9/27 Kitty Cat AMPS 305 PMPS 404 Dose Increase?

Christina & Kitty Cat

Active Member
9/25 thread, History:
  • 9/11-9/13 vomiting, constipation, ketones small
  • 9/14 vet/hospital, started ondansetron + famotidine, "not DKA yet"
  • 9/15 first low number event, HC & honey
  • 9/16 reduced from 1u to 0.5u for 2 cycles
  • 9/17 increased from 0.5u to 0.75u for 2 cycles, vomit after new seafood flavor
  • 9/18 first day of greens & blues, fed MC, reduced from 0.75u to 0.5u for 6 cycles, last day ondansetron
  • 9/21 increased from 0.5u to 0.75u
  • 9/25 increased from 0.75u to 1u
We're now 6 cycles into the new dose of 1u. I've been sick the past few days so I haven't been testing as much but his nadir has definitely been over 200. Better than a few days before which was in the 300s, but still high. Should I increase his dose again or keep holding? I'm new to TR so still trying to figure it out.
 
Hi Christina! I'm glad you're checking in and hope you feel better :bighug: You are right per TR you can increase by 0.25 though I personally can't give dosing advice :D If you don't get an answer tonight, post a new thread in the morning and just put your question in the title - something like 9/28 Kitty Cat NEED ADVICE - Dose Increase? Once you get your question answered, you can throw your AMPS and other #s back up (I just cut and paste mine over to Notes on my Mac). And of course use the ? drop down like you did :)
 
We're now 6 cycles into the new dose of 1u. I've been sick the past few days so I haven't been testing as much but his nadir has definitely been over 200. Better than a few days before which was in the 300s, but still high. Should I increase his dose again or keep holding? I'm new to TR so still trying to figure it out.

So sorry you've been unwell! Hope you are better now?
It does look like an increase to 1.25 is in order unless he sees numbers tonight that mean holding the 1 unit dose. Right @Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA) ?
 
PM+2 356

Thank you friends <3 I'm still under the weather but don't want to fall too behind in taking care of him.
Here's what I'm looking at:
"if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl."

Prior to the most recent increase, he was mostly over 300 which would've meant a 0.5u increase from the 0.75u. So if I had done it then or I increase now, either way I'm ending up with 1.25u. Just wanted to be cautious earlier since he went to BG 56 on 1u before, but now realizing it could've been a unique day caused by going to the hospital the day before.

Will get a +10 before I post back here tomorrow. I missed ketone tests yesterday and today but put some plastic over his litter so I can try to get it even if I fall asleep. But I think I'll be okay to just do weekly instead of daily testing.
 
You are definitely good for the increase to 1.25 units. I missed you, was snooping your spreadsheet earlier today. ;) Feel better soon. :bighug:

I would still try to get a ketones test more than 1 time per week if you can. It was two weeks ago he had elevated ketones and that's just too recent. In spite of what you read elsewhere, we have seen ketones creep in with kitties in the yellows. Even the bit you quoted says more often that once a week if nadirs are above 200, which they are. You might be interested in this post on ketone awareness.
 
You are definitely good for the increase to 1.25 units. I missed you, was snooping your spreadsheet earlier today. ;) Feel better soon. :bighug:

I would still try to get a ketones test more than 1 time per week if you can. It was two weeks ago he had elevated ketones and that's just too recent. In spite of what you read elsewhere, we have seen ketones creep in with kitties in the yellows. Even the bit you quoted says more often that once a week if nadirs are above 200, which they are. You might be interested in this post on ketone awareness.

:bighug::bighug::bighug: thank you!! Still a little sick today but wayyy better than last night. I think it's just a mix of burnout and weather changes.
I got a ketone test late last night! Heard the plastic rustling and then woke up to pee paw prints everywhere.... but it was NEGATIVE! :D
That was a helpful post, thanks for sharing. I'll keep testing!
 
Back
Top