9/28 Autumn amps-134, +6-224, pmps-223

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Yesterday was miserable without the AC house got to 85 last night until the cold front came in at 1a.m. Woke up to it being 48!

I'm really pleased with her amps considering we had bad storms over night.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/28 Autumn amps-134

Great way to start the day, Mel! Hope today is calmer and storm-free for you and Autumn.

When you get a chance, could you please tell me more about your experience with Levemir versus Lantus? Thanks.

Enjoy the day,
Eva
 
Re: 9/28 Autumn amps-134

Eva,

I would be happy to! But I need to make this disclaimer first for anyone that might be lurking or happen to randomly read this thread. I am speaking only from my personal experience with both Musette and Autumn both of these cats were adopted as diabetic when their previous owners either choose not to treat or were unable to treat. As such they presented other complicating factors to overcome not normally seIen in a newly dxed diabetic cat.

Musette was a twice DKA survivor when I adopted her and she was a nightmare to get any kind of control over her bgs on Lantus, she would drive and zoom back up. She had absolutely no idea how to be a good sugarcat flat refused to read the stickies! On Tilly's if I found a dose that got her preshots down to pinks she would bottom out. She looked like she was on NPH instead of Lantus. She would nadir around +4 and then take of like a rocket. I finally got some control split dosing like you would with N but as you know that's not a long term fix with a depot insulin because eventually you get over lapping nadirs.

Once I switch her over to Levemir she smoothed out, she still had the wrong curve for the insulin she was on be at least it was textbook Lantus as opposed to roller coaster ride. As you remember she even looked like she was headed towards OTJ when she suddenly stopped eating and went into DKA a third time and passed because the ER vet missed she was losing red blood cells like water.
I always suspected that she had underlying health problems that made her so hard to regulate more than likely a form of cancer after seeing her final blood work. It looked a lot like my dad's who died of Leukemia.

Now with Autumn she was a trainwreck personality wise as you remember when I got her.She did great on Lantus number wise. but mean especially right after onset down right nasty. On forgot to mention Musette was also tense on Lantus be not Lev.So since it had help Musette personality wise I switched Autumn to Levemir after talking to her vet and finding out he actually prefers it over Lantus. And well she is still a work in progress...lol

Actually she has turned into a very sweet and funny girl on lev for a tortie...afterall she does have a reputation to uphold!! =-O

But the basic difference are flatter curve, later onset for example Autumn's onset is about +5ish, thus a later nadir. Autumn's is about +12. So a lot of times I'm shooting her nadir. Which can be kinda scary if you aren't use to shooting low to stay low, or still thinking in terms of a Lantus curve time table. Once you remember onset is about mid-cycle it gets a lot less hairy. lol

Levemir has a longer manufacturers shelf life Levemir 45days as opposed to 30days with Lantus.

I could go on with the chemical and action differences but I've already written a novel..hehe

A couple other random observations with Autumn Levemir seems to draw smoother with fewer bubbles. Also she doesn't seem to have so much a perfect dose as does a perfect cycle of doses. She seems to cycle between or three doses. I'll try to get a chance this weekend to update her spreadsheet so you can she what I mean. Deb's Lucian is a real good example of a Lantus to Levemir cat.

So what kind of problems is Butters having?Nothing serious I hope.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/28 Autumn amps-134, +6-224

Well if she keeps creeping up Little Miss is going to earn herself a dose increase.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Bumped her back up to 1u on the p.m. shot I was hoping she was going to skip this portion of her dose cycle...guess not.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Mel, great explanation of how Levemir has worked for Musette and now Autumn. Thanks for taking the time to post this.

"but mean especially right after onset down right nasty. On forgot to mention Musette was also tense on Lantus be not Lev.So since it had help Musette personality wise I switched Autumn to Levemir after talking to her vet and finding out he actually prefers it over Lantus." -- Very interesting to my husband and me, Mel. Butters has always been an extremely anxious, nervous, sensitive cat since we brought him in to live with us in 2006. We do wonder if Lantus has contributed to his becoming even more anxious over the past year.

Butters was having some diarrhea and over-grooming to the point of removing the fur on one of his front legs. We've ruled out IBD and have gone through four novel protein diet trials, including raw rabbit, to rule out food allergies. No change in his over-grooming. Psyllium powder sprinkled on his canned food has stopped the diarrhea. But we're beginning to think Lantus might be part of his anxiety problem. Butters does not have parasites and is treated with our other cats for fleas. Topical cortisone cream gives some relief, not permanent though, and raises his bg numbers considerably.

I do think we're going to give Levemir a try in a month or so, Mel. The reason I'm also interested in compounded PZI is that it's the closest available insulin to a cat's own insulin. Don't think we want to give up on depot insulins yet without seeing how Levemir works for Butters.

Thanks again, Mel.
Eva

P.S. We've even considered Prozac for Butters' anxiety. But he's a difficult cat to medicate orally. Foams at the mouth and vomits.
 
Ya I would definitely give Levemir a try given what you are describing. Both Musette and Autumn where way high strung on Lantus turned into cuddle bugs on Lev. Now could part of that be part of their settling into a strange new place possibly.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Eva & Butters said:
...P.S. We've even considered Prozac for Butters' anxiety. But he's a difficult cat to medicate orally. Foams at the mouth and vomits.

I believe it may be possible to get fluoxetine (Prozac) as a transdermal gel/cream to rub in the ear for ease of administration.
 
Good Morning, Everyone ~

Mel, I know I've read postings by a couple of other members here saying that their cats became calmer when switched to Levemir. Can't remember who though. I definitely think trying Levemir for Butters is our next step.

BJ, I didn't know Prozac was available as a transdermal gel/cream. Thanks for that info. Since Butters is used to us messing with his ears, that might work for him.

I think we might try switching to Levemir first to see how that works for Butters before adding the Prozac. That way, we can figure out what helps or doesn't help him. Thanks, Mel and BJ!

Our story about how Butters came to live with us:

Four of our current six cats were unneutered male strays that appeared in our back yard over the past seven years. From our experience, unneutered male cats can revert fairly quickly to a semi-feral state when abandoned outdoors as three of our four had. It takes time and patience to gain their trust and to re-socialize them to bring them indoors as many of you know.

Butters, our sweet diabetic cat, is one of our former semi-ferals. He appeared in our yard during the summer of 2006 as a very wild boy who would run when we opened the door. Gradually over the months, he came to know my husband and me better, but he was still wary and couldn't be touched or petted. One day when I was feeding him, my hand brushed against his side and, instead of hissing at me as he usually did, he rolled over and let me pet him. A couple of times, Butters became very frightened of noises and neighbors and attacked me, slashing my arm pretty badly one of those times. But I knew Butters wasn't really attacking me. He was acting out of fear. Poor baby.

We moved him indoors on Christmas Eve of 2006, a Christmas gift to ourselves, my husband and I always say :smile: . We would not have moved him in so quickly, but my husband noticed that Butters had an injured foot when he came inside to eat. My husband said we couldn't let Butters out again in the freezing, snowy weather. We took Butters to our vet for treatment of his injured foot and to discuss neutering. Our vet told us that Butters had been attacked by some animal, maybe a raccoon, and that he had a bad abscess that went all the way through one of his paws. But what made it even worse is that our vet wouldn't neuter Butters until the abscess had healed. Talk about a very stressful, yowly three weeks...Butters panicked indoors. He would throw himself against the back door trying to get out. We kept him in a room in our basement at night, and Butters would throw himself against the basement window trying to get out. My husband put a towel over the window so Butters wouldn't hurt himself trying to get out. If Butters hadn't had an injured foot, we would have released him and let him spend some time outdoors.

Butters has become one of the gentlest, dearest of cats since he's found us. He's the mediator of disputes among the other cats. He loves my husband and me, and he even grooms my husband's beard :-D . Two days after our beloved Willie cat died, Butters brought me the gift of a dead mouse in bed. Sweet and creepy at the same time.

WOW...I've gone on and on. Can you tell we love this cat?

Eva
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top