9/26 Oberon AMPS 189, +1 230, +3 282, +6 327, +9 344, PMPS 344- labs update

Lisa & Oberon

Member Since 2020
yesterday, including vet report (kidney, GI and other issues): https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...pmps-115-1-191-2-200-4-240-vet-update.235894/

Last night at +4 Oberon was at 240 and apparently still heading up. No testing overnight so I don't know how high he went, but he's back down to 189 at AMPS. Maybe he's finally tired of pink? I know I am.

Still wrapping my brain around all of yesterday's vet results. The renal stuff concerns me the most, so I think my job today will be to read up on CKD.
 
I’m sorry to hear that Oberon isn’t feeling well, sending prayers. When u have time can u put his lab work on ss please. I have 2 ckd cats so I know what ur going through
Sending prayers
 
Looks like he's bouncing back up again... 282 at +3.

As soon as I get details on the labs I'll post them here; the ER vet is supposed to call today with results and I'll ask her to email me the info.
 
Heard back from the ER vet with urinalysis results- everything was normal except that the urine was slightly dilute (could be because of the fluids he got the day before?). Negative for protein, glucose, and ketones. Which surprises me, but he was in the middle of a dip in BG, so that might account for it.

I've updated the labs tab of the SS with his bloodwork from July and yesterday's urinalysis. Apparently they actually didn't run any bloodwork yesterday other than the BG checks (using an AlphaTrak). They're planning to do it on Monday. (Um... cat with ketones and a kidney gone missing and no bloodwork right away? Ack.)
 
OK... mostly successfully gave Oberon his evening stuff (other than insulin later). 100 mls of subq fluids; first time doing that and it went great. The hospital has a really good tutorial video. The trick was to just keep giving him treats so he stayed put. Pepcid injection was easy. Baytril tablet was trickier; it's the "taste tablet" and he was interested enough in it to try to just eat it himself, but he mostly just licked at it. Finally tried to actually pill him and he fought back. Tried putting it on top of his canned food and he got it in his mouth once and spat it out. Finally crushed it and mixed it with a bit of canned food + water and he had some, but by then I think he was full and just plain over it. I'll wait a little while and then offer it to him again and hopefully he'll get the full dose. (28 days of this... with luck the urine culture will come back negative and we can stop the Baytril.)
 
Holding steady in the mid pinks (352 at +5.75), but this is the lowest bounce he's had after a really big dip, so I think it's still an improvement. He usually breaks 400.

Tomorrow morning will be the 10th cycle at this dose, so I need to start thinking about whether to hold the dose longer after that or go ahead and increase 0.25.
 
Back
Top