's of her daily allotment way too early. My mistake. I was simply trying to react quickly. The first bit of food I gave her, I thought would solve the problem on its own. When it didn't, and when I realized it wasn't even MC or HC, I gave the rest of the bag (50 grams more) with some maple syrup on it.

In the end, she probably had too much. She's sleeping like a baby on her testing chair right now. As if to say, "keep watching me, mom. I'm not out of the woods yet!"
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 29 +5.25 49 +5.75 76

I hope Charlie continues to come up for you. Hang in there. You're doing a good job.
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 29 +5.25 49 +5.75 76

Okay, I think test again in 30 to 45 minutes. I'm going to have to be logging off in a few, so keep testing if she's staying in the green, as she may start to come down some as the affects of the food wears off.

I know, I tend to want to give a whole can of HC at low low numbers, too. It's hard to just give them a little bit.

Good luck, today. Jane will be back on to help you when I log off.
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 29 +5.25 49 +5.75 76

Ha, that was the fastest I've ever cooked :lol:

Hi again Jill :smile: That does sound like a lot of food! Did you have the Dealing with Low Numbers Sticky printed out?

Boy do I know what you mean by wanting to react super-quickly! The first time Karre threw us a 52 (and that was the lowest he would ever ever go - little did we know!) we fed him almost a whole can of HC :lol: It was just a panic-reaction.

For next time: You caught Dyana's recap of instructions if this happens again, right? Any questions on those? And you're ok with the plan, to re-test in 30-40 minutes, yes?

How are YOU doing? Heart rate ok after that surprise BG? :smile: HUGS to you!

Jane

P.S. Dyana, thank you so much for jumping in! I'm back if you need to skedaddle. Hugs to you too :-D
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 29 +5.25 49 +5.75 76

I'm fine.

I have the papers on dealing with low numbers. Again, it was time to feed her 50 grams anyway, so she got the entire 50. The second batch of 50 grams was a mistake. I should have just given her a bit. I actually did just have a "react fast, gut reaction" because I also thought that she wouldn't eat it all. Usually she leaves some food for later. Not this time.

I will retest again shortly.

Now for another question which I hope some people have input on.

I will be flying to Chicago for a month to see my family in December. My partner will be going to Denmark for part of that time, and then joining me in Chicago afterwards.
I've decided that there's no way I trust leaving Charlie here with a total stranger coming in daily to watch her, give insulin, etc. And if I leave Charlie here with my partner, it's not ideal either since Charlie will need to fly to Denmark for part of that time, and then they both can't come to Chicago later.

KLM will allow me to take Charlie on the flight (seats were just approved & I need to book by day's end). However, I didn't specifically tell them she was diabetic. If I do, is this going to be a problem? It's 200 euros each direction just to take her with (PHEW! That's almost as much as a ticket for a human being, and she'll be under the seat in front of me). Anyone have any experience with this?
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 29 +5.25 49 +5.75 76

Ok, great that you have the sticky printed :smile: For next time, you can always just vary your normal feeding schedule by just giving her less than the usual 50g, under the assumption that you may have to feed a tsp or two every half hour for a while.

When you're working from home, it might be useful to throw in a spotcheck around (+2) or (+3) - there's a chance you may have been able to see this drop coming if you'd have another BG test in the interim before (+5).

I'm sorry I have not experience in travelling with diabetic cats... I'm sure some folks will though and be along to give you some thoughts!

Standing by for BG update!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 29 +5.25 49 +5.75 76

Thanks Jane. Actually had planned on doing a test at +3. Got all my supplies ready, tried to do the test, and FAILED. Charlie had eaten all the tuna, and I realized that the little needle I was using this morning needed to be replaced. As I had tried poking her a few times and didn't get any blood, I decided to wait a bit until the next test. Numerous work calls later, and after having the dishwasher repairman leave, I went to test again. That was at +5 when my little troublemaker almost gave me a coronary. :-D
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 29 +5.25 49 +5.75 76

charliesmom said:
I went to test again. That was at +5 when my little troublemaker almost gave me a coronary. :-D

You crack me up, Jill :lol: Thanks for the laugh! I'm glad you're okay, and Charlie is too. Is she still napping happily? And you - did you get a treat? Maybe a nice cappuccino again?

Any BG update? (Also, a maintenance request: Can you please update your SS? Would be great!! Sorry to bug you with this!)

Hugs
Jane
 
9/28 AMPS 329 +5 29 +5.25 49 +5.75 76 +6.75 76

She's still napping peacefully.

I had a GREAT BIG cappuccino! ~O)

Will update the SS right now. Was focusing on the first things first.

Thanks for the reminder.
Jill
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 29 +5.25 49 +5.75 76 +6.75 76

Beautiful surf!

Good girl, Jill, for going to update the SS :smile: And for having a treat cappuccino :lol:

Keep on this, ok? She may yet wobble back down.

Can you add Charlie's name to your subject line, too, please? I didn't even see it was missing! Sienne spotted it. Thanks Sienne :smile:

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 29 +5.25 49 +5.75 76 +6.75 76

Lots of excitement this morning!!

I think Dyana flies with J.D. You might want to send her a note asking about flying with a cat. I would get a note from your vet just in case there's any issue going through security for an international flight with insulin and syringes. I'd also want to find out how you go through security with a cat in a carrier. I also suspect if you need to test during the flight, the bathroom will be the best place to do so.
 
Re: 9/28 Charlie AMPS 329 +5 29 +5.25 49 +5.75 76 +6.75 76

:lol: Don't know how I missed it either! I'm glad Sienne caught that. It's weird how many things can get missed when one is just focusing on specific issues, or low BGs, and whatnot! How amazing to have lots of sets of eyes on LL :-D

Any BG update? I'd probably go for one an hour after the last test, or if that's already passed, I'd get one now, just to see where she is, k?

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/28 Charlie AM 329 +5 29 +5.25 49 +5.75 76 +6.75 76 +8

+8 = 104. She's steadily rising slowly but surely. Slow and steady wins the race.
 
Re: 9/28 Charlie AM 329 +5 29 +5.25 49 +5.75 76 +6.75 76 +8

Tested once more and Charlie was rising (BG of 126) so I decided to go to my haircut appointment at 4:30.
Just bit by a dog on the way there.

This is NOT my day.
Jill
 
Re: 9/28 AMPS 329 +5 29 +5.25 49 +5.75 76

charliesmom said:
I'm fine.

I have the papers on dealing with low numbers. Again, it was time to feed her 50 grams anyway, so she got the entire 50. The second batch of 50 grams was a mistake. I should have just given her a bit. I actually did just have a "react fast, gut reaction" because I also thought that she wouldn't eat it all. Usually she leaves some food for later. Not this time.

I will retest again shortly.

Now for another question which I hope some people have input on.

I will be flying to Chicago for a month to see my family in December. My partner will be going to Denmark for part of that time, and then joining me in Chicago afterwards.
I've decided that there's no way I trust leaving Charlie here with a total stranger coming in daily to watch her, give insulin, etc. And if I leave Charlie here with my partner, it's not ideal either since Charlie will need to fly to Denmark for part of that time, and then they both can't come to Chicago later.

KLM will allow me to take Charlie on the flight (seats were just approved & I need to book by day's end). However, I didn't specifically tell them she was diabetic. If I do, is this going to be a problem? It's 200 euros each direction just to take her with (PHEW! That's almost as much as a ticket for a human being, and she'll be under the seat in front of me). Anyone have any experience with this?
I'm just peaking in from work, and don't have time now to finish reading the rest of your condo, but J.D. goes with me across the country each year to visit my dad. He flys under the seat. Here in the U.S. you need to get a Health Certificate within 10 days of departure, I don't know what the rules are for you in Amsterdam. Flying with a diabetic is workable.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top