9/27 Toby's PMS=352+3=338

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Toby started out at 367 last night so didn't test again last night . Got up a few times and checked on him. He was high again this morning. Looked at the two spreadsheets again this morning. It gives me hope that Toby will get regulated Someday or at
least get down to better numbers. Thanks Julie and Wendy for keeping my courage up. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/27 Toby's AMS=389

Hi. Just stopping in to say I hope Toby starts to come down soon. Maybe you just haven't found his dose yet.
 
Re: 9/27 Toby's AMS=389

You're not alone in the boat, Peg. Wendy & I have both been there & we completely get it. If you haven't looked in on Polly, Jenks, Bailey - all of them are daily posters who have had to go over 5u to get the blood sugar down into normal numbers. Tip is another one, although Cindy doesn't post every day. Sandy's BK . . . the list is long - we've all experienced that crappy feeling of having our cats not respond to the normal doses.

Hang in there and things will improve. One step at a time gets you where you are going! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/27 Toby's AMS=389 +6=326

It gives me hope that Toby will get regulated Someday or at least get down to better numbers.

He will. I know it's hard not to see improvement in the numbers, but try to remember that each day you're one step closer to finding the dose that will be perfect for him. Today, you're closer to reaching that dose than you were yesterday or two days ago or a week ago. It's a slow process, but I have no doubt that you'll get there.

Hang in there! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/27 Toby's AMS=389 +6=326 PMS=352

Hey at least we are mostly in the pinks. Wonder if it would be better to buy a vial instead of a pen if he is going to be on a high dose? Don't know how long the vial will last. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/27 Toby's AMS=389 +6=326 PMS=352

We got up to 8.75 units and I still used the cartridge, pen refill available in Canada. But it was only lasting a couple of weeks. I'm not sure what is more cost effective where you live.

Come on Toby, let's see some yellow.
 
Re: 9/27 Toby's AMS=389 +6=326 PMS=352

I used both - the vial holds 1000u and the box of 5 pens (300u each) holds 1500u. Costs vary so much that it's hard to say which one is more cost effective where you are. If you're not a math person, I can figure it out for you if you give me costs for each one.

The last insulin I bought I think i got 4 boxes of pens for $250ish. A woman was selling it on Craigslist because her diabetic dad had died. Another FDMB member who lives near me found it and sent me the link. She bought one box and I got the rest. We asked lots of questions and were satisfied the boxes weren't expired and had been kept refrigerated. The insulin worked fine. You take your chances on there, but others do report finding good insulin there at times as well.
 
Re: 9/27 Toby's AMS=389 +6=326 PMS=352

I can buy one pen for $75.00 or 5 for $375.00 to $400.00 Dollars a vial is about $250.00. Hope we don't get up so high I can't
afford the insulin. I know it's a lot cheaper in Canada. Can a person mail order it from Canada. Do you need a prescription.
I have been worried about the high dosage due to the price of it. Didn't realize he get this high when I started it. Hope he shows signs soon that his bg is coming down. Peg and Toby
 
Chris/China knows how to order it from Canada - you could ask her for how-to's.

When you buy a box of pens, that's 1500u for $375, or $0.25 per unit.
When you buy one pen, that's 300u for $75, or $0.25 per unit
When you buy a vial 1000u for $250, that's also $0.25u per unit.

so they are all the same price per unit at those prices. Kinda odd, but i think that's right.
 
I seem to remember Chris/China's price was around $130 ish for a box of pens. We pay $99 here so that's not a bad add on for shipping.
 
Just posted in Chris/China condo and asked how to order from Canada. I think we are getting ripped off in Maine. I have a Wal-Mart about 10 miles from me. Called them to see if they would sell just one pen to try they said no I had to buy 5 for $375.00.
Call Wal-Mart 25 miles from my house and they said yes so had to drive extra 30 mile to get it. Crazy! Peg and Toby
 
Isn't Lev less expensive than Lantus? Here in WA, I paid $230 for my first vial of Lantus; the 5 Lantus Solostar pens cost $290! There is one small advantage to the pens that I can see, supposedly you can get every last drop out of them,whereas you cannot with the vial, this much I do know. :?
 
In Canada I pay $30 more for a 5 pack of Levemir than Lantus. The website in Chris's post also has Lev about $30 more.
 
Re: 9/27 Toby's PMS=352+3=338+7=356

Will see if my vet. will fax prescription to Canada. If not will have to try and buy it here. Hate to pay that price though. Chris said about $170.00 there compared to $375.00 here. Will have to wait and see. Thanks, Peg and Toby
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top