9.26 Charlie LOW PMPS 111, stall 105. Stall 95. AMPS 359 +4 275

Sarah & Charlie-cat

Member Since 2022
Hi! We're currently on SLGS so this feels like a really low number and other than
Stalling another 20 minutes, not sure what to do.

He's had DKA so no skipping! But his full dose of 5.5 feels like a lot for such a low PS.

I haven't shot this low. At least not recently

Charlie definitely would like his dinner.
 
Adding it's 7:00 pm central US time now. I'm ok with a later shot, we're moving back to our regular 8 and 8 after early vet appointment yesterday
 
Hi Sarah, sorry no one got back to you sooner.
Sometimes when stalling, the BGs can go down a bit without food.
Did you shoot yet? With SLGS you can shoot any number over 90 as long as you can monitor and have MC and HC carb (or karo/honey) to help the steer the cycle.
 
We have some fancy feast shreds with gravy and I have Karo. I've never really had to navigate steering his cycle like that so it's making me anxious.

But I guess I need to buck up and give him food and his shot. Dragging it later is just gonna be me up later .
 
Can you udat
We have some fancy feast shreds with gravy and I have Karo. I've never really had to navigate steering his cycle like that so it's making me anxious.

But I guess I need to buck up and give him food and his shot. Dragging it later is just gonna be me up later .
With a history of DKA, you certainly don't want to skip. How long can you monitor?
Can you update the spreadsheet with today's numbers?
 
I’m sorry, I don’t see any numbers in your SS for today so it is difficult to determine what is a good course of action. Can you please update your SS? Sometimes stalling, not feeding and watching to see if the numbers go up on their own is a good strategy, particularly when faced with lower than usual numbers, but with recent DKA you’ll want to take that into consideration, which as noted skipping is not ideal.
 
From the FD group:
Do you have plenty of supplies? (strips, high carb food, Karo/honey/syrup) and can you stay up as long as may be possible if you shoot? If the answer to both is yes, I'd go ahead and shoot. If you wait much longer, the numbers will go down just because of no food.

Sara: I just got a new container of strips and lancets. We have some friskies shreds in the house and Karo. I'm not in love with the idea of being up all night, I was up very late with my dad last night And up early with Charlie but it is what it is. I'll give him food and get his shot ready.

Me: You might get "lucky" and he'll bounce off those lower numbers. Grab a +2. Remember that the PMPS is the number you actually shoot so if that was the 99, that's your PMPS so the + cells still correspond to the number of hours since the shot
 
Thanks for jumping in! I think I mostly needed an atta girl that I was doing the right thing to see where he was headed and then get the courage to shoot.

The spreadsheet updated with this morning's numbers, tonight's number, and shot time. Put the stalls in my notes. I did go ahead and give the full dose. He didn't earn a reduction, so, there it is.

Will get that +2. I would imagine he is gonna bounce, so we'll see. But we have supplies just in case... the aforementioned gravy food and karo. There's also some medium-carb pate that's rabbit.
 
Thanks for jumping in! I think I mostly needed an atta girl that I was doing the right thing to see where he was headed and then get the courage to shoot.

The spreadsheet updated with this morning's numbers, tonight's number, and shot time. Put the stalls in my notes. I did go ahead and give the full dose. He didn't earn a reduction, so, there it is.

Will get that +2. I would imagine he is gonna bounce, so we'll see. But we have supplies just in case... the aforementioned gravy food and karo. There's also some medium-carb pate that's rabbit.
Atta girl! Here is the reward for shooting your first green, unless @Chris & China (GA) wants to share hers :p

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/attachments/upload_2018-2-2_19-36-17-png.34009/

sigh, they never upload well from my iPad. Plus they are a little dusty lol
 
Ok, I can check him in an hour. He's gonna be so sick of my ****/ getting his ears poked.

I'm like he could be 50 or 400, it's like the world's greatest cliff hanger every time I test him.
 
Here is the reward for shooting your first green, unless @Chris & China (GA) wants to share hers :p

Ahh yes!! You've earned the BOS award for shooting your first green!! Congratulations!!
upload_2023-9-26_20-10-5.gif
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-9-26_20-10-5.gif
    upload_2023-9-26_20-10-5.gif
    20.9 KB · Views: 115
Yeah sorry, I like the +1 with the first lowest preshot because it helps gives an indication of food bump. Chris is likely right, you may very well see a bounce but good to keep an eye out if Charlie has any shenanigans planned.
 
I’d be more worried if he didn’t get any food bump at all by +1 ;). How are you feeling? Ok to test again at +2 or +3? That will give us a good idea of where he’s heading.
 
I'm hanging in there...definitely will get that +2. If it's not significantly higher, I'll stay up for +3.

At what point should I break out the mid or high carb food so I can go to bed at some point?
 
Good job shooting Sarah!:D Nice of him to finally show you some good numbers. As usual, timing is everything with a cat. :rolleyes:

Let's get him past onset first, so you can see what this cycle will look like. Then you can plan when bed might be.
 
The +2 will help, since if it is higher again from +1 it would mean he’s likely not going to have much action. Usually when the +2 is lower it would require monitoring more closely, and intervening if necessary with higher carb food depending on how the numbers are trending and how carb sensitive the cat is. When we were using Lantus I would often be able to steer Mav with just some 6-9% carbs when he was significantly lower at +2 or +3. Let’s see the +2 and go from there, but no need to break out the mid or high carbs just yet.
 
Fair... it's so hard to anticipate what's going on because he's been so all over the place.

He's had PM +2s that barely drop and some that are pretty big, 70-90 points. Some that have gone up. So who knows what he's gonna do
 
I'm sure you're tired. Will you wake up to an alarm? A lot of us put our phones or clocks or whatever will wake us up on the other side of the room so you have no choice but to get up to shut it off. If you wanted to take a nap, you could get a +4 and if he's still going up, call it a night.

If you don't want to try a nap, you could get a +3 or +4. Usually, Lantus starts to "kick in" around +2 to +3

I posted this in the group not long ago. The video is great!

https://www.amazon.com/Clocky-Rolli...away/dp/B004MSMUGI/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 
I zonked out just before you posted this... so no +3 but I did wake up to my girl Pumpkin going through her regular routine of growling at Harold trying to take his spot in bed just now. So +4.5 hours... 229. He will surely be 400+ in the morning. I'm not especially surprised. He bounces at 200, let alone under 100.
 
Back
Top