JennC & Diago
Member Since 2018
Hi All, (Sorry for the long post but I need some guidance)
I've been trying to figure out which direction of dosing I should go with. My goal is to safely regulate my cat, remission would be a bonus. We had remission for 2.5 years and yes it was nice but right now I'm concerned with regulation.
I've read the stickys on both methods but still unsure which method to choose mainly because we're seeing some successful mid-100's throughout the day. Yesterday and today we got to see some greens. He did give me a scare yesterday with a 44 so we decreased by 0.25u since yesterday was day 5 of the change to all wet food and he went from 500's down to the 100's. He was on low carb food since original diagnoses of 2018. Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein Chicken and FF chicken pate. We cut out the Dr.E CP dry. I worry that he's still on too high of a dose now that we cut out the dry food and given the decrease we've seen so far.
With SLGS I see that if your cat's nadir is below 90 to decrease by 0.25 on one sticky and 0.5 on another sticky. When is the right time to decrease, is it the first time you see a number below 90, is it after a few days? Also, if you decrease and the nadir's start to creep back up, do you hold that dose for 5-7 days before you go back to the last 'good' dose?
With TR, it scares me to hold a dose until you see three instances of dropping below 50. Seeing those numbers when his normal without insulin was around 80-90 and I can visibly see he feels terrible sucks. What I do like about TR is that it allows you to increase within 2-3 days if needed based on the readings. Right now, I'm working from home so I can grab mid-cycle tests but I'm not sure for how much longer.
I'm also still very nervous about shooting lower pre-shot numbers, for instance tomorrow I have jury duty so I can't be home to test him through the cycle which is scary but I'm a little glad to give us both a break after yesterday. He's super tired of me right now. I definitely don't want to lose our progress so even though I'm nervous about shooting pre-shot numbers I don't want to start skipping shots and lose everything we've gained so far.
I know this is a personal preference as long as you are feeding all wet food and honestly I made the switch to all wet food to follow TR but with the drop yesterday to 44 and that fact that he is super growly with me since yesterday has me upset and trying to figure out what direction to go. I've literally broke down today with everything with him. The fact that he is upset with me got to me. If you've read all the way to here, thank you. I need some guidance and appreciate you reviewing.
I've been trying to figure out which direction of dosing I should go with. My goal is to safely regulate my cat, remission would be a bonus. We had remission for 2.5 years and yes it was nice but right now I'm concerned with regulation.
I've read the stickys on both methods but still unsure which method to choose mainly because we're seeing some successful mid-100's throughout the day. Yesterday and today we got to see some greens. He did give me a scare yesterday with a 44 so we decreased by 0.25u since yesterday was day 5 of the change to all wet food and he went from 500's down to the 100's. He was on low carb food since original diagnoses of 2018. Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein Chicken and FF chicken pate. We cut out the Dr.E CP dry. I worry that he's still on too high of a dose now that we cut out the dry food and given the decrease we've seen so far.
With SLGS I see that if your cat's nadir is below 90 to decrease by 0.25 on one sticky and 0.5 on another sticky. When is the right time to decrease, is it the first time you see a number below 90, is it after a few days? Also, if you decrease and the nadir's start to creep back up, do you hold that dose for 5-7 days before you go back to the last 'good' dose?
With TR, it scares me to hold a dose until you see three instances of dropping below 50. Seeing those numbers when his normal without insulin was around 80-90 and I can visibly see he feels terrible sucks. What I do like about TR is that it allows you to increase within 2-3 days if needed based on the readings. Right now, I'm working from home so I can grab mid-cycle tests but I'm not sure for how much longer.
I'm also still very nervous about shooting lower pre-shot numbers, for instance tomorrow I have jury duty so I can't be home to test him through the cycle which is scary but I'm a little glad to give us both a break after yesterday. He's super tired of me right now. I definitely don't want to lose our progress so even though I'm nervous about shooting pre-shot numbers I don't want to start skipping shots and lose everything we've gained so far.
I know this is a personal preference as long as you are feeding all wet food and honestly I made the switch to all wet food to follow TR but with the drop yesterday to 44 and that fact that he is super growly with me since yesterday has me upset and trying to figure out what direction to go. I've literally broke down today with everything with him. The fact that he is upset with me got to me. If you've read all the way to here, thank you. I need some guidance and appreciate you reviewing.