9/26-Scratchie +11-53,88,158,205,+10=388

  • Thread starter Thread starter Scratchie'smom
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Scratchie'smom

9/25 Condo

Morning all, need a little help here this morning.

Woke up at 4:00am with Scratchie's number at 53.
Fed HC wet with syrup and a little of his old dry food (which I didn't do the other night as used only wet) tested 20 minutes later at 88.
Tested 20 minutes later and he is 158.
Next test (to have 2 not influenced by food) will be in 10 minutes.

Question? His shot is due, do I skip this morning? I'm supposed to go to work, but will definitely go in late. Don't want him to crash while I am at work since DH is still not testing.

Let me know please and thanks in advance!!

Jo
 
Re: 9/26-Scratchie +11-53, 88, 158 - Need a little help!

I'm not much help when it comes to dosing (too new) but thought I'd mention....I think food (hc and dry) can affect BGs for a couple of hours. I'll be watching to see what the more experienced beans have to share. :smile:

Good luck with Scratchie this morning. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 9/26-Scratchie +11-53, 88, 158 - Need a little help!

Thanks Teresa. I've got him up into the 200's so we'll see what happens.

Jo
 
Re: 9/26-Scratchie +11-53, 88, 158 - Need a little help!

I have to go to work, and am supposed to be logged off by now.
Please recap to be clear.
Was it at +10 that you fed the HC and syrup and dry food?
And is the 158 Scratchie's +12 number?

You have three options, shoot, stall, or skip. Here is the link to Dealing with Low Pre Shots

Will you husband be home to watch Scratchie, even if he can not test him? Can you come home at lunch time?

I have to go get dressed for work, but will check back with you real quick before I leave.
 
Re: 9/26-Scratchie +11-53, 88, 158 - Need a little help!

Thanks Dyana and sorry!

He tested 53 at +11. Fed him HC and syrup at that time. Have tested 3 times since then and now have him at 205.

I think I would rather do a small shot or skip, whichever you feel best. I won't be able to get out today to check on him later and DH doesn't test.

Sorry to catch you getting ready for work. I'm doing the same.

Jo
 
Re: 9/26-Scratchie +11-53, 88, 158, 205

Hi Jo!

Dyana asked me to stop in, she's got a busy morning. I work from home so I'm not as taxed.

The bump into the 200s is a good thing, but is's from the HC, most likely. I know your DH agreed to learn to test this weekend and that's wonderful. But until then, we have to keep Scratchie safe.

Most likely, whatever you shot this morning, he'd still do what he was going to do. HAVE YOU SHOT yet?

If you are NOT happy shooting, because Scratchie will not be monitored yet, skipping is a valid option. But remember, the effect of skipping will likely not kick in until the next cycle or the one after. So whether or not you shoot and leave now, you need to leave out food, and instruct DH to watch/feed very closely...

Jane
 
Re: 9/26-Scratchie +11-53, 88, 158, 205

Hi Jane, here we are again...

I have not shot yet this morning. His shot was due at 5 and it's now 5:42

Jo
 
Re: 9/26-Scratchie +11-53, 88, 158, 205

Ok. Looking at the PM-cycle of the 25th, he seemed to be coming out of a bounce. You bumped him up with food, which makes advising tricky because it distorts the picture. How many minutes are you past regular shot-time now? Can you get another test? When do you HAVE to leave?
 
Re: 9/26-Scratchie +11-53, 88, 158, 205

I should have left by now. I can get another test now, he is 50 minutes past his normal shot time. I'll be right back.
 
Re: 9/26-Scratchie +11-53, 88, 158, 205

Jane, he's at 206. He hasn't had any food for 1-1/2 hrs???

The bounce yesterday was from his 'dive' the night before, again no symptoms and he's a very happy cat this morning.
 
Re: 9/26-Scratchie +11-53, 88, 158, 205

Ok.

The factor making me nervous is that your DH will not test. Still, whatever you do, will probably not take effect until next cycle or after.

Based on that, you *could * shoot his regular dose, and then deal with the likely effects next cycle. Can you test this PM-cycle? Stay up if needed?

Either way, I would leave out a food-mix for him. Hsve you got any MC in the house? Can you ask your DH to feed every 3 hours or so?

Jane
 
Re: 9/26-Scratchie +11-53, 88, 158, 205

Jane,

Ok, yes he will be home and I can test all night if needed. I do have some MC in the house.

Sorry, guess I should have waited when I saw the 53 this morning and tested again later, but he was very hungry and I messed up!

Again, thanks for your help. I'll go ahead and shoot and update SS later.

Have a great day!

Jo
 
Re: 9/26-Scratchie +11-53, 88, 158, 205

Ok Jo. When you leave, please make sure there is food out for Scratchie. Please also encourage DH to make sure food is eaten every 3 hours or so. Since we will have no BG tests, I personally would err on the side of food-caution and rather feed too often than too little. When DH learns to lest, much of these complications will resolve! Hooray!

I would make sure Scratchie had access to LC/MC mixed food today. I realize he *may* not need it, but since we will have no tests, I would worry about feeding *only* LC.

Please get a test as soon as you are home, ok? And update your SS fully, as soon as you can.

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/26-Scratchie +11-53, 88, 158, 205

Scratchie'smom said:
I'll go ahead and shoot and update SS later.

Sienne, I think shooting normally was Jo's plan, given all I told her. I hope the LC/MC idea every 3 hours (up until +9 anyway) was ok.

Thanks for stopping in!
Jane
 
Re: 9/26-Scratchie +11-53, 88, 158, 205

Jo:

Just a few thoughts for the next time you run into low numbers. First, don't panic!!

I would not give dry food. The issue is that it takes far too long for dry food to be metabolized and have an effect on raising low numbers. Gravy from HC food works far more quickly. Dry also takes forever to work its way out of your cat's system whereas with HC food, it's in and out quickly. There's also the additional headache that if your cat is a dry food addict and it took a great deal of persistence to transition to canned food, you can then have a cat that will stubbornly wait for more kibble. A battle of wills with a cat is not fun.

With a number in the 50s at +10 or thereafter, I would test in 30 min. to see where the numbers are heading rather than feed. I would not feed unless the numbers drop into the 40s and then I would not give a full meal. We always feed the 40s (and lower). Numbers in the 50s that late in the cycle are very likely to rise on their own.

Feeding too close to shot time gives you a food-influenced number. You can be falsely reassured that you are shooting a safe number when it's not all that safe to shoot. Unless you gave Scratchie a bowl full of kibble, I doubt the rise to 205 was entirely food induced. Looking at Scratchie's SS, he bounces hard after green numbers. It's likely that's what's happening -- to the extent that my crystal ball is working.
 
Re: 9/26-Scratchie +11-53, 88, 158, 205

Thanks everyone!!!

I am at work now and left a mix out for Scratchie.

The kibble I gave him this morning was maybe 1 tablespoon, not very much at all - mostly HC gravy with Karo. His 206 number when I left was 1-1/2 hours after food. He's one happy boy this morning. I did panic after the other night, but I thought that I read the sticky this morning on hypos that if he had 'no symptoms' (which he didn't) and was between 20-60 then to feed with HC and test every 20 minutes, so that's what I went by. I'll remember for the next time, as there will be a next time. New to these drops that happen this quickly. He was over 490 last night, so I didn't think he could drop like that. :o

Not supposed to be doing this at work - they track everything - but wanted again to say thanks everyone!! Sorry I was a pain again today! :lol:

I'll give DH strict instructions on what to do. He's such a fart! He knew this morning I was having trouble but he went back to bed.... grrr. :evil:

Have a good day!

Jo
 
Thanks everyone for thoughts and help. I've learned a lot in the last couple of days.

Will be testing a lot tonight to make sure he doesn't go that low again, and if he does I'll watch. I'll update as we go!

Jo
 
Don't beat yourself up if you don't do everything "right" the first time. We learn as we go and you have to do what you think is best at that time. The important thing is to keep Scratchie safe. I'm trying to make notes as I read other condos on what people feed and when they feed so I will have an idea of what to do when Furball goes really low. That hasn't happened yet, but I'm sure it will. Last night was her first lower number (82) that I've dealt with. I think it's a good idea to have notes around because you never know when you may not be able to get on the board (power outage, computer problems, etc.).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top