9/27, Corduroy, AMPS=441. DIFFERENCE IN READINGS??

Status
Not open for further replies.

blove7

Member Since 2013
Good morning! ~O)

It looks like his numbers are staying high again, which of course makes me very uncomfortable. Yesterday looked hopeful, but last night and this morning, not so much. At PMPS time tonight (8 p.m. EST), we will have given him the drop for 72 hours. Should we continue with the same amount or give him more? I'm apprehensive about either one! I guess the reason why I'm afraid to leave his numbers too high is because he showing more signs of neuropathy (weakness in his back legs and twitching of the head sometimes). He couldn't jump up on the bed this morning (he usually has a bit of a hard time with this, but today was worse). He's exhibited these signs for awhile, but I feel that the weakness in his back legs is getting worse, and I've learned that it's from having high numbers for an extended period of time. I ordered Zobaline, but it won't be delivered until next week, so I'm going to look for it at a local store here today.

Have a great day and I hope your kitties take a dip in the lagoon...safely! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/27, Corduroy, AMPS=441, +2=436. DOSE QUESTION

Morning.
You might find some methylcobalamin B12 at a pharmacy while you are waiting for your shipment to arrive.
Beware that many of them add cherry flavoring and Corduroy won't like that. ( at least not likely)
Vitacost actually has a capsule form 5000 mcg that you can open up and pour the powder on his food.
It has a trace of rice flour in it but that's what a few of us here have used.
http://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-60-capsules

You might get lucky and find something like that in a capsule form. Most of my own local pharmacies just had sublingual or flavored.
The bigger the pharmacy , the better selection. ( I could find nothing at walmart)
So if you have a vitamin type store.... that might be even better.


As for dose, I will let someone higher up the food chain help you with that.
 
Re: 9/27, Corduroy, AMPS=441, +2=436. DOSE QUESTION

It's been 72 hours. If numbers are still high at PMPS, I'd suggest increasing Corduroy's dose.

Just as an FYI, it takes at least a month or two to see results from methylcobalamin. I don't think a few more days will make a big difference. Rhiannon is also correct. Most of the other formulation of methyl B-12 contain either sweeteners or starch.
 
Re: 9/27, Corduroy, AMPS=441. Contour vs. Relion: #s NOT SAM

Thanks Rhiannon and Shadow and Sienne and Gabby,

In regards to increasing the dose, I'm wondering if I should go all the way back up to .10 or try something in between?

On another note, I tested Corduroy at +4, and on the Bayer Contour, I got 308, while on the Relion, I got 392. Keep in mind that I haven't yet bought new batteries for the Contour yet (I'm going to do that today). However, I have to say, this is extremely confusing and possibly dangerous, correct?

Rhiannon & Shadow, if I were to buy the Vitacost 5000 mcg capsule, I could pour the whole amount on his food safely?
 
Re: 9/27, Corduroy, AMPS=441. Contour vs. Relion: #s NOT SAM

A 90 point difference with 300s is a concern, but not as much as if you saw that variance in the low ranges.

When you get your battery, use each meter to test yourself. That will give a better indication of any difference in normal BG ranges.
 
Re: 9/27, Corduroy, AMPS=441. Contour vs. Relion: #s NOT SAM

Okay, will do! Thanks Carl!
 
Re: 9/27, Corduroy, AMPS=441. Contour vs. Relion: #s NOT SAM

Rhiannon & Shadow, if I were to buy the Vitacost 5000 mcg capsule, I could pour the whole amount on his food safely?

Yes I did that with Shadow. Since they pee out any their bodies don't need, I wanted to get it in her. The dose is between 3 - 5 mg ( 3000mcg or 5000 mcg) .
I chose the 5 mg. It is pink so their food turns a little pink and you can see that they ate it or not.
The trace of rice flour didn't affect Shadow. She seems to not be very carb sensitive. ( she prefers friskies to everything else and it has rice flour too)

I also have my diabetic grandmother on the methyl b12 and she noticed it helped within the first month.
 
Re: 9/27, Corduroy, AMPS=441. WHAT IS CUTOFF # FOR DOSE RAIS

Hi everyone,

It's Brigitte again...with yet another question! Sorry! Okay, should I have some kind of cutoff # tonight at PMPS time to determine whether or not I should raise his dose?
 
Re: 9/27, Corduroy, AMPS=441. WHAT IS CUTOFF # FOR DOSE RAIS

Okay, should I have some kind of cutoff # tonight at PMPS time to determine whether or not I should raise his dose?

I think the right answer is "no". It's the nadir number that indicates whether the dose needs to be adjusted. That said, if you see a low number at PMPS, of course post it and ask for advice before shooting. ;-)
 
Re: 9/27, Corduroy, AMPS=441. WHAT IS CUTOFF # FOR DOSE RAIS

Hi Brigitte!

You do not ever need to apologize for asking questions! We've all been there and know how scary it can be!!

As for tonight's PMPS, Carl is right...it's the nadir we look at much more closely than the Pre-shot numbers, but that being said, as sensitive as Cord has been to insulin, I'd say if you get a number under 200, you should stall...don't feed and ask for help.

If it's over 200, I think you'd probably want to go back to the dose you were on last that was effective, which would be the .1
 
Re: 9/27, Corduroy, AMPS=441. WHAT IS CUTOFF # FOR DOSE RAIS

The issue I would be more concerned about is whether the number at pre-shot is a dropping number. I'm less concerned about whether the pre-shot is over or under any particular number. If Cord had continued to drop from your last test, I would want to know if numbers are continuing to drop, if he's surfing, or if they are going back up.
 
Hi everyone,

Well, I got new batteries for the Bayer Contour, came home and did some testing as follows:

Corduroy
Bayer: 348
Relion: 436

Joe
Bayer: 53
Relion: 51

Corduroy (again)
Bayer: 380
Relion: 413

Me
Bayer: 124
Relion: 109

Needless to say, I'm utterly confused as to which one to believe when it's time to give his shot nailbite_smile

Does anyone have any advice...please ;-)
 
There are 3 different technologies involved in how the strips work. Some strips use glucose oxidase vs. glucose dehydrogenase with pyrroloquinolinequinon vs. glucose dehydrogenase with flavin-adenine dinucleotide. You would need to figure out if the two meters are using the same technology. Jill was running comparisons on Alex (see this info on Alex's SS). One of the points that Jill noted was that there wasn't a great deal of variability in Alex's numbers -- they were largely below 100. Just like you're seeing when you test yourself and Joe, the numbers on the two meters are about the same. It's when you're in the upper ranges that you see more of a difference between the two meters. With the 2nd test on Cord, the numbers are within the 20% allowable for meter variance.
 
Hi Sienne and Gabby,

Thanks for explaining. I will have to check to see if this is the case. Also, the very first day I bought the Relion, I dropped it. At first, I thought it wasn't going to work because nothing showed on the screen, but then it started working like normal, so I assumed that it was okay. Maybe not. :?

I gave him .10 units tonight at 8:13 p.m., so I'm hoping this goes well.

Have a great night!
 
blove7 said:
I gave him .10 units tonight at 8:13 p.m., so I'm hoping this goes well.
good morning, brigitte!
i'd like to share a few thoughts i have about going back to the 0.1u dose that dropped corduroy to 20 a few days ago.

the protocol does suggest going back to the last good dose when a reduction fails. however, 0.1u wasn't such a good dose when it has the ability to drop him like that. i know micro-dosing is difficult at best when counting drops of insulin. reducing to a "drop" didn't appear to be enough insulin, but 0.1u proved to be too much. the thing is, you don't want to recreate the same type of cycle that dropped him so low.

i know you've spent some time counting drops. is it at all possible for you to measure a dose between "a drop" and 0.1 unit?

if not, perhaps we should discuss options like the possibility of feeding low carb foods that are a little higher in carbs, but still less than 10% carbs and/or establishing a no shoot number. what i mean by a no shoot number is to pick a number (maybe 150?) and don't shoot the 0.1u until he reaches or surpasses 150.

i'm thinking out loud... trying to come up with a plan to keep him safe and at the same time avoid putting you through the kind of cycle you experienced the other day.

thoughts?
 
if not, perhaps we should discuss options like the possibility of feeding low carb foods that are a little higher in carbs, but still less than 10% carbs and/or establishing a no shoot number. what i mean by a no shoot number is to pick a number (maybe 150?) and don't shoot the 0.1u until he reaches or surpasses 150.

Jill,
Besides the carb levels being adjusted, could the "timing of meals" also be tweaked in order to gain better control of the curve?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top