9/26 Kismet AMPS 136, PMPS 137, +2 164

Status
Not open for further replies.

Courtney and Kismet

Member Since 2012
Good morning everyone! I did manage to steal a few hours of sleep in there somewhere. I'm deciding on whether or not to shoot this morning as I will be out most of the day. I have a feeling he surfed all night based on his readings this morning. I gave him some LC around 3am.

Yesderday's condo.

To recap (it was a busy day!)

Yesterday 9/25
AMPS-??? shot. 5u
+2----99
+3----67
+3.5--64 ---Fed tbsp of LC (Purina DM)
+4----56----Fed tbsps LC
+4.5--49 ---Fed tbsp of LC with drop of honey
+5----45
+5.25-51----Fed tbsp of LC
+6----51
+6.5--49
+7----74
+8----53 ----wth?
+8.5--57 ----Fed tbsp of LC
+9----58
+10---62
+11---77
+12---81 --- Holding PMPS for an hour to get back on normal feeding schedule
PMPS-80 ---Shot 0.25u
+1----116
+2----149
+3----128
+4.5--152
+5.75-130 ---- Fed a few tbsps of LC
+11---128

Today 9/26
AMPS-136 --- 1/2 can DM. Shot .25u, I think... hard time getting measurement.
+1------176
+2------166
+6------172
+7------163
+8------161
PMPS-137
+2------164

Hope everyone has a wonderful day!
 
Re: 9/26 Kismet AMBG 136 Dose Advice

Morning Courtney.
That was quite the ride yesterday.
No dosing advise from me. Just popping by.
Hope Kismet has a nice uneventful day!
 
Re: 9/26 Kismet AMBG 136 Dose Advice

Hi Rhinannon,
Yeah it was a crazy day/night! Thanks for stopping by! I took a quick glance through the forum and saw that nice AMPS from Shadow! Hope it's a good day for you guys!


I'm thinking it is probably safe to dose with .25u. I will be around to catch the +1 and can leave out extra food if I'm worried. He is starting to get impatient with me in his campaign for breakfast so i am going to go feed him.
 
Re: 9/26 Kismet AMPS 136

If it were me, I'd give Kismet some MC before I left the house and leave both MC and LC out.

You may want to think about a timed feeder for those days when you and DH have your long days.
 
Re: 9/26 Kismet AMPS 136

Good morning, Sienne! Hubby is home until early afternoon so I've instructed to him to feed him a few tbsps and to keep a close eye on him. You bring up an excellent point, though. My sister lives nearby and could probably pop in for us on days we're not around.
 
Re: 9/26 Kismet AMPS 136

One quick option is to make "catsickles." You mix canned food with enough water to make it soupy and then freeze (e.g., in an ice cube tray). You can then put out a few "cubes" when you leave. As they thaw, there's fresh food available. (Unless you have a cat like Gabby who's very food motivated and will lick the cubes.)
 
Re: 9/26 Kismet AMPS 136

Excellent idea. I will make some later tonight. Kismet and Gabby would get along smashingly well because he too is very food motivated. I used to hide little pieces of kibble in various places to make him go on scavenger hunts... he always won :)
 
Re: 9/26 Kismet AMPS 136, +1 176

I don't know if they'd get along. They might fight over who gets to lick the bowls clean. (Gizmo is very generous and always leaves a bit for Gabby.)
 
Re: 9/26 Kismet AMPS 136, +1 176

LOL good point!

+2--- 166 and I'm out the door for a few hours. Hubby is going to keep a watch and feed if he thinks it's necessary.

Hope everyone has a good day :)
 
Re: 9/26 Kismet AMPS 136, +1 176, +2 166

Those are beautiful #s, Kismet! I'm guessing that +1 is a food spike. Blackie does those all the time now these days. :lol: Hoping for lower blue #s and upper :mrgreen: #s for you today. Have a good day!
 
Re: 9/26 Kismet AMPS 136, +1 176, +2 166

Hi Angela, thanks! Hope you have a good day with Blackie!

+6--- 172 hrmmm. I'm not quite sure I got any insulin into him today. I'm having a hard time getting the .25u measurement...it was a good size single drop that I got on the end of the needle. If I pull back on the plunger at all I get .50u. I'm home for a few hours so I will be able to see where he goes. Hope this isn't his nadir :/
 
Re: 9/26 Kismet AMPS 136, +1 176, +2 166, +6 172, +7 163

Looks like he is surfing with that +6 and +7. I have to run back to work shortly. He is such a champ! I just go to him wherever he is and get in and get out. He doesn't struggle or try to get away. The only thing is sometimes he shakes his head and flings that blood droplet before I can catch it. I think I've finally broken in that sweet spot though, I am getting blood first poke every time now :D I actually think he enjoys all of the attention... such a ham.
 
Re: 9/26 Kismet AMPS 136, PMPS 137

Woah, PMPS is pretty much identical to AMPS. Like I said, I'm not sure he got any insulin this morning. I practiced with an old syringe getting water to .25u mark. I think I know how to do it now :) Kismet it happily eating dinner right now and we shall see if I can get it right tonight!
 
Re: 9/26 Kismet AMPS 136, PMPS 137

You are still doing great. I remember shooting micro-doses too....it's hard! Just do your best. Practicing with water is a good idea. Kismet sounds like a very nice boy. You have learned so much so fast! Someday you'll be coaching other newbies. Keep up the good work.
 
Re: 9/26 Kismet AMPS 136, PMPS 137

Traci, Thanks very much for the compliment :) I'm trying to learn as quickly as I can so I can get this boy regulated! I would love to help out on the board one day and give back. Everyone here has been so wonderful and supportive, it really blows my mind. It's testimony to the awesomeness of cat people! I'm so impressed at how Kismet and I were welcomed and the genuine concern that we've received. It really takes a village to treat a FD kitty, and I can't imagine a more insightful or generous village than the FDMB.
 
Re: 9/26 Kismet AMPS 136, PMPS 137

Wow. Numbers look much more stable today. Glad you were able to get some sleep after the craziness of yest.

I totally get what you are saying about trying to measure .25U. That's the dose we are on and sometimes I wonder if we even get it into him. What a great idea to practice with water. Gonna try that.

Have a great night.
Karen
 
Re: 9/26 Kismet AMPS 136, PMPS 137

Thanks Karen! Yep, it's been a much easier day! I'm glad his ears are getting a bit of a rest.

I was wondering if there is a better brand of syringe to work with. I use the Walgreens Super Thin Syringes. I'm not too convinced I got his shot right tonight, either. :? There's really no wiggle room below .50u... I know I'm getting a fraction lol but don't know how much! I think I've been erring on the lower side. He's probably been getting closer to 0.1 than 0.25. Does anyone have a recommendation for a better syringe?
 
Everyone has their favorite when it comes to syringes. My current favorite is the Monoject. I think Marje is using Terumo syringes. I get my syringes on-line through ADW.
 
I wish I knew of a better syringe. I was reading other posts today and there was a link about the different syringes. I was trying to find it but read too many and couldn't find it to share with you.
When our vet called in the script for Lantis she also called in one for the syringe. We are using Kroger brand as we didn't know we had options. Greg has been doing research but at this point we will probably just use up what we got.
 
Hi Courtney!

Looks like a nice flat blue day for Kismet.

I've used these syringes: Relion, BD, Walgreens, Monojects, and now Terumo.

All of them are ridiculously inaccurate from syringe to syringe. The Relions have very thick lines, the BDs get the worst bubbles, the Walgreens...they were just cheaply made ESP for the price, I loved the Monojects for a long time until the needle sticking down through the cone started widely varying so the doses could vary by almost .5u. The Terumos glide really easy...in fact so easy that you have to be careful that you get the syringe in the cat before you even look at the plunger :lol:

I use calipers for dosing so my doses are always consistent regardless of how Inaccurate the syringes are marked.

Check out this condo: Dosing with Calipers.
 
Thanks all for the suggestions! I will try the calipers method and if that fails get new syringes. Or I may just live on the edge and do both. haha The vet wrote a script for the syringes and Walgreens gave us the Super Thins II, I didn't know we had a choice! We have 3 refills available so I will see if I can request a different brand. My county has prohibited the sale of syringes without a prescription (it is Miami after all) but I will also check ADW.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top