9/26...AMPS in 500s

Status
Not open for further replies.

WenDawg

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone! If anyone would be so kind as to review my spreadsheet and offer some advice I'd greatly appreciate it. I have a few concerns:

--The last 2 mornings, I am getting BGs in the 500s prior to Abernathy's shot. I've never seen numbers so high.
--Prior to starting insulin, I never saw numbers out of the 300s.

I'd love some thoughts on the above. Should I continue to hold at 1.6Us? Should I lower or raise the dose?

Thanks in advance!! I'm just really confused on the 'whys' of what is happening. :?
 
I don't know why either. He could be bouncing from a low overnight - the only way to know that is to get a midcycle at night and see if it's low. I would guess he just needs more insulin. When you can monitor the first cycle, I'd increase - maybe to 1.8?

They call this the sugar dance. And I think it's a dance where only the cat can hear the music - you just try to follow along. :mrgreen:

Sometimes there is a bit of a honeymoon at first when you see lower numbers. During this time the cat's body is adjusting to the insulin, working with it and the new diet. This is not an exact science - at all! Your job is to be patient (the hardest part) keep gathering data and giving the best dose you can determine. The more data you get, and the sooner the cat settles into the insulin, the better you can figure the dose. Soon you'll be looking back at the numbers and figuring out the best dose for yourself. It just takes time.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
They call this the sugar dance. And I think it's a dance where only the cat can hear the music - you just try to follow along. :mrgreen:

That's funny...thanks for the laugh. :lol:

I'm wondering if I should put food out at night. I feed him a small meal around 11pm before I head to bed, but I am wondering if he needs something during the night? Before he started insulin, I would do that because I didn't need to worry about cutting him off 2 hours prior to testing like I do now.

Thanks for stopping by to give advice. I appreciate it.
 
I'd try it and see. It works for some cats. You just want to be sure he hasn't eaten 2 hours before the preshot as food can make the number higher.
 
I'm also wondering if I should lower the PM dose. When reviewing his data, it appears he had a lower AMPS when a lower dose was given the night before (although it wasn't low enough). Thoughts?
 
I think I'd get an midcycle night time number first. If he is fairly flat at night, a lower dose probably wouldn't help. If he drops low, then yes, a lower dose would be a good idea.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top