9/27, Tango, AMPS 88, + 8 92 , PMPS 86, +2.5 85

I sent an update to our vet and her office just called. The vet wants us to either only give insulin once a day or stop for a few days and see how he does.

I said I am not comfortable with either option. She said that's fine and we'll see how he's doing in a few days. Their concern is his BG might drop too low.
I informed tech that we test before each shot and a mid-cycle everyday.

I want to continue to follow this forum's protocol. My understanding is if Tango holds #s under 100 for 7 days, then he gets another earned reduction to 0.25. Hold 0.25
for 7 days then reduce again until totally off insulin. Then if his BG remains under 100 (don't know if that's the magic #) for 14 days, he's in remission.

I don't know if our vet will give us any push back if we go against her recommendations. If so, need help with how to handle situation.

Also, taking Tango in on Monday for blood work to check kidney values.

Your thoughts???
 
You don't want to stop insulin cold turkey. For a strong remission, we slowly reduce the insulin dose to zero. After a week in normal numbers on 0.5U, you would go down to 0.25u and then 0.10U. I know it must be tempting to stop and be done with shooting and testing, but you are on the last stretch now. Fingers crossed.

You are testing enough and he is in safe greens. If he drops below 50 at any point, he earns a dose reduction. If you find your vet doesn't support this, maybe just avoid discussing Tango's diabetes with him? Or fib saying you stopped the insulin. Some of us have done that when our vets don't understand.
 
You don't want to stop insulin cold turkey. For a strong remission, we slowly reduce the insulin dose to zero. After a week in normal numbers on 0.5U, you would go down to 0.25u and then 0.10U. I know it must be tempting to stop and be done with shooting and testing, but you are on the last stretch now. Fingers crossed.

You are testing enough and he is in safe greens. If he drops below 50 at any point, he earns a dose reduction. If you find your vet doesn't support this, maybe just avoid discussing Tango's diabetes with him? Or fib saying you stopped the insulin. Some of us have done that when our vets don't understand.
@Bandit's Mom

Totally agree with you. If I have to I will fib a little. We have plenty of insulin so that's not an issue.
Thank you!

Tango's PMPS is 86
 
Back
Top