9/26 Henri, PMPS 80, +1 63, +2 58, +3 57, +4 63

Katie_Waz

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...4-72-65-4-5-s-decreasing.235900/#post-2644187

Just starting a new thread in case she drops...which I'm sure she will as that's been the routine lately. Yesterday morning she dropped but recovered on her own without food. Today I'm nervous bc I shot her at a lower number than I have been (80). So it seems she occasionally will go up for her +1 and then drop for the +2. I did manage to get a little sleep last night. I slept from 2:30-6:45 and woke up to test her once and give her a snack but still...it actually felt refreshing believe it or not.

I posted yesterday about possibly needing to reduce her dose again. I was told if she drops below 50 to reduce. I reduced it 4 full cycles ago...we are on the 5th and I know there's the depot that I was told that can last for 4-6 cycles so I'm trying to hold out and keep her up best I can bc I'm afraid if she does go hypo and I do reduce that it might be too much of a reduction too fast for her.

So here's my question... If I am able to keep her up until the depot wears off and continue to struggle with it in the following days, should I reduce the dose again even if she doesn't go hypo? I'm thinking that it I constantly have to use food to bring her back up..that her pancreas is producing too much insulin?

and my other question...(possibly a dumb one so I apologize in advance lol) if her pancreas is producing too much insulin and I allow her to keep producing too much...will her pancreas eventually learn that it's too much and start producing less again? like will it adapt?
 
It does look like Henri's pancreas are getting ready for her to go OTJ. Which is why the extra insulin being administered is taking her low and she is going down the dosing ladder so quickly. It's not that the pancreas are producing too much insulin. They were not producing insulin and she needed the extraneous insulin. Now that they have begun to sputter to life, the extraneous insulin is more than she needs.

And yes, you reduce if she drops below 50. I think the depot should have adjusted by now. Someone with more experience can correct me if I am wrong :-)
 
OK...that makes sense....thanks for the explanation! and If I use food to keep her up so she doesn't dip below 50...do I not reduce then?
 
I know it's been really hard - all the testing and the feeding and the lack of sleep! The speeding down the dosing ladder can be really scary and exhausting on the caregiver. But she is doing so well and you don't want to lose the momentum.

I would reduce only if she drops below 50. It looks like she will probably oblige soon. :)
Just hang in there. You are doing a great job! :bighug:
 
I know it's been really hard - all the testing and the feeding and the lack of sleep! The speeding down the dosing ladder can be really scary and exhausting on the caregiver. But she is doing so well and you don't want to lose the momentum.

I would reduce only if she drops below 50. It looks like she will probably oblige soon. :)
Just hang in there. You are doing a great job! :bighug:
Thanks for the support and encouragement! Its nice to her that all my hard work is paying off. Ill keep on keepin on lol

And maybe have the hubby take over a few testing times so I can get a nap in lol
 
Like Joji has told you, take the leap of faith, stop feeding the curve, keep testing as she gets close, and then see if she earns the reduction. You will be able to get her up with hc and/or karro or honey.

Sleep is not overrated!:bighug:
 
Like Joji has told you, take the leap of faith, stop feeding the curve, keep testing as she gets close, and then see if she earns the reduction. You will be able to get her up with hc and/or karro or honey.

Sleep is not overrated!:bighug:

Is it better to let her drop under 50 then to get the dose reduction then? We're having a bit of a wonky day in the latter part of her AM cycle. She threw up her morning meds and a bunch of the food. I just gave her an anti-nausea med and I'm going to try to feed her some more food...not sure how this is going to affect her BG. I'll give her an appetite stimulant before dinner tonight if she is still not wanting to eat.
 
It’s best to reduce when under 50. When you are fighting to keep her up it’s best to see if she falls by not feeding. Sooner or later she will fall under 50. She’s been in really good numbers so don’t be afraid of her earning a reduction. It’s what you want. I wouldn’t give an appetite stimulant if she’s nauseous. Just test and if she hasn’t dropped much let her tell you if she’s hungry.
 
Last edited:
It’s best to reduce when under 50. When you are fighting to keep her up it’s best to see if she falls by not feeding. Sooner or later she will fall under 50. She’s been in really good numbers so don’t be afraid of her earning a reduction. It’s what you want. I wouldn’t give an appetite stimulant if she’s nauseous. Just test and if she hasn’t dropped much let her tell you if she’s hungry.

I started with the anti-nausea this afternoon so she shouldn't be nauseous anymore. But she did gobble down an afternoon snack for me so I suspect she'll be hungry for dinner :-)

Thanks for the advice about the reduction. Ill just keep up what we're doing :-)
 
If I were you I would make a change in what you are doing. I would not feed to keep her surfing. I would feed like you normally did before FD and let her drop under 50 and earn a reduction. Just my $.02 fwiw. I would not stay up all night testing.
 
It’s best to reduce when under 50. When you are fighting to keep her up it’s best to see if she falls by not feeding. Sooner or later she will fall under 50. She’s been in really good numbers so don’t be afraid of her earning a reduction. It’s what you want. I wouldn’t give an appetite stimulant if she’s nauseous. Just test and if she hasn’t dropped much let her tell you if she’s hungry.

I started with the anti-nausea this afternoon so she shouldn't be nauseous anymore. But she did gobble down an afternoon snack for me so I suspect she'll be hungry for dinner :-)

Thanks for the advice about the reduction. Ill just keep up what we're doing :-)
 
If I were you I would make a change in what you are doing. I would not feed to keep her surfing. I would feed like you normally did before FD and let her drop under 50 and earn a reduction. Just my $.02 fwiw. I would not stay up all night testing.

What do you think about this?
 
If I were you I would make a change in what you are doing. I would not feed to keep her surfing. I would feed like you normally did before FD and let her drop under 50 and earn a reduction. Just my $.02 fwiw. I would not stay up all night testing.

I just saw your second message lolI'm still getting the hang of the message board and sometimes I miss a message if I go tot the alerts and don't scroll from the bottom up.
For the most part I went back to our normal feeding schedule today. It's a little off bc of her throwing up. Instead of a small snack which if she takes it is only ever 5-10 cals...I gave her about 25 calories instead. Her dinner was also less than what she would normally have...probably bc she ate a bigger snack too late. I'll try to keep her somewhat on track but it looks like bc of the vomiting that the rest of her night will be a little off. She may not want to wait until 10:30 to eat..maybe i'll feed at 10 and she'll probably eat a little more. and then theres her middle of the night snack but if that's the only time I have to get up to feed and test her, im perfectly good with that :) I slept for almost 4 hours this afternoon...it was fabulous!

I'm going to try my hardest not to use food and see what she does on her own as far as the numbers go tonight lol
 
I figured you missed it which is why I repeated it. You can guide with food again like you have been at another time but for now you nee to see what she wants and you need to get some sleep. Let her decide if she wants a reduction.
 
What do you think about this?
I just gave her the rest of her dinner but an hour later so it may affect her numbers a little bc she normal drops at her +2 (a half hr from now)
But now I should be able to feed her the late 20 calorie snack...maybe a half hr later than normal
 
Back
Top