9/26 Shadow PMPS 84 +2~83 +3~94 +5~81

Status
Not open for further replies.

rhiannon and shadow (GA)

Member Since 2012
shadow's condo

yesterday:
amps 96
+3 64
+3.5 85
+10 81
PMPS 100
+2 80
+4 75
+5 76
Amps 99

Morning.... ~O) ~O) grumble grumble ~O)
Good morning is an oxymoron.

I figured out why Shadow was so off yesterday. It was litter box oriented. Last night at pm shot, everything prepared and ready, I carried
her to our spot and felt lumps in her fur. She absolutely hates having poo stuck in her fur. On her own, her choices are to wrestle it off
with her tongue and who wants to do that? But she also doesn't want anyone to touch her butt area either. So shot waiting on the table,
DH got handed the scissors while I held on to her. She always goes ballistic. So I have a few scratches but I'm more determined than any
one else when it comes to holding a ballistic cat. Fortunately it was just lumps and not smears.
I don't think it was there all afternoon, but she probably was having a bit of difficulty and that's why I found her just sitting in the cat box around noon yesterday , just sitting there staring off into space.
The only thing I have in the house is psyllium capsules. I know a hi protein low carb diet can be constipating so I guess we need to have something to add here and there.
I've noticed you all like Miralax ( what's it's carb value) and how often do you think I should add it to her food? I don't want to overdo it
since she's not had any issues in that department.

It's just been so long since we've had the stuck fur issue, I hadn't even thought about how moody/sullen she is when it does. She could
use a good hair trim in the backside but I'll have to let the vet do that with the clippers. The only place in the world she is submissive
is at the vets and it is time for a 6 month checkup.
You would think after 12 years of this she would learn that we are helping her when this happens.

I'm moving her shot time bit by bit in anticipation of tomorrow's exit.
 
Re: 9/26 Shadow AMPS 99

Morning Rhiannon ~O) ~O) ~O)

WOO HOO! a green amps for Shadow - how nice is that! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

ahhhh.... the old stuck on the fur issue. I deal with this with Mannie all the time - he's a long hair so it happens more often than I would like. I usually end up washing his backside - he's become very tolerant of my doing so. I've also had the vet do a butt trim too, though I have read of those here on the Board that do it themselves. :shock: I have no clue on the carb thing on the miralax - though I know it is quite popular here on the board, and apparently is a good way to keep them regulated. I know those that use it do so daily. You could check with Ann of Ann and Tess, or Ann of Ann and Maggie. They probably would know.

Enjoy your day today! I hope it is a good one.
 
Re: 9/26 Shadow AMPS 99

Oh poor Shadow, but great numbers! I got the shaver to shave a little area on Leo's flank to practice shooting there so I could see his skin, and I thought he would go through the roof. He just laid there :-D That was a shocker! I wish Shadow could know that you are helping.
 
Re: 9/26 Shadow AMPS 99 +4~78 +7~75

I read a little on flank vs scruff and didn't understand all the issues, but the message seemed to be that flank was better. Did she talk about it in a post here I can read? I've just been varying where I shoot from his lower neck around his shoulders and only back a few inches past that. The further back I go, the more he seems to feel it.
 
Re: 9/26 Shadow AMPS 99 +4~78 +7~75

quote="Marje and Gracie"]Location of injection supposedly affects rate of absorption not BG.

Studies at Boulder Medicsl Center concluded:
Furthermore, the degree of absorption of any dose, both between individuals and in the same individual, can vary from day to day by as much as 25 to 50 percent, leading to unexplained fluctuations in glucose control. This effect is greatest with longer-acting insulin and least with rapid-acting insulin.
[/quote]


from my 9/17 condo
 
Re: 9/26 Shadow AMPS 99 +4~78 +7~75

glad you figured out what the problem was...

we use the miralax very very sparingly, just sprinkling maybe 1/16 of a tsp a couple of times in a day (or spread out over the day) and then seeing if it works, repeating if needed -- just sprinkling a few granules on the food to keep it going until it`s back to normal. that`s our experience. more that this caused us problems in the other direction. hope you get it sorted out!
 
Re: 9/26 Shadow AMPS 99 +4~78 +7~75 +10~90(puke) PMPS 84

tonite's shot is 2 drops less than normal... prep for not being here tomorrow. same dose tomorrow morning at 5:10 am :shock:

I think Shadow's +10 is where I found a slightly hairy puddle - pretty sure it was pukus. so her number tonite might be a little higher than
it would have been but IT"s ALL GOOD!
 
Re: 9/26 Shadow AMPS 99 +4~78 +7~75 +10~90(puke) PMPS 84

Glad you figured out what was making Shadow off yesterday. Poor kitty. That happens to Furball sometimes too with her long hair. She doesn't like me to clean her up, but I have to. Hope everything works out with you moving the dose in anticipation of your trip.
 
Re: 9/26 Shadow AMPS 99 +4~78 +7~75 +10~90(puke) PMPS 84

Thanks for the quote Rhiannon- I'll check out your other condo - Lisa
 
Re: 9/26 Shadow AMPS 99 +4~78 +7~75 +10~90(puke) PMPS 84

Glad you figured out what was bothering Shadow, hope she is better now. Hope she likes her reduced dose and everything goes well for your DD tests tomorrow Have a great evening!
 
Re: 9/26 Shadow AMPS 99 +4~78 +7~75 +10~90(puke) PMPS 84

Hi Rhiannon,

The usual dose of Miralax for constipation is 1/8 - 1/4 tsp bid. You can adjust that according to what Shadow does best with. Just experiment knowing those parameters. Most people mix with water and put in food but if Shadow doesn't eat well and you want to make sure she gets it all, you can do it like I do it and a few others, with a syringe.

I get Racci's butt shaved periodically but clean her when she poops too. That long fur attracts the pieces. :smile: I keep a tiny sharp scissor with her brush so she doesn't see what's in my hand and cut pieces. It's gone before she knows I cut it and the scissor is so small she never sees it.

I hope she feels better.

Melanie & Racci
 
Glad the mystery is solved. I don't know anything about miralax. I always used slippery elm.

Glad all is better today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top