Re: 9/27 Fur Ball AMPS/113
GregFurBall said:
We were wondering when we could go down on (or even stop) Fur Ball's insulin. It seems like he has been doing pretty good on the .25U but I realize it hasn't even been a week since we figured out Lantis and got consistent w/ our dosing. Do we need to be more consistent in the greens before a trial of OTJ? Just curious. Karen
The short answer is: YES. You do need to be patient, and give the current dose a chance to show you what it can do for Furball. It's only your 8th cycle. The nadirs, which is what we base dosing decisions on for Lantus, have been nowhere near reduction-territory. (Generally, we will advise a reduction when the cat drops below 50, and certainly when the cat drops below 40.) Yes, you did get a 61 already - but it's a far cry from, say a 41 - KWIM (Know What I Mean)?
Also, I know it was a few days back, but I noted that you fed kibble. Please don't. Furball is done with that. Dry food is the very devil with assessing numbers - it takes too long too long to be "useful" to get a cat out of low numbers, and it stays in the system for far too long, skweing the overall picture. Please don't feed it anymore. Instead, use HC (high carb = anything over 15% carbs, see the food lists), or in a pinch, karo/honey/syrup. Ok?
I would encourage you to consider a few other LL-Kitties - look at Dale's Max and his SS, to get a sense of one example of a cat going OTJ, and the give-and-take process involved. Look at Peter&Devon/Mocha's case, for the opposite example, i.e. a cat that takes 2 whole years to go OTJ. And some cats never will. I'd also like you to review the Stickies when you have time, especially the
New to the Group sticky and the
Tight Regulation Protocol sticky. You'll hear a catchphrase often around here, about "It's a marathon, not a sprint."
Don't misunderstand - Fur Ball's progress is very encouraging. But there are no guarantees. I don't mean to seem discouraging. You really are doing great :mrgreen: And there's every reason to hope you will keep making progress! But let's take it a step at a time, alright?
Review the stickies, look at some other kitties, and come back with any questions, ok? And you've every right to keep in mind that with the TR protocol, the remission rate is "84% for cats started on the protocol within 6 months of diagnosis, and 35% for cats that began more than 6 months after diagnosis." There's LOTS of hope
Hope this helps!
Hugs!
Jane