9/27 Taishi AMPS 242, +3 122, +8 157, PMPS 65, +1 88, +2 73, +3 84

Taishi_Ci

Member Since 2021
It's me! Things have been very uneventful with Taishi since we returned from our "vacation" (not really a vacation, but eh)... I really do feel we lost progress with his regulation by putting him on a reduced dose while he was with a cat sitter :(

When we got home, we upped his dose to 2.25. He was on 2.5 before we left. His numbers were all over the place and we probably should have waited a couple extra days, but a couple days ago we bumped him back up to 2.5.

Tonight, he's only at 65 at +11.5
. I was actually planning on feeding him about 15 minutes earlier than normal, because I think my husband forgot to give him his evening meal (so he only had breakfast/lunch today and hasn't eaten in probably 9+ hours), but I was shocked by such a low number this close to shot time.

I know typical advice is to STALL and retest... but 65 is a number where I normally give him MC food to prevent a lower drop. I'm stalling right now, but even if his BG goes up a little bit without food, I assume I shouldn't give him the full 2.5 tonight (we are 15 min from shot time)? What should I give him?
 
If you can monitor, you can shoot the full dose. I will be around to stay with you, should you need help during the cycle.
 
If you can monitor, you can shoot the full dose. I will be around to stay with you, should you need help during the cycle.

You really think so? I tested him again after waiting 20 minutes and got 69 (so essentially the same number). I broke down and fed him, since I think the lack of food for an extended period of time is contributing to the super low number.

For my own sanity, I'm going to stall for another 20 min while his food settles, retest, then shoot. I can stay up to monitor. I'll report back in 20!
 
You've shot 81 before and 69 is within meter variance. And he is flat/headed higher without food. Waiting another 20 mins will only give you a food influenced number.

If you can monitor, and have food and test supplies you can keep him safe. Plus, shoot low to stay low! :-)
 
You really think so? I tested him again after waiting 20 minutes and got 69 (so essentially the same number). I broke down and fed him, since I think the lack of food for an extended period of time is contributing to the super low number.

For my own sanity, I'm going to stall for another 20 min while his food settles, retest, then shoot. I can stay up to monitor. I'll report back in 20!

I'm sure I should have taken your advice, but I did end up stalling and retesting. I got 81 (which I know is a food influenced number) but it made me feel less scared to shoot. I gave him the full 2.5... let's see what happens!
 
88 at +1 .

I'm not going to feed at this point, since he just had a whole can of Fancy Feast an hour ago. I want him to have some room in his tummy in case we need to break out the higher carb stuff :)
 
Last edited:
84 at +3. I'm surprised by how stable he's been! The only food he had (besides dinner) was a small spoonful of LC for a snack. I'm considering heading to bed because he doesn't seem to be crashing and has his auto feeder set up for snacks throughout the night. Do you think these numbers and his previous patterns still warrant testing every hour? @Bandit's Mom And thank you so much for your help/support. I haven't posted on the message board regularly because, thanks largely to your guidance/advice, I feel equipped to handle most situations. The 65 so late in the day today just really freaked me out!
 
Back
Top