9/27 Henri; PMPS 92, +1 72 65@1.5, +2 62, 56@2.5, +3 53, 64@3.5, +4 66, +5 72

Katie_Waz

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-26-henri-pmps-80-1-63-2-58-3-57-4-63.235953/#post-2644835

Riding it out to see if she needs another reduction in insulin. Very nervous so I'm starting the thread just in case I need some help.
For those who don't know the story, we lowered her dose 6 cycles ago. She had dropped below 50 and I had been using food to keep her up. I have been continuing to use food to keep her up bc I wasn't sure if it was the depot working still and I didn't want to lower her again too soon. I was told the depot lasts for 4-6 cycles (I'm sure there is room for movement) but being that I am on cycle 7, I'm around all day to monitor closely and I won't be around bc of work tomorrow I though I would see what happens today without the influence of food.

If anyone thinks this is not a good idea please let me know.

I'll keep you all posted...toe beans crossed!
 
She is really working the reduced dose too! Do you have to prop her up with HC/MC?
Other than her first drop awhile back...ive only used low carb. I found if she gets down to 50-60. I can give her 20-25 cals of low carb every 20-30 min and it slowly brings her back up.
I thought if I used low carb I could maybe avoid a bounce bc it would be such a slow rise
 
Last edited:
You may or may not avoid a bounce but I feel it’s time to let her decide on when she earns the reduction. Low carb is under 10%. Henri, keep up the good work.
 
You may or may not avoid a bounce but I feel it’s time to let her decide on when she earns the reduction. Low carb is under 10%. Henri, keep up the good work.
definitely, I was also doing the feeding bc of the depot and I read in a sticky that when you do a reduction that it can cause a quicker release of it so I wasn't sure if it was that, that was bringing her lower and not what her norm would be on this dose. But the depot I was told would last 4-6 cycles and this morning we are on 7 so I wanted to let it ride lol
She had dropped to the 60's at her +2 but has been maintaining which is exciting and we are at +4.5 right now. She's due to eat a snack at +5

I think if she maintains this pattern for a week (staying under 100) she earns a dose reduction as well? I have to look over my notes again but that's what I have in my head.

She must be feeling pretty good today bc she is extra playful too!
 
Yes. A week in normal numbers earns a reduction as well. I’m glad she’s feeling well. Appetite back?

It is, I gave her the anti-nausea yesterday afternoon...maybe an hour after she threw up the denamarin? I was thinking of giving her another dose today just to make sure bc I did see her doing this weird mouth thing that shes done when she's nauseous in the past.
 
Other than her first drop awhile back...ive only used low carb. I found if she gets down to 50-60. I can give her 20-25 cals of low carb every 20-30 min and it slowly brings her back up.
I thought if I used low carb I could maybe avoid a bounce bc it would be such a slow rise

@Wendy&Neko does what you feed when the cat goes low (LC, MC or HC) affect how soon a cat bounces and how high it bounces? This is something I've wondered for quite a while now.
 
Katie, you are doing a great job with Henri - looks like you are really learning what your cat needs.:D
does what you feed when the cat goes low (LC, MC or HC) affect how soon a cat bounces and how high it bounces?
A cat bounces because it either drops fast, or gets to lower numbers than it's used to. Occasionally also from spending long times in numbers that it's not used to. How soon a cat bounces depends on the cat. Neko's worst bounce numbers were the start of the third cycle after the event that caused the bounce. Dunno why, just her signature move.:cat: Most start the bounce earlier, the odd one goes a little later. Height of bounce also varies with a few factors, how familiar they are with lower numbers, how long it's been since they've seen normal BG numbers, sometimes whether it's a fast drop or low numbers scenario, size of insulin dose. I've never seen an extensive list of the factors, just telling you what I've observed.

Food can influence a few things. Depending on what part of the cycle the bounce causing event happened, and the carb sensitivity of your particular cat, you may need LC, MC, or HC to bring the cat up. If you over carb after nadir when the insulin effect is waning, you can cause loss of duration and resulting higher preshot. Typically you need a lighter hand on carbs later in the cycle, but of course ECID. Food can also be used to prolong a surf in nice numbers. More time in good numbers can eventually help how much they bounce.
 
Katie, you are doing a great job with Henri - looks like you are really learning what your cat needs.:D

A cat bounces because it either drops fast, or gets to lower numbers than it's used to. Occasionally also from spending long times in numbers that it's not used to. How soon a cat bounces depends on the cat. Neko's worst bounce numbers were the start of the third cycle after the event that caused the bounce. Dunno why, just her signature move.:cat: Most start the bounce earlier, the odd one goes a little later. Height of bounce also varies with a few factors, how familiar they are with lower numbers, how long it's been since they've seen normal BG numbers, sometimes whether it's a fast drop or low numbers scenario, size of insulin dose. I've never seen an extensive list of the factors, just telling you what I've observed.

Food can influence a few things. Depending on what part of the cycle the bounce causing event happened, and the carb sensitivity of your particular cat, you may need LC, MC, or HC to bring the cat up. If you over carb after nadir when the insulin effect is waning, you can cause loss of duration and resulting higher preshot. Typically you need a lighter hand on carbs later in the cycle, but of course ECID. Food can also be used to prolong a surf in nice numbers. More time in good numbers can eventually help how much they bounce.


Thanks! Im really learning a lot!

Very interesting about the bouncing! I guess bc shes gotten used to those numbers more and my using food to keep her there us more what helped to avoid the bounce.

I'm going to save that little excerpt so when I forget I can reread it and remind myself lol
 
So I've been monitoring her and she was able to bring herself back up this morning. We are now at +3 in the PM cycle and she is down to 53. I'm anticipating the need for some help with food to bring her back up...but I'm waiting to see if she earns herself a dose reduction or she can bring herself up on her own. Toe beans crossed!
 
OK....so I think we're OK lol i feed her at 10:30 (+3.5) so I tested her first and she was up to 64, between that and just feeding her, I think i can go to bed. I'll do one last test before bed...then I'll set an alarm for 3 am (+8) to give her, her middle of the night snack (she still wont eat from the feeder and if she doesn't eat around 3/3:30, she gets crazy and starts chewing on anything she can get her hands on)

so YAY! holding in the 60's all day! I'm so proud of my Henri girl!
 
Back
Top