9/27/18 Olive AMPS 212; +7=194; PMPS 235; +6=167 SCORE

Olive & Paula

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Nothing new today. No rain for once, I might get up into the gardens and start cleaning them out. Prep one for the garlic.

Hope everyone has a good day. Prayers and hugs to all in need.
 
In my quest to get cabergoline for Olive (many emails to referred vets/specialist) the 2nd opinion vet has agreed, she is calling it in to Wedgewood for the flavored liquid.

I emailed her on Monday to find out if she talked with the friend/colleague who lives in this area. Who is also the same Dr. Dr McCue told me to contact. I declined the removal surgery for various reasons. However this other specialist is only working with hyperthyroid animals at this time. So she and I are basically on our own here. She is using the papers and the literature/studies that both of us have found. She did say she has some more from 2017. I think I've seen it. But will get a copy.

Anyway, this vet Dr. P says the only thing she finds as far as side affects or complications is gastro upset and we can deal with that or if have to discontinue using it. I will have to sign a release which I'm okay with.

So in the info she has the only measurement of results if you will (don't know how to word it) is doing fructosimine (sp?) levels at certain times. I'm ok with that to. I will have to read up on it and try to understand it. She said it was like measuring the AC1 in people, again something I know nothing about.

She asked me what I wanted to achieve using this. I said to basically slow it down or stall the tumor so Olive doesn't get the spurts that cause the overgrowth tissue, bone growth, headaches and she can be more comfortable. She asks me if I'm looking for the hcm to resolve or for her to go into remission? I reply no it's not the primary reason but a benefit I would gladly accept.

So tomorrow I call to get appt for next week to get the baseline fructo done.

@Janine & Floyd any pointers/info you can offer here as we start this journey?
 
Woohoo! You've been fighting that battle a long time. Patience wins!

We have seen a few cats go a little off food, but not right away. I think your goals are good. A lower dose would be nice and perhaps a sign the tumour isn't as active. Not sure why the fructosamine, but pick your battles. I expect a number of the studies had kitties that weren't home tested. If doses came down as fast as some we've seen, the fructosamine would be way too late for o determine that.
 
I did tell her I read that in the first year the IGF could stay the same or even go higher. Don't know if fructo would be the same. Maybe I can talk her into limiting them to 6 months or a year. But for now we will get the baseline and get it started. Like you say, have to pick my battles.
 
Back
Top