JacksDads
Member Since 2010
Most Recent Condo (9/21)
Yoshi here. So it's been about 5 to 6 weeks since Jack's diagnosis - and the learning curve has been steep. My first interaction with this board was on Tuesday (09/21), and it was quite overwhelming to have my eyes opened to this supportive online world that Jose jumped into 9 days before me.
I understand the importance of posting daily now, and Jose and I will do our best - however, it's quite a huge schedule adjustment and new routine that we haven't smoothed out yet - so bare with our inconsistencies and know we are trying
(I don't know how y'all do it! I try to remind myself this is good practice for when we have kids
)
Where's the Reset Button :?: Jack's SS, is making my head spin. It hasn't helped that the vet that knows Jack the best is on vacation until sometime in October. I believe the most important issue on Jack's chart right now is that before this morning - Jack had not received an AMS for a full week! So, on one hand - I'm really happy that his numbers were high enough this morning to dose him - but on the other hand, there was a only a very small dip in his insulin on the PM curve. The smallest curve he's ever had I think. I can think of two reasons for last night's PM curve: * It was a partial fur-shot and/or * Jack's shed finally ran out after several days, and we now are seeing the true effects of the 1.75u dose.
While our vet is not reachable for the next few weeks, the director of the vet hospital we go to gave us the following advice:
* He wants us to skip a dose if Jack's numbers are less than 150 AM/PMPS.
* If Jack's morning numbers do not start getting closer to 100 than 50 - He wants us to bring Jack in for a fructose 2-week average test and a urine test
* He also said there's a chance that Jack would level out better if we switched insulin.
* The vet is on the same page with us regarding how to treat Jack, except for one important point: He doesn't want Jack's numbers going below 100 - ever. His philosophy is that it's more important to simply stabilize the cat at a 'safe level' rather than tight regulation (which Jose and I want to aim for as that's y'alls philosophy).
My biggest frustration is that we unfortunately have had too many variables changing too fast:
* We've been lowering the dosage at a steady pace (by the time we joined this forum mid-September, we got stuck adjusting from a high dosage to a lower dosage. We didn't realize pre-FD that our vets goal of maintaining a glucose level consistently above 150 wasn't going to help Jack go into remission, but in fact keep him insulin dependent. I know we would want to be doing exactly the opposite (slowly raising his dosage) ideally, and that was hopefully what we would have been able to do when we started with 1.75 BID - but a new complication arose when Jack's morning levels were dipping so low this past week.
* Switched testing meter brands on 09/19. The True2Go Walgreen meter was costing $70 for 100 test strips. ReliOn was 1/2 the price and recommended by y'all. So it was almost a no-brainer besides the fact that the two meters were sometimes giving wildly different numbers (more than 200 mg/dL apart), so I did a comparison of the two brands to find out exactly how they were different. Turns out that low numbers on both meters reported within 10% to 22% of each other consistently, and the higher the numbers got, the farther apart the meters reported them> You can view this recorded comparison on Jack's SS Chart, by clicking on the worksheet called "Test Strips". As the low numbers are the most important ones to not be misread, it seemed like an okay switch to make. But since the ReliOn consistently reports higher numbers - Jack's chart 'appears' to have a spike in higher numbers starting on 09/19.
* Also on 09/19 - Jack got over a cold he had for a few days. (Maybe that effected his levels, too?)
* From July through August, Jack was eating various dry foods including most recently the LC prescription M/D dry food until mid-September when we switched back to the LC Raw food diet Jack was originally on before we got Sawyer in July.
Nitty-Gritty
1. What is the correct shorthand for 4 hours 45 minutes after the PM shot? Is it: +4:45 PMPS ?
2. Is there any online retailer (besides Walmart) that sells the ReliOn test strips?
Is it okay to make the following changes on the Spreadsheet?
A. Weight is an important factor to consider, so I added a weight column before the remarks on the spreadsheet.
B. As +11 is important for AMPS, I moved it from the end/right side of the chart to the beginning/left side of the chart.
C. Wouldn't it be helpful to indicate when Jack's getting food not just in the remarks of the chart, but in the actual curve? I thought it would be nice to designate this by changing the color of the text during the hour Jack was fed from black to gray. (For example, +9 PMPS on 09/24)
Today's Schedule
I'm leaving right now for 2 hours (and back between +3 and +4 AMPS) then out the door again. Jose will be in and out all day.
Yoshi here. So it's been about 5 to 6 weeks since Jack's diagnosis - and the learning curve has been steep. My first interaction with this board was on Tuesday (09/21), and it was quite overwhelming to have my eyes opened to this supportive online world that Jose jumped into 9 days before me.
I understand the importance of posting daily now, and Jose and I will do our best - however, it's quite a huge schedule adjustment and new routine that we haven't smoothed out yet - so bare with our inconsistencies and know we are trying
(I don't know how y'all do it! I try to remind myself this is good practice for when we have kids
Where's the Reset Button :?: Jack's SS, is making my head spin. It hasn't helped that the vet that knows Jack the best is on vacation until sometime in October. I believe the most important issue on Jack's chart right now is that before this morning - Jack had not received an AMS for a full week! So, on one hand - I'm really happy that his numbers were high enough this morning to dose him - but on the other hand, there was a only a very small dip in his insulin on the PM curve. The smallest curve he's ever had I think. I can think of two reasons for last night's PM curve: * It was a partial fur-shot and/or * Jack's shed finally ran out after several days, and we now are seeing the true effects of the 1.75u dose.
While our vet is not reachable for the next few weeks, the director of the vet hospital we go to gave us the following advice:
* He wants us to skip a dose if Jack's numbers are less than 150 AM/PMPS.
* If Jack's morning numbers do not start getting closer to 100 than 50 - He wants us to bring Jack in for a fructose 2-week average test and a urine test
* He also said there's a chance that Jack would level out better if we switched insulin.
* The vet is on the same page with us regarding how to treat Jack, except for one important point: He doesn't want Jack's numbers going below 100 - ever. His philosophy is that it's more important to simply stabilize the cat at a 'safe level' rather than tight regulation (which Jose and I want to aim for as that's y'alls philosophy).
My biggest frustration is that we unfortunately have had too many variables changing too fast:
* We've been lowering the dosage at a steady pace (by the time we joined this forum mid-September, we got stuck adjusting from a high dosage to a lower dosage. We didn't realize pre-FD that our vets goal of maintaining a glucose level consistently above 150 wasn't going to help Jack go into remission, but in fact keep him insulin dependent. I know we would want to be doing exactly the opposite (slowly raising his dosage) ideally, and that was hopefully what we would have been able to do when we started with 1.75 BID - but a new complication arose when Jack's morning levels were dipping so low this past week.
* Switched testing meter brands on 09/19. The True2Go Walgreen meter was costing $70 for 100 test strips. ReliOn was 1/2 the price and recommended by y'all. So it was almost a no-brainer besides the fact that the two meters were sometimes giving wildly different numbers (more than 200 mg/dL apart), so I did a comparison of the two brands to find out exactly how they were different. Turns out that low numbers on both meters reported within 10% to 22% of each other consistently, and the higher the numbers got, the farther apart the meters reported them> You can view this recorded comparison on Jack's SS Chart, by clicking on the worksheet called "Test Strips". As the low numbers are the most important ones to not be misread, it seemed like an okay switch to make. But since the ReliOn consistently reports higher numbers - Jack's chart 'appears' to have a spike in higher numbers starting on 09/19.
* Also on 09/19 - Jack got over a cold he had for a few days. (Maybe that effected his levels, too?)
* From July through August, Jack was eating various dry foods including most recently the LC prescription M/D dry food until mid-September when we switched back to the LC Raw food diet Jack was originally on before we got Sawyer in July.
Nitty-Gritty
1. What is the correct shorthand for 4 hours 45 minutes after the PM shot? Is it: +4:45 PMPS ?
2. Is there any online retailer (besides Walmart) that sells the ReliOn test strips?
Is it okay to make the following changes on the Spreadsheet?
A. Weight is an important factor to consider, so I added a weight column before the remarks on the spreadsheet.
B. As +11 is important for AMPS, I moved it from the end/right side of the chart to the beginning/left side of the chart.
C. Wouldn't it be helpful to indicate when Jack's getting food not just in the remarks of the chart, but in the actual curve? I thought it would be nice to designate this by changing the color of the text during the hour Jack was fed from black to gray. (For example, +9 PMPS on 09/24)
Today's Schedule
I'm leaving right now for 2 hours (and back between +3 and +4 AMPS) then out the door again. Jose will be in and out all day.