9/25 Racci AMPS-327!, +3-74!,+6-104,PMPS-184,+3.5-272

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79752
9/24 Racci AMPS-217,+3.5-171,+6-158,+9-154,PMPS-161,3.5-198

Hi Lantus Land!

Well, I couldn't stand it any more when I saw that 327 this morning and I raised Racci back up to a top level skinny 3u. If she stays this high she will get terrible neuropathy and I can't let that happen again. We'll just have to fight this battle of lowering dose again another day. I took her temperature this morning - normal, checked ketones - normal, and ran out for the new lantus.

I won't be able to start the lantus until tonight but I think it's obvious that it's the dose since as soon as I raised it she came down. Do you agree? The other option is that it's the lantus starting to go bad and weaken and it took more to do the same thing?

She ate the same food, used the same lantus, pooped, did everything else the same today. The only thing different is the weather is warmer, not much inside though, and I did have some windows shut last night, not today though. Racci seems to feel well today and is happy, eating, playing and looking for a sunny spot to nap in.
Talk about a dive!
Tonight she will start the new vial of lantus. Depending on her numbers, I'm thinking that I may bring her back to the very skinny 3U she was on and see if the new lantus makes a difference. Do you think that's a good idea?

I'd appreciate your input. Thanks.

I'm still feelin bad. My eyes are glazed and red & I'm coughing a lot. Now it's in my stomach too. Ugh! I wish this would just run it's course and leave me along already! The problem is I get bronchitis and then I'm stuck with it for weeks! I have copd w chronic bronchitis so when the weather starts getting cold it's just one after another for me. :cry:

I just hope Racci is done with those terrible numbers!! Thanks for your input!
 
Re: 9/25 Racci AMPS-327!, +3-74!

Hi Melanie and Darling Racci! Just here again to keep you company while you wait for the wise ones... I`m so glad Racci is feeling fine, just good news about her morning, I hope the glitches get worked out sooooooon! oops I have to go test again, things are crazy over here, Reuben is testing out the deeep waters and seems to like them!!! Come visit us? :razz: :razz:
 
Re: 9/25 Racci AMPS-327!, +3-74!

Oh my, that's top form allright!
Glad you are around with her. Lots of diving going on this morning.
Hope you can get her back to her surfing!!!


.




128859591888541990.jpg
 
Re: 9/25 Racci AMPS-327!, +3-74!

Hi Melanie, so sorry you've been so sick! Sending some healing and feel better vines. That's quite a drop there for Racci! Maybe add a ? emoticon in your subject to get some advice on dosing.
 
Re: 9/25 Racci AMPS-327!, +3-74!

Hi Ann,
Please read yesterday's condo if you have time. We were discussing what's going on with Racci and this new dose. Jane, Marje & Sienne were all discussing with me and thought it best to wait on the dose but then again she was not this high then. The last time Racci had pink was in April and May when she was sick with constipation and an infection and she had a few because of the stress from that. There is nothing stressing her now though that I can find. Thanks for the vines Ann.

Hi Rhiannon,
This is probably her biggest dive! ohmygod_smile I hope she starts surfing now too. I'm going to test her soon and see how she's doing. I sure hope she's still low! Thanks!

Hi Alexa,
I'm so glad Reuben is doing well. I saw how low he was yesterday but kept falling asleep so couldn't get over to leave a message. Too busy trying to stay awake long enougn to handle Racci's problem. :smile: I'll try to get over there today. Thanks!
 
Re: 9/25 Racci AMPS-327!, +3-74!

Hi Melanie, I just went back and read yesterday's condo and see your concern over her numbers. I remember before Maggie got her constipation under control, she was high. It sounds like Racci did poop though. The only thing I can think of is when was her last Senior Blood Panel done and what were her renal values? If it hasn't been done within the past three months, you might want to consider having her b/w done once you're feeling better, just a suggestion though!
Maggie's bg's went up recently because her renal values increased. It looked like she had a UTI with the high numbers and the way she was drinking more water than usual, but her high number were caused by both the constipation and renal values.
 
Re: 9/25 Racci AMPS-327!, +3-74!,+6-104

Hi Ann,

I hope that's not it but Racci is due for a senior panel. nailbite_smile Thanks! I didn't think of that. I was going to make an appt for her to do that anyway but I wanted to wait if I could since I feel so crummy. I guess I'm going to have to get it done though right away. She was only constipated one day this week but since she has that chronic problem it is a possibility.

I'm glad you looked at it, Thanks, Ann!

She's not surfing yet but at least she's still fairly low after her dive. I'll be interested to see what happens with the new bottle tonight. I think I'll try the smaller dose with the new bottle and see if it was the lantus being old and weak that made it not enough for her.
 
Re: 9/25 Racci AMPS-327!, +3-74!,+6-104

Hi Melanie, I hope it's not her renal values either. Yes, wait until you feel better. I hope the new vial will make a difference. Racci has a nice surf going on there and looking good! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/25 Racci AMPS-327!, +3-74!,+6-104

Wowzas Racci that was quite the dramatic dive! You win a gold medal for that one! Glad you were around to watch over your sweetheart Melanie:) I hope Racci likes the new vial.
 
Re: 9/25 Racci AMPS-327!, +3-74!,+6-104

Hi Ann,

She's still a little high for a +6 but compared to where she has been the past few days, she's looking better that's for sure! Her pmps was still really high. I'm hoping it will turn out to be the insulin. Well, we'll find out in the morning.

Hi Tamara,

I'm glad I was here too. As it wound up, she never went low but still, that's some dive! I can't wait to see if the resultss are different with the new insulin.

Good night Ann & Tamara and Thanks!
Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/25 Racci AMPS-327!, +3-74!,+6-104,PMPS-184

Melanie

Sorry you still fell so bad....send you many healing thoughts.

Hard to say on the vial...it dropped her pretty fast today so it looks like it had some umpf. I wonder if it is just pain of some sort.
 
Re: 9/25 Racci AMPS-327!, +3-74!,+6-104,PMPS-184

Thanks Helen & Marje!

It's not the insulin. I just took her +3.5 & she was 272! I'm waiting to catch her going to the lb for a ketone test again. She has no fever so she can't have much of an infection if she has one and she's not acting like she's in pain anywhere. I'm going to raise the dose tomorrow and make an appt with the vet. Hopefully the dose change will do the trick but if not at least she'll have an appt. She needs a senior panel anyway. I had hoped to wait till I felt better but this has to be taken care of right away before Racci starts getting reactions to the high bg. :YMSIGH: I can let an appt wait for me but not for my baby.

Thanks & have a good night!
 
(((Melanie and Racci)))

Fingers crossed for the dosecrease and the senior blood panel... Hopefully, the answer will be found and she'll be back in pretty numbers soon! How are YOU feeling, Melanie? Are you getting some rest in between the FD-dancing?

Hugs!
Jane
 
Hi Jane,

I guess I missed your reply last night! I must have really moved quicker than I thought to the ss to update. :lol: I was so tired and trying to get done for sleep.

I had to feed Racci since she was starving and I woke up late so her bg will be high today but holding off as long as I can before testing now. I'll have to go get her stuff ready for her meds and food in a couple of minutes though.

I've been getting sleep but not the good kind. I've been dozing off constantly any time I get too comfortable. I sleep for 2 hours at most before I wake to go to bathroom or because I'm phlegmy or because of Racci and this goes on all day & night so I'm always tired and can't catch up. Of course every time Racci sees my eyes open she thinks it's time for me to get up for good and feed her or decides to use the lb & have me clean her while I'm awake. :shock: So at any rate, I'm walking around shell shocked half asleep, and very stuffy. Ugh! Today is supposed to be warm so I'm hoping for sun. Maybe it will dry me up a little. Thanks for asking Jane.

I'm bringing Racci up to a 3U today so we'll see what happens. TTYL.

Melanie & Racci
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top